Advertiser disclosure: we have no affiliate or advertising agreements with brokers, and no click to a broker is paid. If that changes, this notice changes first. How we make money

Rankings differ by countryPick your country

Ranked by a preliminary rating built from published data, checked 19 Oct 2026How we score

Menu

Ranking · For beginners

Best forex brokers for beginners

Brokers with at least one Tier 1 company that takes retail clients, ranked by what a first account depends on: account choice, minimum deposit and regulation. We have not tested their education or support yet, so those do not move the order.

  • 19brokers on this list
  • 40regulators behind their companies
  • 19 Oct 2026latest data check
  • 144group companies listed

Low Spread Brokers does not give personal investment advice.

A beginner loses more to the wrong company and too much leverage than to 0.2 pips of spread. So this list weights accounts at 35% and regulation at 20% of a beginner score, leaves costs out, and keeps the 45% for education and support empty until we test them. Read first: our methodologyhow we make moneyhow regulation differs by country

Quick answer

Which forex broker is best for a beginner?

Pick a broker whose company for your country is Tier 1, then the one with the set-up you need: a demo with live prices, a low minimum deposit and a standard account without commission. The order below follows our accounts and regulation scores; check the spread line on each card, because the beginner score leaves costs out.

  1. Check that the company named on the account form is the Tier 1 one for your country, not an offshore sister company.
  2. Start on a standard account: you pay one cost, the spread, instead of spread plus commission.
  3. Stay within the 1:30 retail cap on major pairs, and use less of it while you learn.
  4. Run the demo for a few weeks with the position size you would trade live.

Not sure which broker fits you?

Pick what matters most and go straight to the ranking built for it.

  • One question, no e-mail needed
  • Each list shows its rule and the date of its data
  • We ask for no contact details
What matters most to you?

We don’t ask for contact details.

Open this ranking

Beginner ranking: Tier 1 brokers by accounts and regulation

Open this ranking

Low-spread ranking: published EUR/USD spreads on raw accounts

Open this ranking

MT4 ranking: every broker that offers MT4

Open this ranking

Low-deposit ranking: USD 100 or less

Open this ranking

Copy-trading ranking, with its risks

Every ranking shows the company behind each broker and the loss rate that company publishes.

Best forex brokers for beginners, in the order of this page

Ranked by this page’s rule from published data, not by commission. Advertiser disclosure

Why this order: sorted by a beginner score built from our accounts (35%) and regulation (20%) criteria, among brokers with a Tier 1 company that takes retail clients; education and support (45%) are not scored yet, and ties go to the lower minimum deposit. Ranked from our data on 19 brokers, updated 19 Oct 2026. How we rank

Ranked by beginner score · 19 Oct 2026

Costs are not in the beginner score; read the spread line on each card.

See the low-spread ranking
Regulator tiers:Tier 1: e.g. FCA, ASIC, CySEC, BaFin, MASTier 2: e.g. FSCA, FMA, CMA KenyaOffshore: labelled; its leverage never adds to a score

Top pick

1

ThinkMarkets

Main entity: TF Global Markets (UK) Limited · 10 entities in total

Protections depend on the entity

Minimum deposit
$10
EUR/USD spread from
Not measured
Platforms
MT4, MT5, TradingView, proprietary
Max retail leverage
Depends on entity: up to 30:1 (Standard, ThinkTrader, ThinkZero accounts, retail) (FCA, ASIC)up to 30:1 (ThinkZero account, retail) (CySEC)up to 500:1 (Standard, ThinkZero); 2500:1 (ThinkTrader account) (FSA Seychelles)
Funding methods
Bank wire, Visa, Mastercard, Skrill, Neteller, Apple Pay, Google Pay, Crypto (global site only)

StandardRawIslamicDemoSpread bettingProfessional6 of 9 licences checked on the register, 20 Oct 2026

Why #1the widest account range in our data, demo and swap-free included, and a low published minimum; no EUR/USD spread in pips, so check costs on its site.

7.6/10

Visit brokerUnpaid link

75% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (TF Global Markets (UK) Limited).

2

IC Markets

Main entity: International Capital Markets Pty Ltd · 4 entities in total

Which entity serves my country?

Protections depend on the entity

Minimum deposit
$0
EUR/USD spread from
0.1 pips (Raw Spread (Global), 19 Oct 2026)
Platforms
MT4, MT5, cTrader, TradingView, proprietary
Max retail leverage
Depends on entity: up to 1:30 (ASIC)up to 1:30 (retail, all account types) (CySEC)up to 1:5000 (MetaTrader accounts), 1:1000 (cTrader); described as dynamic (FSA Seychelles)up to 1:200 (SCB)
Funding methods
Credit/debit card, Bank transfer, PayPal, Skrill, Neteller, UnionPay, BPAY, FasaPay, POLi

StandardRawIslamicProfessional3 of 4 licences checked on the register, 20 Oct 2026

Why #2no stated minimum on its global accounts, swap-free and raw accounts; outside Australia and the EEA, beginners are onboarded by its Seychelles or Bahamas company.

Visit brokerUnpaid link

73.46% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (IC Markets (EU) Ltd).

Read review
3

XTB

Main entity: XTB S.A. · 9 entities in total

Which entity serves my country?

Protections depend on the entity

Minimum deposit
$0
EUR/USD spread from
0.8 pips (Standard, 19 Oct 2026)
Platforms
proprietary
Max retail leverage
Depends on entity: up to 1:30 (retail); 1:100 'Klient Doświadczony'; 1:200 professional (KNF)up to 1:30 (FCA, CySEC)up to 1:500 (FSC Belize)
Funding methods
Debit/credit card, Bank transfer, PayPal, Skrill, Neteller, PayU

StandardIslamicProfessional4 of 9 licences checked on the register, 20 Oct 2026

Why #3no minimum deposit and one in-house platform, which keeps the first steps simple; FCA, KNF and CySEC companies.

Visit brokerUnpaid link

74% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (XTB Limited (UK)).

Read review
Show ranks #4–#19
4

XM

Main entity: Trading Point of Financial Instruments Ltd · 9 entities in total

Protections depend on the entity

Minimum deposit
$5
EUR/USD spread from
0.0 pips (Zero (EU), 19 Oct 2026)
Platforms
MT4, MT5, TradingView
Max retail leverage
Depends on entity: up to 30:1 (shown on Ultra Low and Zero account cards, EU site) (CySEC)
Funding methods
Bank wire transfer, Skrill, Neteller, Przelewy24

RawIslamicDemoCent3 of 9 licences checked on the register, 20 Oct 2026

Why #4a very low minimum on its EU accounts and a demo, but outside the EEA the XM brand runs on an offshore Belize company with leverage up to 1:1000.

7.2/10

Visit brokerUnpaid link

76.15% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (Trading Point of Financial Instruments Ltd).

5

Vantage

Main entity: Vantage Global Prime LLP · 6 entities in total

Which entity serves my country?

Protections depend on the entity

Minimum deposit
$50
EUR/USD spread from
0.0 pips (RAW ECN (inferred: unlabeled block), 17 Feb 2026)
Platforms
MT4, MT5, TradingView, proprietary
Max retail leverage
Depends on entity: up to 30:1 (major currency pairs, retail); lower for other instruments (FCA)up to up to 30:1 (retail clients) (ASIC)up to 100:1 to 500:1 (global help center, all account types; certain products fixed) (VFSC)
Funding methods
Debit card, Credit card, Bank transfer, Skrill, Neteller, E-wallets, Alternative payment methods

StandardRawECNIslamicCopyCentSpread bettingProfessional2 of 6 licences checked on the register, 20 Oct 2026

Why #5cent and copy accounts; UK and Australian residents get its FCA or ASIC company, other countries an offshore one.

Visit brokerUnpaid link

72.65% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (Vantage Global Prime LLP).

Read review
6

Admirals (Admiral Markets)

Main entity: Admirals Europe Ltd (previously Admiral Markets Cyprus Ltd) · 5 entities in total

Protections depend on the entity

Minimum deposit
€100
EUR/USD spread from
0.0 pips (Zero.MT5, 19 Oct 2026)
Platforms
MT4, MT5, proprietary
Max retail leverage
Depends on entity: up to Up to 1:30 (Trade.MT5 / Zero.MT5, retail) (CySEC)
Funding methods
Bank transfer, Visa/Mastercard, Klarna, Skrill, Brite

StandardRawIslamicProfessional3 of 5 licences checked on the register, 20 Oct 2026

Why #6a low-entry Invest.MT5 account next to its main MT5 accounts; its CySEC company states negative balance protection.

7.7/10

Visit brokerUnpaid link

74% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (Admirals Europe Ltd).

7

Tickmill

Main entity: Tickmill UK Ltd · 5 entities in total

Protections depend on the entity

Minimum deposit
$100
EUR/USD spread from
0.0 pips (Raw, 19 Oct 2026)
Platforms
MT4, MT5, TradingView, proprietary, CQG, Trading Technologies
Max retail leverage
Depends on entity: up to 1:30 (Raw and Classic, retail) (FCA)up to 1:30 (retail, maximum and default); professional 1:500 (CySEC)
Funding methods
Bank transfer, Debit/credit card (Visa, Mastercard), Skrill, Neteller, Przelewy24, PayPal, Trustly

StandardRawIslamicProfessional4 of 5 licences checked on the register, 20 Oct 2026

Why #7FCA and CySEC companies for retail clients and swap-free accounts; minimum deposit set in USD.

7.7/10

Visit brokerUnpaid link

68% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (Tickmill UK Ltd).

8

CMC Markets

Main entity: CMC Markets UK plc · 8 entities in total

Protections depend on the entity

Minimum deposit
£0
EUR/USD spread from
0.0 pips (FX Active, 19 Oct 2026)
Platforms
MT4, TradingView, proprietary
Max retail leverage
Depends on entity: up to 1:30 (major FX; margin from 3.34%) (FCA)
Funding methods
Debit card, Credit card, Open banking (TrueLayer), Bank transfer

StandardRawSpread bettingProfessional7 of 8 licences checked on the register, 20 Oct 2026

Why #8no minimum deposit on UK accounts and two FCA companies; MetaTrader 4 but no MT5.

7.8/10

Visit brokerUnpaid link

69% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (CMC Markets UK plc).

9

OANDA

Main entity: OANDA Corporation · 8 entities in total

Which entity serves my country?

Protections depend on the entity

Minimum deposit
$0
EUR/USD spread from
0.0 pips (Raw spreads + commission (OANDA Australia), 19 Oct 2026)
Platforms
MT4, MT5, TradingView, proprietary
Max retail leverage
Depends on entity: up to 50:1 implied (margin from 2% on EUR/USD, retail) (CFTC / NFA)up to 30:1 (major forex pairs, retail; margin 3.33%) (FCA)up to 1:30 (retail, per account comparison table on EU site) (KNF)up to up to 20:1 (retail) (MAS)up to 25x implied (individual FX margin at least 4% of transaction amount) (JFSA)
Funding methods
Debit card, Credit card, Bank transfer (Faster Payments, BACS, CHAPS, SWIFT, SEPA)

StandardRawProfessional4 of 8 licences checked on the register, 20 Oct 2026

Why #9Tier 1 companies in seven countries and no minimum deposit on its UK standard account.

Visit brokerUnpaid link

76.6% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (OANDA Europe Limited).

Read review
10

Pepperstone

Main entity: Pepperstone Limited · 8 entities in total

Which entity serves my country?

Protections depend on the entity

Minimum deposit
£10
EUR/USD spread from
0.0 pips (Razor, 19 Oct 2026)
Platforms
MT4, MT5, cTrader, TradingView, proprietary
Max retail leverage
Depends on entity: up to 1:30 (retail, per Pepperstone support FAQ) (FCA)
Funding methods
Debit card, Credit card, Apple Pay, Google Pay, Bank transfer

StandardRawSpread bettingProfessional5 of 8 licences checked on the register, 20 Oct 2026

Why #10highest overall score in our data, lower here because its account range is narrower than the leaders’.

Visit brokerUnpaid link

73.6% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (Pepperstone Limited (UK)).

Read review
11

Saxo

Main entity: Saxo Bank A/S · 5 entities in total

Which entity serves my country?

Protections depend on the entity

Minimum deposit
£0
EUR/USD spread from
0.7 pips (not stated, 19 Oct 2026)
Platforms
TradingView, proprietary, API
Max retail leverage
Depends on entity: up to 30:1 (FX majors, retail, ESMA; 3.33% initial margin) (Danish FSA)up to 30:1 (FX majors, retail; EUR/USD initial margin 3.33% stated, leverage ratio derived) (FCA)up to 1:66 (FX majors; EUR/USD initial margin 1.5% for Swiss residents) (FINMA)
Funding methods
Bank transfer, Debit card

StandardDemoProfessional2 of 5 licences checked on the register, 20 Oct 2026

Visit brokerUnpaid link

61% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (Saxo Capital Markets UK Ltd).

Read review
12

AvaTrade

Main entity: AVA Trade EU Ltd · 8 entities in total

Protections depend on the entity

Minimum deposit
$100
EUR/USD spread from
0.9 pips (Retail (fixed/variable not stated), 19 Oct 2026)
Platforms
MT4, MT5, TradingView, proprietary
Max retail leverage
Depends on entity:
Funding methods
Credit/debit card, Wire transfer, Skrill (not EU/AU), Neteller (not EU/AU), PayPal (some countries)

StandardIslamicCopyProfessional3 of 8 licences checked on the register, 20 Oct 2026

7.3/10

Visit brokerUnpaid link

CFDs are complex instruments and come with a high risk of losing money rapidly due to leverage. Most retail investor accounts lose money. Consider whether you understand how CFDs work and whether you can afford the high risk of losing your money.

13

IG

Main entity: IG Markets Ltd · 13 entities in total

Which entity serves my country?

Protections depend on the entity

Minimum deposit
£1
EUR/USD spread from
0.6 pips (UK spread bet/CFD, 19 Oct 2026)
Platforms
MT4, MT5, TradingView, proprietary, API, ProRealTime, L2 Dealer
Max retail leverage
Depends on entity: up to 1:30 (major FX, retail; margin 3.33% on EUR/USD, GBP/USD) (FCA)up to 1:30 (major FX spread bets, retail; margin 3.33%) (FCA)
Funding methods
Debit card, Credit card, Bank transfer

StandardSpread bettingProfessional7 of 13 licences checked on the register, 20 Oct 2026

Visit brokerUnpaid link

70% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (IG Markets Ltd / IG Index Ltd (UK)).

Read review
14

FP Markets

Main entity: First Prudential Markets Pty Ltd · 4 entities in total

Protections depend on the entity

Minimum deposit
$50
EUR/USD spread from
0.0 pips (Raw (MT4, EU), 19 Oct 2026)
Platforms
MT4, MT5, cTrader, TradingView, proprietary, Iress
Max retail leverage
Depends on entity: up to up to 1:30 (Standard/Raw, retail) (CySEC)
Funding methods
Bank transfer, Debit/credit card (via Nuvei), Neteller, Skrill, PayPal

StandardRawProfessional3 of 4 licences checked on the register, 20 Oct 2026

7.9/10

Visit brokerUnpaid link

74.51% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (First Prudential Markets Ltd).

15

Plus500

Main entity: Plus500UK Ltd · 14 entities in total

Protections depend on the entity

Minimum deposit
A$100
EUR/USD spread from
Not measured
Platforms
proprietary
Max retail leverage
Depends on entity: up to 1:30 (forex, retail; EUR/USD initial margin 3.33%) (FCA)up to 1:30 (forex, retail — per Plus500 forex page en-fr) (CySEC)
Funding methods
Debit/credit card (Visa, Mastercard only), PayPal, Skrill, Bank transfer

StandardProfessional7 of 14 licences checked on the register, 20 Oct 2026

6.2/10

Visit brokerUnpaid link

76% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (Plus500UK Ltd).

16

FXCM

Main entity: Stratos Markets Limited · 7 entities in total

Protections depend on the entity

Minimum deposit
$50
EUR/USD spread from
Not measured
Platforms
MT4, TradingView, proprietary, API
Max retail leverage
Depends on entity: up to 30:1 (depending on instrument, retail) (FCA)up to 30:1 (major currency pairs, retail) (CySEC, ASIC)up to 30:1 default for major currency pairs (as stated on fxcm.com/za open-account page) (FSCA)up to 1000:1 (accounts with equity < $10,000; 400:1 for $10k-50k; 100:1 above $50k; MT4 < $10k max 400:1) (Unregulated)
Funding methods
Debit/credit card (Visa, Mastercard; Discover in UK), Bank wire, PayPal (UK, AU), Google Pay, Apple Pay (UK, AU), Open Banking (UK), Skrill, NETELLER, Rapid Transfer (UK), China Online Payment (markets), Crypto (markets)

StandardRawSpread bettingProfessional4 of 6 licences checked on the register, 20 Oct 2026

6.3/10

Visit brokerUnpaid link

67% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (Stratos Markets Limited).

17

Interactive Brokers

Main entity: Interactive Brokers LLC · 9 entities in total

Which entity serves my country?

Protections depend on the entity

Minimum deposit
$0
EUR/USD spread from
Not measured
Platforms
proprietary
Max retail leverage
Depends on entity: up to 1:30 (major FX CFDs, retail: ESMA-style minimum initial margin 3.33%; 5% other pairs) (FCA)up to Leverage limits per CBI CFD rules (Aug 2019) for retail; ESMA minimum margin 3.33% major FX (1:30) per CFD margin page (Central Bank of Ireland)
Funding methods
Bank wire, ACH (US), Direct ACH (US), Check (US), Online Bill Pay (US), Wise balance transfer, USDC stablecoin (USD)

Standard6 of 9 licences checked on the register, 20 Oct 2026

Visit brokerUnpaid link

58.9% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (Interactive Brokers (U.K.) Limited).

Read review
18

FxPro

Main entity: FxPro UK Limited · 4 entities in total

Protections depend on the entity

Minimum deposit
Not published
EUR/USD spread from
0.0 pips (Raw+ / Elite (MT4/MT5), 19 Oct 2026)
Platforms
MT4, MT5, cTrader, TradingView, proprietary
Max retail leverage
Depends on entity: up to 1:30 (retail, FCA/CySEC) (FCA)up to 1:30 (retail) (CySEC)up to up to 1:200 (SCB) (SCB)
Funding methods
Bank wire, Visa, Skrill, Neteller, PayPal, Crypto (not available to FxPro UK retail clients)

StandardRawProfessional2 of 4 licences checked on the register, 20 Oct 2026

7.5/10

Visit brokerUnpaid link

75% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (FxPro Financial Services Ltd).

19

eToro

Main entity: eToro (UK) Ltd · 8 entities in total

Which entity serves my country?

Protections depend on the entity

Minimum deposit
Not published
EUR/USD spread from
Not measured
Platforms
proprietary
Max retail leverage
Depends on entity: up to 1:30 (major FX, retail) — eToro Responsible Trading Policy, entity not specified on page (FCA, CySEC)
Funding methods
eToro Money, Debit/credit card, Bank transfer, PayPal, Neteller, Skrill, iDEAL, Trustly, Przelewy24

StandardProfessional5 of 8 licences checked on the register, 20 Oct 2026

Visit brokerUnpaid link

55% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (entity not named).

Read review

The first ten in one line each

Who each broker suits as a first account, and its main drawback, in the order of the list.

  1. 1ThinkMarketstrying several account types from a low deposit; costs not published in pips7.6/10
  2. 2IC Marketsbeginners in Australia or the EEA; offshore company elsewhere8.0/10
  3. 3XTBone simple platform with no minimum deposit; no MetaTrader7.1/10
  4. 4XMEEA residents via its CySEC company; offshore with high leverage elsewhere7.2/10
  5. 5Vantagesmall cent accounts; offshore company outside the UK and Australia7.9/10
  6. 6Admirals (Admiral Markets)EU beginners on MetaTrader 5; not available to residents of Belgium7.7/10
  7. 7TickmillUK, EU or Dubai residents who want a swap-free account; Seychelles company elsewhere7.7/10
  8. 8CMC MarketsUK beginners who want no minimum deposit; no MT57.8/10
  9. 9OANDAa Tier 1 company in many countries; no cTrader8.0/10
  10. 10Pepperstonebeginners who expect to move to cTrader or TradingView later; fewer account types8.5/10

Scores by criterion

Each criterion scored 0–10. Darker means a higher score; an empty cell means not measured.

Scores by criterion
BrokerCostsPlatformsRegulationAccountsResearchSupport
ThinkMarketsNot measured8.09.09.0Not measuredNot measured
IC Markets6.89.58.08.5Not measuredNot measured
XTB6.84.09.07.5Not measuredNot measured
XM6.86.08.08.0Not measuredNot measured
Vantage7.68.08.08.0Not measuredNot measured
Admirals (Admiral Markets)8.06.58.08.0Not measuredNot measured
Tickmill7.68.07.58.0Not measuredNot measured
CMC Markets8.06.59.07.0Not measuredNot measured
OANDA7.68.09.07.0Not measuredNot measured
Pepperstone8.29.59.07.0Not measuredNot measured
Saxo7.26.09.06.5Not measuredNot measured
AvaTrade6.48.08.07.0Not measuredNot measured
IG7.68.59.06.0Not measuredNot measured
FP Markets7.69.58.06.5Not measuredNot measured
Plus500Not measured4.09.05.5Not measuredNot measured
FXCMNot measured7.07.06.5Not measuredNot measured
Interactive BrokersNot measured4.09.05.0Not measuredNot measured
FxPro7.29.58.05.0Not measuredNot measured
eToroNot measured4.09.04.0Not measuredNot measured

Preliminary scores from published broker data. Research and support are not scored until live-account tests, and a broker with no published EUR/USD spread in pips has no costs score.

At a glance · first account

Beginner brokers compared

What the table shows

Published minimum deposit, the lowest published EUR/USD spread with its account and check date, platforms, account types and retail leverage by company, from each broker’s own pages.

How to use this table

Sort by score, spread or minimum deposit. Deposits stay in the broker’s own currency, so compare them only within one currency.

Sort:
Beginner brokers compared
RankBrokerScoreMin. depositEUR/USD spread fromPlatformsAccount typesMax. leverage, retailActions
1ThinkMarketsFCA · CySEC · ASIC · ASIC · DFSA · FSCA · FSA Seychelles · CIMA · FMA · Unregulated7.6/10$10Not measuredMT4, MT5, TradingView, proprietaryStandard, Raw, Islamic, Demo, Spread betting, Professional30:1 (Standard, ThinkTrader, ThinkZero accounts, retail) (FCA, ASIC) · 30:1 (ThinkZero account, retail) (CySEC) · 500:1 (Standard, ThinkZero); 2500:1 (ThinkTrader account) (FSA Seychelles)
Open accountUnpaid link

75% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (TF Global Markets (UK) Limited).

2IC MarketsASIC · CySEC · FSA Seychelles · SCBLicences and register check8.0/10$00.1 pipsRaw Spread (Global) · 19 Oct 2026MT4, MT5, cTrader, TradingView, proprietaryStandard, Raw, Islamic, Professional1:30 (ASIC) · 1:30 (retail, all account types) (CySEC) · 1:5000 (MetaTrader accounts), 1:1000 (cTrader); described as dynamic (FSA Seychelles) · 1:200 (SCB)
Open accountUnpaid link
Review

73.46% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (IC Markets (EU) Ltd).

3XTBKNF · FCA · CySEC · FSC Belize · DFSA · SCA · FSA Seychelles · CMF Chile · BappebtiLicences and register check7.1/10$00.8 pipsStandard · 19 Oct 2026proprietaryStandard, Islamic, Professional1:30 (retail); 1:100 'Klient Doświadczony'; 1:200 professional (KNF) · 1:30 (FCA, CySEC) · 1:500 (FSC Belize)
Open accountUnpaid link
Review

74% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (XTB Limited (UK)).

4XMCySEC · DFSA · FSCA · FSC Belize · FSA Seychelles · FSC Mauritius · BVI FSC · CMA Kenya · SCA/CMA7.2/10$50.0 pipsZero (EU) · 19 Oct 2026MT4, MT5, TradingViewRaw, Islamic, Demo, Cent30:1 (shown on Ultra Low and Zero account cards, EU site) (CySEC)
Open accountUnpaid link

76.15% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (Trading Point of Financial Instruments Ltd).

5VantageFCA · ASIC · FSCA · CIMA · VFSC · FSC MauritiusLicences and register check7.9/10$500.0 pipsRAW ECN (inferred: unlabeled block) · 17 Feb 2026MT4, MT5, TradingView, proprietaryStandard, Raw, ECN, Islamic, Copy, Cent, Spread betting, Professional30:1 (major currency pairs, retail); lower for other instruments (FCA) · up to 30:1 (retail clients) (ASIC) · 100:1 to 500:1 (global help center, all account types; certain products fixed) (VFSC)
Open accountUnpaid link
Review

72.65% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (Vantage Global Prime LLP).

All rankings

Spreads as each broker publishes them, latest check 19 Oct 2026. Minimum deposits are shown in the broker’s own currency and are not converted.

Highest overall score in our data

If costs matter too: the overall leader in October 2026

Pepperstone publishes Tier 1 licence numbers from 5 regulators and quotes EUR/USD from 0.0 pips on its Razor account (checked 19 Oct 2026). The trade-off: that price is on the Razor account, which charges a commission per lot on top; the Standard account has no commission and a wider spread.

Your country can change the answer: rankings by country

Highest score · October 2026

Pepperstone

8.5/10

FCA · CySEC · BaFin · ASIC · DFSA · CMA (UAE) · CMA Kenya · SCB · est. 2010

73.6% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (Pepperstone Limited (UK)).

Further down the beginner list

Each has a Tier 1 company that takes retail clients but fewer account types or a higher or unpublished minimum deposit.

  • 6Admirals (Admiral Markets)CySEC · FCA · FSA Seychelles · ASIC · FSCA7.7/10
  • 7TickmillFCA · DFSA · CySEC · FSCA · FSA Seychelles7.7/10
  • 8CMC MarketsFCA · FCA · BaFin · ASIC · FMA · MAS · CIRO · DFSA7.8/10
  • 9OANDACFTC / NFA · FCA · KNF · ASIC · CIRO · MAS · JFSA · BVI FSC8.0/10
  • 10PepperstoneFCA · CySEC · BaFin · ASIC · DFSA · CMA (UAE) · CMA Kenya · SCB8.5/10
  • 11SaxoDanish FSA · FCA · MAS · FINMA · JFSA7.4/10
  • 12AvaTradeCentral Bank of Ireland · ASIC · JFSA · ADGM FSRA · CySEC · FSCA · CMA Kenya · BVI FSC7.3/10
  • 13IGFCA · FCA · FCA · BaFin · ASIC · FMA · FINMA · MAS · DFSA · JFSA · FSCA · BMA · CFTC/NFA7.9/10
  • 14FP MarketsASIC · CySEC · FSCA · FSA Seychelles7.9/10
  • 15Plus500FCA · CySEC · Finantsinspektsioon · ASIC · FMA · FSCA · MAS · DFSA · SCA · JFSA · CIRO · FSA Seychelles · SCB · Israel (regulator not named)6.2/10
  • 16FXCMFCA · CySEC · ASIC · FSCA · Unregulated · ISA · CIRO6.3/10
  • 17Interactive BrokersSEC / CFTC · FCA · DFSA · Central Bank of Ireland · ASIC · CIRO · MAS · JFSA · SFC Hong Kong6.1/10
  • 18FxProFCA · CySEC · FSCA · SCB7.5/10
  • 19eToroFCA · CySEC · ASIC · FSA Seychelles · FSRA · MAS · SEC / FINRA · FinCEN5.9/10

How to choose your first forex broker

Five questions, in the order that rules out the most brokers.

  1. 1

    Which company will open my account?

    Look for the company name and licence number on the account form. XM’s FCA and ASIC licences, for example, belong to its sister brand Trading.com, so an XM account outside the EEA is opened offshore.

  2. 2

    How much do I need to start?

    CMC Markets, OANDA and XTB publish no minimum deposit at all. The real floor is margin: at the 1:30 retail cap a position of 1,000 euros against the dollar ties up about €33.

  3. 3

    Do I need a demo account?

    Yes, before you fund a live account. Our data records a demo only where the broker’s own pages mention one; the demo list covers those brokers.

  4. 4

    Standard or raw account?

    A standard account puts the whole cost in the spread. A raw account quotes from 0.0 pips and adds a commission per lot, which is cheaper only if you trade often enough to notice the difference.

  5. 5

    Which platform should I learn?

    MetaTrader 4 is the most common platform in our data, so what you learn on it carries over if you change broker later.

Methodology v1 · preliminary scores

How we score brokers

Scores come from published data, not from sponsorship and not yet from live-account tests.

  1. 1Collect companiesEach company in the group, its regulator, licence number and the countries it serves, from the broker’s pages and registers where they opened.
  2. 2Record costsEUR/USD spreads and commissions as the broker publishes them, with the date of each check.
  3. 3Score four criteriaCosts, platforms, regulation and accounts, each from a fixed formula on the methodology page.
  4. 4Leave the rest unscoredResearch and support wait for live-account tests; a missing cost figure counts as neutral in the total.
  5. 5Rank per pageEach list filters by one fact and sorts by one criterion, written under its heading.

Rubric weights (research and support not yet scored)

  • Costs · 25%
  • Regulation & safety · 25%
  • Platforms · 15%
  • Accounts & funding · 15%
  • Research & education · 10%
  • Support · 10%
  • 19brokers scored
  • 6criteria in the rubric
  • 19 Oct 2026latest data check

What does not affect a score

Partner status and advertising. We have no affiliate or advertising agreements with brokers.

Published spreads behind the scores

CheckedQuoteSpread
19 Oct 2026EUR/USD, Raw Spread (Global) account, IC Markets0.1 pips
19 Oct 2026EUR/USD, Standard account, XTB0.8 pips
19 Oct 2026EUR/USD, Ultra Low (EU) account, XM0.8 pips

Methodology v1 · scores stay marked preliminary until live-account tests

Editorial policyRead the full methodology

What this ranking is, and what it is not

A desk ranking from published data, with its gaps shown.

Who writes it

The Low Spread Brokers team writes and checks every page; brokers do not see pages before publication and do not edit them. All lists read from one broker file, so a spread or licence number is the same on every page.

How we earn

We have no affiliate or advertising agreements with brokers, and no click to a broker is paid. If that changes, the site will say so first; partner status is not an input to any score, whose formulas use spreads, platforms, licences and account terms only.

What we don’t do

No bonuses or sign-up offers. No offshore leverage presented as a feature. No claim that we tested an account we have not opened. No personal investment advice.

Risk warning:

CFDs are complex instruments and come with a high risk of losing money rapidly due to leverage. Most retail investor accounts lose money. Consider whether you understand how CFDs work and whether you can afford the high risk of losing your money.

Low Spread Brokers does not give personal investment advice.

Key pages on this site

FAQ

Forex brokers for beginners: questions

Short answers from the same broker data and country rules as the rankings.

Ask a question

We cannot give personal investment advice.

1Which broker should a beginner start with?

One whose company for your country is Tier 1 and that offers a demo and a standard account. For UK residents that means a broker with an FCA company; the UK ranking keeps only those.

Broker data checked 19 Oct 2026

2How much money do I need to start trading forex?

Some brokers publish no minimum deposit at all. What limits you is margin: at the 1:30 retail cap, a 1,000-euro position in EUR/USD (a micro lot) ties up about €33, and each pip moves its value by about $0.10.

Broker data checked 19 Oct 2026

3Is a demo account enough before trading live?

A demo teaches the platform and the order types, but not slippage or how a real loss feels. Most retail CFD accounts lose money: the companies of brokers on this list publish loss rates from 55% to 88%.

Broker data checked 19 Oct 2026

4What leverage should a beginner use?

Tier 1 regulators cap retail leverage at 1:30 on major pairs, and you do not have to use all of it. Offshore companies of some brands go far higher: IC Markets’ Seychelles company lists up to 1:5000 on MetaTrader, which multiplies losses at the same rate.

Broker data checked 19 Oct 2026

5What is the best forex trading app for beginners in the UK?

Start from brokers with an FCA company, which rules out IC Markets and XM from this list. We have not tested the apps yet; the trading apps ranking compares which platforms each broker offers.

Broker data checked 19 Oct 2026

Who wrote and checked this page

  • Written and checked by

    Low Spread Brokers team

    Collects broker costs, account terms, entities and licence numbers from the brokers’ own pages and the regulators’ registers, records the date and source of every figure and compares each one with its source before a page is published.

    About us

Broker data checked 19 Oct 2026Editorial policyHow we rank

Open a demo before you fund

The demo accounts list keeps only Tier 1 brokers whose own pages offer one.

See demo accounts

CFDs are complex and carry a high risk of losing money rapidly.