Advertiser disclosure: we have no affiliate or advertising agreements with brokers, and no click to a broker is paid. If that changes, this notice changes first. How we make money

Rankings differ by countryPick your country

Ranked by a preliminary rating built from published data, checked 19 Oct 2026How we score

Menu

Ranking · MT4 brokers

Best MetaTrader 4 (MT4) brokers

15 of the 20 brokers in our data offer MetaTrader 4. The terminal comes from one developer, MetaQuotes, so brokers differ in what surrounds it: the company that holds your account, the account types MT4 is tied to, the other platforms you can switch to, and the price of each trade. This list is sorted by the smallest published minimum deposit, because the terminal is the same everywhere and the entry barrier is not.

  • 15brokers on this list
  • 31regulators behind their entities
  • 19 Oct 2026broker data collected
  • 109licensed entities listed

Low Spread Brokers does not give personal investment advice.

For traders who already run MT4, its expert advisors or custom indicators, and want to keep them. Read the entity line on each card before the score: the same brand can open your MT4 account with a Tier 1 or an offshore company. Read first: how we rankhow we make moneyeditorial policy

Quick answer

Which broker is best for MetaTrader 4?

On this page’s rule, the broker in first place publishes the lowest minimum deposit among MT4 brokers. That is not a measure of MT4 execution: we have not traded on live MT4 servers. Among the top cards, pick one whose entity for your country is Tier 1.

  1. Check which account MT4 is attached to: CMC Markets runs it on a separate account limited to FX, indices and commodities.
  2. Pepperstone UK offers MT4 only on Razor, at £2.25 per lot per side in commission (published terms, 19 Oct 2026).
  3. Offshore companies advertise far higher MT4 leverage: up to 1:5000 at IC Markets’ Seychelles entity, against 1:30 for retail clients of its CySEC entity.

Looking for a different list?

Every ranking on this site uses its own filter. Pick the need that comes first for you.

  • One question, no e-mail needed
  • Each ranking prints its filter and sort rule
  • No contact details collected
What matters most to you?

We don’t ask for contact details.

Open this ranking

MT4 ranking: brokers that offer MT4, by platform range

Open this ranking

MT5 ranking: Tier 1 entities only, by overall score

Open this ranking

Trading apps: brokers with their own app

Open this ranking

Copy trading: brokers with a copy account

Open this ranking

Demo accounts: Tier 1 brokers with a published demo

Open this ranking

Low-spread ranking: published EUR/USD spreads

Each ranking shows the entity that would hold your account and the broker’s published risk warning.

Brokers with MetaTrader 4, ranked by minimum deposit

Ranked by this page’s rule, not by commission. Advertiser disclosure

Why this order: only brokers that offer MetaTrader 4, sorted by the lowest published minimum deposit (deposits in other currencies compared at face value, not converted; ties go to the overall rating), because MT4 itself is the same terminal at every broker and the entry barrier is what differs. Ranked from our data on 15 brokers, updated 19 Oct 2026. How we rank

Ranked by this page’s rule · 19 Oct 2026

Your country decides which entity opens your account, and with it your leverage and protections.

Rankings by country
Regulator tiers:Tier 1: FCA, ASIC, CySEC/ESMA, FINMA, MASTier 2: e.g. FSCA, DFSAOffshore: labelled, never counted as a benefit

First on this rule

1

OANDA

Main entity: OANDA Corporation · 8 entities in total

Which entity serves my country?

Protections depend on the entity

Minimum deposit
$0
EUR/USD spread from
0.0 pips (Raw spreads + commission (OANDA Australia), 19 Oct 2026)
Platforms
MT4, MT5, TradingView, proprietary
Max retail leverage
Depends on entity: up to 50:1 implied (margin from 2% on EUR/USD, retail) (CFTC / NFA)up to 30:1 (major forex pairs, retail; margin 3.33%) (FCA)up to 1:30 (retail, per account comparison table on EU site) (KNF)up to up to 20:1 (retail) (MAS)up to 25x implied (individual FX margin at least 4% of transaction amount) (JFSA)
Funding methods
Debit card, Credit card, Bank transfer (Faster Payments, BACS, CHAPS, SWIFT, SEPA)

StandardRawProfessional4 of 8 licences checked on the register, 20 Oct 2026

Why #1offers MT4, MT5, TradingView and its own platform; OANDA Asia Pacific’s customer agreement states there is no negative balance protection.

Visit brokerUnpaid link

76.6% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (OANDA Europe Limited).

Read review
2

IC Markets

Main entity: International Capital Markets Pty Ltd · 4 entities in total

Which entity serves my country?

Protections depend on the entity

Minimum deposit
$0
EUR/USD spread from
0.1 pips (Raw Spread (Global), 19 Oct 2026)
Platforms
MT4, MT5, cTrader, TradingView, proprietary
Max retail leverage
Depends on entity: up to 1:30 (ASIC)up to 1:30 (retail, all account types) (CySEC)up to 1:5000 (MetaTrader accounts), 1:1000 (cTrader); described as dynamic (FSA Seychelles)up to 1:200 (SCB)
Funding methods
Credit/debit card, Bank transfer, PayPal, Skrill, Neteller, UnionPay, BPAY, FasaPay, POLi

StandardRawIslamicProfessional3 of 4 licences checked on the register, 20 Oct 2026

Why #2offers MT4, MT5, cTrader, TradingView and its own platform; no UK entity; most clients outside the EEA and Australia are onboarded by the Seychelles company, with MetaTrader leverage up to 1:5000.

Visit brokerUnpaid link

73.46% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (IC Markets (EU) Ltd).

Read review
3

CMC Markets

Main entity: CMC Markets UK plc · 8 entities in total

Protections depend on the entity

Minimum deposit
£0
EUR/USD spread from
0.0 pips (FX Active, 19 Oct 2026)
Platforms
MT4, TradingView, proprietary
Max retail leverage
Depends on entity: up to 1:30 (major FX; margin from 3.34%) (FCA)
Funding methods
Debit card, Credit card, Open banking (TrueLayer), Bank transfer

StandardRawSpread bettingProfessional7 of 8 licences checked on the register, 20 Oct 2026

Why #3offers MT4, TradingView and its own platform; MT4 needs a separate account, limited to FX, indices and commodities.

7.8/10

Visit brokerUnpaid link

69% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (CMC Markets UK plc).

Show ranks #4–#15
4

IG

Main entity: IG Markets Ltd · 13 entities in total

Which entity serves my country?

Protections depend on the entity

Minimum deposit
£1
EUR/USD spread from
0.6 pips (UK spread bet/CFD, 19 Oct 2026)
Platforms
MT4, MT5, TradingView, proprietary, API, ProRealTime, L2 Dealer
Max retail leverage
Depends on entity: up to 1:30 (major FX, retail; margin 3.33% on EUR/USD, GBP/USD) (FCA)up to 1:30 (major FX spread bets, retail; margin 3.33%) (FCA)
Funding methods
Debit card, Credit card, Bank transfer

StandardSpread bettingProfessional7 of 13 licences checked on the register, 20 Oct 2026

Why #4offers MT4, MT5, TradingView, its own platform, API, ProRealTime and L2 Dealer; UK clients sign with IG Markets Ltd for CFDs or IG Index Ltd for spread bets.

Visit brokerUnpaid link

70% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (IG Markets Ltd / IG Index Ltd (UK)).

Read review
5

XM

Main entity: Trading Point of Financial Instruments Ltd · 9 entities in total

Protections depend on the entity

Minimum deposit
$5
EUR/USD spread from
0.0 pips (Zero (EU), 19 Oct 2026)
Platforms
MT4, MT5, TradingView
Max retail leverage
Depends on entity: up to 30:1 (shown on Ultra Low and Zero account cards, EU site) (CySEC)
Funding methods
Bank wire transfer, Skrill, Neteller, Przelewy24

RawIslamicDemoCent3 of 9 licences checked on the register, 20 Oct 2026

Why #5offers MT4, MT5 and TradingView; the FCA and ASIC licences in the group belong to the sister brand Trading.com, not to XM.

7.2/10

Visit brokerUnpaid link

76.15% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (Trading Point of Financial Instruments Ltd).

6

Pepperstone

Main entity: Pepperstone Limited · 8 entities in total

Which entity serves my country?

Protections depend on the entity

Minimum deposit
£10
EUR/USD spread from
0.0 pips (Razor, 19 Oct 2026)
Platforms
MT4, MT5, cTrader, TradingView, proprietary
Max retail leverage
Depends on entity: up to 1:30 (retail, per Pepperstone support FAQ) (FCA)
Funding methods
Debit card, Credit card, Apple Pay, Google Pay, Bank transfer

StandardRawSpread bettingProfessional5 of 8 licences checked on the register, 20 Oct 2026

Why #6offers MT4, MT5, cTrader, TradingView and its own platform; UK clients get MT4 only on the Razor account, which charges a commission per lot.

Visit brokerUnpaid link

73.6% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (Pepperstone Limited (UK)).

Read review
7

ThinkMarkets

Main entity: TF Global Markets (UK) Limited · 10 entities in total

Protections depend on the entity

Minimum deposit
$10
EUR/USD spread from
Not measured
Platforms
MT4, MT5, TradingView, proprietary
Max retail leverage
Depends on entity: up to 30:1 (Standard, ThinkTrader, ThinkZero accounts, retail) (FCA, ASIC)up to 30:1 (ThinkZero account, retail) (CySEC)up to 500:1 (Standard, ThinkZero); 2500:1 (ThinkTrader account) (FSA Seychelles)
Funding methods
Bank wire, Visa, Mastercard, Skrill, Neteller, Apple Pay, Google Pay, Crypto (global site only)

StandardRawIslamicDemoSpread bettingProfessional6 of 9 licences checked on the register, 20 Oct 2026

Why #7offers MT4, MT5, TradingView and its own platform; its offshore Seychelles entity offers up to 2500:1 on the ThinkTrader account, a risk rather than a feature.

7.6/10

Visit brokerUnpaid link

75% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (TF Global Markets (UK) Limited).

8

Vantage

Main entity: Vantage Global Prime LLP · 6 entities in total

Which entity serves my country?

Protections depend on the entity

Minimum deposit
$50
EUR/USD spread from
0.0 pips (RAW ECN (inferred: unlabeled block), 17 Feb 2026)
Platforms
MT4, MT5, TradingView, proprietary
Max retail leverage
Depends on entity: up to 30:1 (major currency pairs, retail); lower for other instruments (FCA)up to up to 30:1 (retail clients) (ASIC)up to 100:1 to 500:1 (global help center, all account types; certain products fixed) (VFSC)
Funding methods
Debit card, Credit card, Bank transfer, Skrill, Neteller, E-wallets, Alternative payment methods

StandardRawECNIslamicCopyCentSpread bettingProfessional2 of 6 licences checked on the register, 20 Oct 2026

Why #8offers MT4, MT5, TradingView and its own platform; its international site onboards clients into the offshore VFSC entity; UK residents are served only by the FCA entity.

Visit brokerUnpaid link

72.65% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (Vantage Global Prime LLP).

Read review
9

FP Markets

Main entity: First Prudential Markets Pty Ltd · 4 entities in total

Protections depend on the entity

Minimum deposit
$50
EUR/USD spread from
0.0 pips (Raw (MT4, EU), 19 Oct 2026)
Platforms
MT4, MT5, cTrader, TradingView, proprietary, Iress
Max retail leverage
Depends on entity: up to up to 1:30 (Standard/Raw, retail) (CySEC)
Funding methods
Bank transfer, Debit/credit card (via Nuvei), Neteller, Skrill, PayPal

StandardRawProfessional3 of 4 licences checked on the register, 20 Oct 2026

Why #9offers MT4, MT5, cTrader, TradingView, its own platform and Iress; no FCA entity in our data, so UK residents get no FCA protection with it.

7.9/10

Visit brokerUnpaid link

74.51% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (First Prudential Markets Ltd).

10

FXCM

Main entity: Stratos Markets Limited · 7 entities in total

Protections depend on the entity

Minimum deposit
$50
EUR/USD spread from
Not measured
Platforms
MT4, TradingView, proprietary, API
Max retail leverage
Depends on entity: up to 30:1 (depending on instrument, retail) (FCA)up to 30:1 (major currency pairs, retail) (CySEC, ASIC)up to 30:1 default for major currency pairs (as stated on fxcm.com/za open-account page) (FSCA)up to 1000:1 (accounts with equity < $10,000; 400:1 for $10k-50k; 100:1 above $50k; MT4 < $10k max 400:1) (Unregulated)
Funding methods
Debit/credit card (Visa, Mastercard; Discover in UK), Bank wire, PayPal (UK, AU), Google Pay, Apple Pay (UK, AU), Open Banking (UK), Skrill, NETELLER, Rapid Transfer (UK), China Online Payment (markets), Crypto (markets)

StandardRawSpread bettingProfessional4 of 6 licences checked on the register, 20 Oct 2026

Why #10offers MT4, TradingView, its own platform and API; its UK client book is being sold to Trade Nation (announced 6 Oct 2026), and ASIC stopped new Australian retail CFD accounts on 5 Dec 2025.

6.3/10

Visit brokerUnpaid link

67% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (Stratos Markets Limited).

11

Tickmill

Main entity: Tickmill UK Ltd · 5 entities in total

Protections depend on the entity

Minimum deposit
$100
EUR/USD spread from
0.0 pips (Raw, 19 Oct 2026)
Platforms
MT4, MT5, TradingView, proprietary, CQG, Trading Technologies
Max retail leverage
Depends on entity: up to 1:30 (Raw and Classic, retail) (FCA)up to 1:30 (retail, maximum and default); professional 1:500 (CySEC)
Funding methods
Bank transfer, Debit/credit card (Visa, Mastercard), Skrill, Neteller, Przelewy24, PayPal, Trustly

StandardRawIslamicProfessional4 of 5 licences checked on the register, 20 Oct 2026

Why #11offers MT4, MT5, TradingView, its own platform, CQG and Trading Technologies; retail loss rates differ by entity: 68% at Tickmill UK, 74% at Tickmill Europe.

7.7/10

Visit brokerUnpaid link

68% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (Tickmill UK Ltd).

12

Admirals (Admiral Markets)

Main entity: Admirals Europe Ltd (previously Admiral Markets Cyprus Ltd) · 5 entities in total

Protections depend on the entity

Minimum deposit
€100
EUR/USD spread from
0.0 pips (Zero.MT5, 19 Oct 2026)
Platforms
MT4, MT5, proprietary
Max retail leverage
Depends on entity: up to Up to 1:30 (Trade.MT5 / Zero.MT5, retail) (CySEC)
Funding methods
Bank transfer, Visa/Mastercard, Klarna, Skrill, Brite

StandardRawIslamicProfessional3 of 5 licences checked on the register, 20 Oct 2026

Why #12offers MT4, MT5 and its own platform; its FCA licence number comes from secondary sources, not from the broker’s own pages.

7.7/10

Visit brokerUnpaid link

74% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (Admirals Europe Ltd).

13

AvaTrade

Main entity: AVA Trade EU Ltd · 8 entities in total

Protections depend on the entity

Minimum deposit
$100
EUR/USD spread from
0.9 pips (Retail (fixed/variable not stated), 19 Oct 2026)
Platforms
MT4, MT5, TradingView, proprietary
Max retail leverage
Depends on entity:
Funding methods
Credit/debit card, Wire transfer, Skrill (not EU/AU), Neteller (not EU/AU), PayPal (some countries)

StandardIslamicCopyProfessional3 of 8 licences checked on the register, 20 Oct 2026

Why #13offers MT4, MT5, TradingView and its own platform; retail loss rate not shown here: AvaTrade pages give conflicting figures without entity or date.

7.3/10

Visit brokerUnpaid link

CFDs are complex instruments and come with a high risk of losing money rapidly due to leverage. Most retail investor accounts lose money. Consider whether you understand how CFDs work and whether you can afford the high risk of losing your money.

14

FxPro

Main entity: FxPro UK Limited · 4 entities in total

Protections depend on the entity

Minimum deposit
Not published
EUR/USD spread from
0.0 pips (Raw+ / Elite (MT4/MT5), 19 Oct 2026)
Platforms
MT4, MT5, cTrader, TradingView, proprietary
Max retail leverage
Depends on entity: up to 1:30 (retail, FCA/CySEC) (FCA)up to 1:30 (retail) (CySEC)up to up to 1:200 (SCB) (SCB)
Funding methods
Bank wire, Visa, Skrill, Neteller, PayPal, Crypto (not available to FxPro UK retail clients)

StandardRawProfessional2 of 4 licences checked on the register, 20 Oct 2026

Why #14offers MT4, MT5, cTrader, TradingView and its own platform; minimum deposit not published as a single amount.

7.5/10

Visit brokerUnpaid link

75% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (FxPro Financial Services Ltd).

15

Exness

Main entity: Exness (SC) Ltd · 10 entities in total

Protections depend on the entity

Minimum deposit
Not published
EUR/USD spread from
Not measured
Platforms
MT4, MT5, proprietary
Max retail leverage
Depends on entity: up to 1:400 (CMA Kenya)up to 1:Unlimited if eligible (equity < 5,000 USD); 1:2000 by default; 1:1000 / 1:500 at higher equity (FSA Seychelles, CBCS, BVI FSC)
Funding methods
Bank card (Visa, Mastercard, 3D Secure), Prepaid cards (not US-issued), Local and global payment methods (region-dependent, listed only in Personal Area)

StandardRawIslamicDemoCent3 of 10 licences checked on the register, 20 Oct 2026

Why #15offers MT4, MT5 and its own platform; no retail accounts for UK, EEA, US or Canadian residents; its FCA and CySEC companies serve business clients only.

5.0/10

Visit brokerUnpaid link

81.4% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (Exness (KE) Limited).

The list in one line each

Who each broker suits on an MT4 account, in the order of the list.

  1. 1OANDAMT4 with an entity in the US, UK, EU, Australia, Canada, Singapore or Japan8.0/10
  2. 2IC MarketsMT4 on raw pricing for clients of its CySEC or ASIC entity8.0/10
  3. 3CMC MarketsUK traders who mainly use CMC’s own platform and need MT4 for FX7.8/10
  4. 4IGUK traders who want MT4 next to spread betting7.9/10
  5. 5XMEEA residents who want MT4 from a $5 minimum with the CySEC entity7.2/10
  6. 6PepperstoneMT4 users who also want cTrader or TradingView at the same broker8.5/10
  7. 7ThinkMarketsUK MT4 users who also want spread betting or a swap-free account7.6/10
  8. 8VantageUK or Australian residents who want MT4 on an ECN account7.9/10
  9. 9FP MarketsMT4 plus Iress for EU and Australian clients7.9/10
  10. 11TickmillMT4 on Classic or Raw accounts from a $100 minimum7.7/10
  11. 12Admirals (Admiral Markets)EU clients who want client-fund insurance up to €100,000 on top of the ICF7.7/10
  12. 13AvaTradeMT4 users who want copy trading at the same broker7.3/10
  13. 14FxProMT4, MT5 and cTrader under one FCA or CySEC entity7.5/10

Scores by criterion

Each criterion is scored 0–10 from the brokers’ published terms. Research and support are empty for every broker: we have not scored them, so they count in no rating.

Scores by criterion
BrokerCostsPlatformsRegulationAccountsResearchSupport
OANDA7.68.09.07.0Not measuredNot measured
IC Markets6.89.58.08.5Not measuredNot measured
CMC Markets8.06.59.07.0Not measuredNot measured
IG7.68.59.06.0Not measuredNot measured
XM6.86.08.08.0Not measuredNot measured
Pepperstone8.29.59.07.0Not measuredNot measured
ThinkMarketsNot measured8.09.09.0Not measuredNot measured
Vantage7.68.08.08.0Not measuredNot measured
FP Markets7.69.58.06.5Not measuredNot measured
FXCMNot measured7.07.06.5Not measuredNot measured
Tickmill7.68.07.58.0Not measuredNot measured
Admirals (Admiral Markets)8.06.58.08.0Not measuredNot measured
AvaTrade6.48.08.07.0Not measuredNot measured
FxPro7.29.58.05.0Not measuredNot measured
ExnessNot measured6.53.56.0Not measuredNot measured

Preliminary scores from broker data collected 19 Oct 2026. No live accounts were opened.

At a glance · MT4

MT4 broker comparison table

What the table shows

Licence numbers as each broker publishes them, which entity serves which country, and spreads with their date and source page.

How to use this table

Sort by score, spread or minimum deposit. Deposits stay in each broker’s own currency and are not converted.

Sort:
MT4 broker comparison table
RankBrokerScoreMin. depositEUR/USD spread fromPlatformsAccount typesMax. leverage, retailActions
1OANDACFTC / NFA · FCA · KNF · ASIC · CIRO · MAS · JFSA · BVI FSCLicences and register check8.0/10$00.0 pipsRaw spreads + commission (OANDA Australia) · 19 Oct 2026MT4, MT5, TradingView, proprietaryStandard, Raw, Professional50:1 implied (margin from 2% on EUR/USD, retail) (CFTC / NFA) · 30:1 (major forex pairs, retail; margin 3.33%) (FCA) · 1:30 (retail, per account comparison table on EU site) (KNF) · up to 20:1 (retail) (MAS) · 25x implied (individual FX margin at least 4% of transaction amount) (JFSA)
Open accountUnpaid link
Review

76.6% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (OANDA Europe Limited).

2IC MarketsASIC · CySEC · FSA Seychelles · SCBLicences and register check8.0/10$00.1 pipsRaw Spread (Global) · 19 Oct 2026MT4, MT5, cTrader, TradingView, proprietaryStandard, Raw, Islamic, Professional1:30 (ASIC) · 1:30 (retail, all account types) (CySEC) · 1:5000 (MetaTrader accounts), 1:1000 (cTrader); described as dynamic (FSA Seychelles) · 1:200 (SCB)
Open accountUnpaid link
Review

73.46% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (IC Markets (EU) Ltd).

3CMC MarketsFCA · FCA · BaFin · ASIC · FMA · MAS · CIRO · DFSA7.8/10£00.0 pipsFX Active · 19 Oct 2026MT4, TradingView, proprietaryStandard, Raw, Spread betting, Professional1:30 (major FX; margin from 3.34%) (FCA)
Open accountUnpaid link

69% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (CMC Markets UK plc).

4IGFCA · FCA · FCA · BaFin · ASIC · FMA · FINMA · MAS · DFSA · JFSA · FSCA · BMA · CFTC/NFALicences and register check7.9/10£10.6 pipsUK spread bet/CFD · 19 Oct 2026MT4, MT5, TradingView, proprietary, API, ProRealTime, L2 DealerStandard, Spread betting, Professional1:30 (major FX, retail; margin 3.33% on EUR/USD, GBP/USD) (FCA) · 1:30 (major FX spread bets, retail; margin 3.33%) (FCA)
Open accountUnpaid link
Review

70% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (IG Markets Ltd / IG Index Ltd (UK)).

5XMCySEC · DFSA · FSCA · FSC Belize · FSA Seychelles · FSC Mauritius · BVI FSC · CMA Kenya · SCA/CMA7.2/10$50.0 pipsZero (EU) · 19 Oct 2026MT4, MT5, TradingViewRaw, Islamic, Demo, Cent30:1 (shown on Ultra Low and Zero account cards, EU site) (CySEC)
Open accountUnpaid link

76.15% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (Trading Point of Financial Instruments Ltd).

6PepperstoneFCA · CySEC · BaFin · ASIC · DFSA · CMA (UAE) · CMA Kenya · SCBLicences and register check8.5/10£100.0 pipsRazor · 19 Oct 2026MT4, MT5, cTrader, TradingView, proprietaryStandard, Raw, Spread betting, Professional1:30 (retail, per Pepperstone support FAQ) (FCA)
Open accountUnpaid link
Review

73.6% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (Pepperstone Limited (UK)).

7ThinkMarketsFCA · CySEC · ASIC · ASIC · DFSA · FSCA · FSA Seychelles · CIMA · FMA · Unregulated7.6/10$10Not measuredMT4, MT5, TradingView, proprietaryStandard, Raw, Islamic, Demo, Spread betting, Professional30:1 (Standard, ThinkTrader, ThinkZero accounts, retail) (FCA, ASIC) · 30:1 (ThinkZero account, retail) (CySEC) · 500:1 (Standard, ThinkZero); 2500:1 (ThinkTrader account) (FSA Seychelles)
Open accountUnpaid link

75% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (TF Global Markets (UK) Limited).

8VantageFCA · ASIC · FSCA · CIMA · VFSC · FSC MauritiusLicences and register check7.9/10$500.0 pipsRAW ECN (inferred: unlabeled block) · 17 Feb 2026MT4, MT5, TradingView, proprietaryStandard, Raw, ECN, Islamic, Copy, Cent, Spread betting, Professional30:1 (major currency pairs, retail); lower for other instruments (FCA) · up to 30:1 (retail clients) (ASIC) · 100:1 to 500:1 (global help center, all account types; certain products fixed) (VFSC)
Open accountUnpaid link
Review

72.65% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (Vantage Global Prime LLP).

9FP MarketsASIC · CySEC · FSCA · FSA Seychelles7.9/10$500.0 pipsRaw (MT4, EU) · 19 Oct 2026MT4, MT5, cTrader, TradingView, proprietary, IressStandard, Raw, Professionalup to 1:30 (Standard/Raw, retail) (CySEC)
Open accountUnpaid link

74.51% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (First Prudential Markets Ltd).

10FXCMFCA · CySEC · ASIC · FSCA · Unregulated · ISA · CIRO6.3/10$50Not measuredMT4, TradingView, proprietary, APIStandard, Raw, Spread betting, Professional30:1 (depending on instrument, retail) (FCA) · 30:1 (major currency pairs, retail) (CySEC, ASIC) · 30:1 default for major currency pairs (as stated on fxcm.com/za open-account page) (FSCA) · 1000:1 (accounts with equity < $10,000; 400:1 for $10k-50k; 100:1 above $50k; MT4 < $10k max 400:1) (Unregulated)
Open accountUnpaid link

67% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (Stratos Markets Limited).

11TickmillFCA · DFSA · CySEC · FSCA · FSA Seychelles7.7/10$1000.0 pipsRaw · 19 Oct 2026MT4, MT5, TradingView, proprietary, CQG, Trading TechnologiesStandard, Raw, Islamic, Professional1:30 (Raw and Classic, retail) (FCA) · 1:30 (retail, maximum and default); professional 1:500 (CySEC)
Open accountUnpaid link

68% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (Tickmill UK Ltd).

12Admirals (Admiral Markets)CySEC · FCA · FSA Seychelles · ASIC · FSCA7.7/10€1000.0 pipsZero.MT5 · 19 Oct 2026MT4, MT5, proprietaryStandard, Raw, Islamic, ProfessionalUp to 1:30 (Trade.MT5 / Zero.MT5, retail) (CySEC)
Open accountUnpaid link

74% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (Admirals Europe Ltd).

13AvaTradeCentral Bank of Ireland · ASIC · JFSA · ADGM FSRA · CySEC · FSCA · CMA Kenya · BVI FSC7.3/10$1000.9 pipsRetail (fixed/variable not stated) · 19 Oct 2026MT4, MT5, TradingView, proprietaryStandard, Islamic, Copy, Professional
Open accountUnpaid link

CFDs are complex instruments and come with a high risk of losing money rapidly due to leverage. Most retail investor accounts lose money. Consider whether you understand how CFDs work and whether you can afford the high risk of losing your money.

14FxProFCA · CySEC · FSCA · SCB7.5/10Not published0.0 pipsRaw+ / Elite (MT4/MT5) · 19 Oct 2026MT4, MT5, cTrader, TradingView, proprietaryStandard, Raw, Professional1:30 (retail, FCA/CySEC) (FCA) · 1:30 (retail) (CySEC) · up to 1:200 (SCB) (SCB)
Open accountUnpaid link

75% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (FxPro Financial Services Ltd).

15ExnessFSA Seychelles · CBCS · BVI FSC · FSC Belize · FSC Mauritius · FSCA · CMA Kenya · JSC · CySEC · FCA5.0/10Not publishedNot measuredMT4, MT5, proprietaryStandard, Raw, Islamic, Demo, Cent1:400 (CMA Kenya) · 1:Unlimited if eligible (equity < 5,000 USD); 1:2000 by default; 1:1000 / 1:500 at higher equity (FSA Seychelles, CBCS, BVI FSC)
Open accountUnpaid link

81.4% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (Exness (KE) Limited).

All rankings

Spreads as published by each broker, latest check 19 Oct 2026. Minimum deposits are shown in each broker’s own currency and are not converted.

Closer look

One broker from this list, October 2026

Pepperstone has entities licensed by 5 Tier 1 regulators and offers MT4 next to MT5, cTrader and TradingView. The trade-off: UK clients get MT4 only on the Razor account, which charges £2.25 per lot per side (Pepperstone UK, 19 Oct 2026).

Which of its entities you get depends on where you live: rankings by country

Closer look · October 2026

Pepperstone

8.5/10

FCA · CySEC · BaFin · ASIC · DFSA · CMA (UAE) · CMA Kenya · SCB · est. 2010

73.6% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (Pepperstone Limited (UK)).

Lower on this rule, and not on this list

Ranks 6 onwards passed the MT4 filter but offer fewer platforms besides it.

  • 6PepperstoneFCA · CySEC · BaFin · ASIC · DFSA · CMA (UAE) · CMA Kenya · SCB8.5/10
  • 7ThinkMarketsFCA · CySEC · ASIC · ASIC · DFSA · FSCA · FSA Seychelles · CIMA · FMA · Unregulated7.6/10
  • 8VantageFCA · ASIC · FSCA · CIMA · VFSC · FSC Mauritius7.9/10
  • 9FP MarketsASIC · CySEC · FSCA · FSA Seychelles7.9/10
  • 10FXCMFCA · CySEC · ASIC · FSCA · Unregulated · ISA · CIRO6.3/10
  • 11TickmillFCA · DFSA · CySEC · FSCA · FSA Seychelles7.7/10
  • 12Admirals (Admiral Markets)CySEC · FCA · FSA Seychelles · ASIC · FSCA7.7/10
  • 13AvaTradeCentral Bank of Ireland · ASIC · JFSA · ADGM FSRA · CySEC · FSCA · CMA Kenya · BVI FSC7.3/10
  • 14FxProFCA · CySEC · FSCA · SCB7.5/10
  • 15ExnessFSA Seychelles · CBCS · BVI FSC · FSC Belize · FSC Mauritius · FSCA · CMA Kenya · JSC · CySEC · FCA5.0/10

Choosing an MT4 broker: five checks

The first check removes more brokers than the other four together.

  1. 1

    Which company will hold your MT4 account?

    Your MT4 login belongs to one entity of the brand. A UK resident at Pepperstone signs with Pepperstone Limited (FCA number 684312, as the broker publishes it); a client outside the EEA and Australia at IC Markets usually lands with its Seychelles company, where UK and EU retail protections do not apply.

  2. 2

    Is MT4 available on the account type you want?

    Read the account page, not the platform page. CMC Markets runs MT4 on a separate account limited to FX, indices and commodities, and Pepperstone UK attaches MT4 to Razor only.

  3. 3

    Do you need MT4, or will MT5 do?

    13 of the 15 MT4 brokers here also offer MT5. MT4 programs written in MQL4 do not run on MT5, so expert advisors need rewriting before a switch; without them, moving to MT5 costs you nothing.

  4. 4

    What does an MT4 trade cost?

    Spread plus commission. On raw MT4 accounts in our data, commission per lot per side is $3.00 at FP Markets, Tickmill and Vantage, $3.50 at IC Markets and FxPro, and £2.25 at Pepperstone UK (published terms, 19 Oct 2026). Compare the all-in cost, not the spread line alone.

  5. 5

    Is there a regulator action or ownership change?

    FXCM is selling its UK client book to Trade Nation (announced 6 Oct 2026), and ASIC issued an interim stop order on new FXCM Australia retail CFD accounts on 5 Dec 2025. Both facts sit on FXCM’s card; we have not confirmed whether the ASIC order was lifted.

Methodology v1 · preliminary

How we rate brokers

Every rating here comes from documents the brokers publish, collected on 19 Oct 2026. We have not opened live accounts, so each score is marked preliminary.

  1. 1Collect published termsSpreads, commissions, minimum deposits, platforms and account types, each saved with its source page and date.
  2. 2List every entityEach licensed company of a brand, with the licence number the broker publishes. Matching those numbers on the regulators’ registers is still to do.
  3. 3Score four criteriaCosts, platforms, regulation and accounts, 0–10 each. Research and support stay unscored until we test them.
  4. 4Apply this page’s ruleA filter by published fact, then a sort by one criterion. The rule is printed above the ranking.
  5. 5Show what changes a recommendationClient-book sales, regulator orders and offshore-only onboarding are written on the broker’s card.

Criteria weights

  • Costs · 25%
  • Regulation & safety · 25%
  • Platforms · 15%
  • Accounts & funding · 15%
  • Research & education · 10%
  • Support · 10%
  • 15brokers on this page
  • 31regulators behind their entities
  • 19 Oct 2026latest data check

What does not affect a score

Partner status and advertising. We have no affiliate or advertising agreements with brokers.

Latest data entries

DateEntryResult
19 Oct 2026EUR/USD spread, Spread-only (OANDA Europe Limited, UK) account, OANDA0.6 pips
19 Oct 2026EUR/USD spread, Raw Spread (Global) account, IC Markets0.1 pips
19 Oct 2026EUR/USD spread, FX Active account, CMC Markets0.0 pips

Data collected 19 Oct 2026 · 83 of 152 licences checked on regulators’ registers

Editorial policyRead the full methodology

What this ranking is, and what it is not

A desk comparison of published terms; no broker pays us.

Who writes it

Each ranking is written and checked by the Low Spread Brokers team; the date the broker data was collected (19 Oct 2026) is printed at the foot of the page.

How we earn

At the moment we earn nothing from brokers: there are no affiliate or advertising agreements, and the buttons lead to the brokers’ official websites. Partner status is not an input to any score.

What we don’t do

No bonuses or sign-up offers, no offshore leverage presented as a benefit, no personal investment advice, and no claims of live-account tests we have not run.

Risk warning:

CFDs are complex instruments and come with a high risk of losing money rapidly due to leverage. Most retail investor accounts lose money. Consider whether you understand how CFDs work and whether you can afford the high risk of losing your money.

Low Spread Brokers does not give personal investment advice.

Other rankings on this site

FAQ

MT4 broker questions

Questions traders search for about MT4 brokers, answered from our broker data (collected 19 Oct 2026).

Ask us a question

Low Spread Brokers does not give personal investment advice.

1MT4 or MT5: which should I choose?

Choose MT4 if you already run MT4 expert advisors or indicators, because MQL4 programs do not run on MT5 without rewriting. Otherwise start on MT5: every broker on our MT5 ranking also has a Tier 1 entity open to retail clients, a filter this MT4 list does not apply.

Answers checked against broker data collected 19 Oct 2026

2Which brokers with MT4 accept UK clients?

Admirals (Admiral Markets), CMC Markets, FxPro, IG, OANDA, Pepperstone, ThinkMarkets, Tickmill and Vantage offer MT4 and have an FCA entity for UK residents in our data. FXCM is left out for new UK accounts while its client book moves to Trade Nation; IC Markets and Exness have no FCA entity open to UK retail clients.

Answers checked against broker data collected 19 Oct 2026

3Can I open an MT4 demo account?

Among MT4 brokers, the pages we collected mention a demo account for Exness, ThinkMarkets and XM. For the others the source pages did not mention one, which does not prove they lack it. Exness has no Tier 1 entity open to retail clients.

Answers checked against broker data collected 19 Oct 2026

4Why is FXCM still on this list?

The filter is global, and FXCM still offers MT4 through entities outside the UK and Australia. Its UK client book is being sold to Trade Nation (announced 6 Oct 2026), and ASIC issued an interim stop order on new Australian retail CFD accounts on 5 Dec 2025; we have not confirmed whether it was lifted.

Answers checked against broker data collected 19 Oct 2026

5Why is XM listed without an FCA or ASIC licence?

Because those licences are not XM’s. The group’s FCA and ASIC licences belong to its sister brand Trading.com; the XM brand runs on a CySEC entity for the EEA and an FSC Belize entity, with leverage up to 1:1000, for most other countries.

Answers checked against broker data collected 19 Oct 2026

6What is an MT4 trade copier?

Software, usually an expert advisor, that copies trades from one MT4 account to others. We do not rate copiers. Brokers whose published account list includes copy trading are on the copy trading ranking.

Answers checked against broker data collected 19 Oct 2026

Who wrote and checked this page

  • Written and checked by

    Low Spread Brokers team

    Collected the broker terms used on this page from the brokers’ own websites and checks each entity, figure and date against the source pages recorded in our broker data.

    About us

Broker data collected 19 Oct 2026Editorial policyHow we rank

Check the entity before you open an account

Broker data collected 19 Oct 2026. Licence numbers are shown as each broker publishes them; confirm them on the regulator’s register.

Back to the ranking

CFDs are complex and carry a high risk of losing money rapidly.