Advertiser disclosure: we have no affiliate or advertising agreements with brokers, and no click to a broker is paid. If that changes, this notice changes first. How we make money

Rankings differ by countryPick your country

Ranked by a preliminary rating built from published data, checked 19 Oct 2026How we score

Menu

Ranking · all countries

Best forex brokers in 2026

Every broker in our data, ranked by one preliminary score built from published licences, spreads, platforms and account terms. The lists by country and by task below narrow the field by one fact each.

  • 20brokers on this list
  • 42regulators behind their companies
  • 19 Oct 2026latest data check
  • 154group companies listed

Low Spread Brokers does not give personal investment advice.

The score combines four criteria with fixed weights: costs and regulation 25% each, platforms and accounts 15% each. Research and support, the remaining 20%, are not scored until we open live accounts, so read a gap of 0.1 between two brokers as a tie. Read first: our methodologyhow we make moneyhow regulation differs by country

Quick answer

Which forex broker is the best overall?

None is best for every country. The broker in first place below has the highest weighted total across costs, platforms, regulation and accounts, but its company for your country may not be Tier 1. Open your country page first, then compare the leaders there on spread plus commission and on the loss rate their company publishes.

  1. Your country page drops brokers with no company that accepts your residents.
  2. Check that company’s licence number on its regulator’s register before you fund.
  3. Compare spread plus commission per lot, not the headline spread.
  4. Read the loss-rate line under each button: it is the share of that company’s retail CFD accounts that lost money.

Best forex brokers, ranked across all countries

Ranked by a preliminary score from published data, not by commission. Advertiser disclosure

Why this order: the overall preliminary score across costs, platforms, regulation and accounts, from each broker’s published terms (live accounts not yet tested), before a country or a task narrows the list. Ranked from our data on 20 brokers, updated 19 Oct 2026. How we rank

Ranked by preliminary score · 19 Oct 2026

Your country decides which company opens your account, and with it your leverage cap and protections.

See the ranking for your country
Regulator tiers:Tier 1: e.g. FCA, ASIC, CySEC, BaFin, MASTier 2: e.g. FSCA, FMA, CMA KenyaOffshore: labelled; its leverage never adds to a score

Top pick

1

Pepperstone

Main entity: Pepperstone Limited · 8 entities in total

Which entity serves my country?

Protections depend on the entity

Minimum deposit
£10
EUR/USD spread from
0.0 pips (Razor, 19 Oct 2026)
Platforms
MT4, MT5, cTrader, TradingView, proprietary
Max retail leverage
Depends on entity: up to 1:30 (retail, per Pepperstone support FAQ) (FCA)
Funding methods
Debit card, Credit card, Apple Pay, Google Pay, Bank transfer

StandardRawSpread bettingProfessional5 of 8 licences checked on the register, 20 Oct 2026

Why #1Tier 1 companies in the UK, Cyprus, Germany, Australia and Dubai, and MT4, MT5, cTrader and TradingView. Its lowest EUR/USD price is on the Razor account, which adds a commission per lot.

Visit brokerUnpaid link

73.6% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (Pepperstone Limited (UK)).

Read review
2

OANDA

Main entity: OANDA Corporation · 8 entities in total

Which entity serves my country?

Protections depend on the entity

Minimum deposit
$0
EUR/USD spread from
0.0 pips (Raw spreads + commission (OANDA Australia), 19 Oct 2026)
Platforms
MT4, MT5, TradingView, proprietary
Max retail leverage
Depends on entity: up to 50:1 implied (margin from 2% on EUR/USD, retail) (CFTC / NFA)up to 30:1 (major forex pairs, retail; margin 3.33%) (FCA)up to 1:30 (retail, per account comparison table on EU site) (KNF)up to up to 20:1 (retail) (MAS)up to 25x implied (individual FX margin at least 4% of transaction amount) (JFSA)
Funding methods
Debit card, Credit card, Bank transfer (Faster Payments, BACS, CHAPS, SWIFT, SEPA)

StandardRawProfessional4 of 8 licences checked on the register, 20 Oct 2026

Why #2Tier 1 companies in the US, UK, Poland, Australia, Canada, Singapore and Japan, and no minimum deposit on its UK standard account. No cTrader.

Visit brokerUnpaid link

76.6% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (OANDA Europe Limited).

Read review
3

IC Markets

Main entity: International Capital Markets Pty Ltd · 4 entities in total

Which entity serves my country?

Protections depend on the entity

Minimum deposit
$0
EUR/USD spread from
0.1 pips (Raw Spread (Global), 19 Oct 2026)
Platforms
MT4, MT5, cTrader, TradingView, proprietary
Max retail leverage
Depends on entity: up to 1:30 (ASIC)up to 1:30 (retail, all account types) (CySEC)up to 1:5000 (MetaTrader accounts), 1:1000 (cTrader); described as dynamic (FSA Seychelles)up to 1:200 (SCB)
Funding methods
Credit/debit card, Bank transfer, PayPal, Skrill, Neteller, UnionPay, BPAY, FasaPay, POLi

StandardRawIslamicProfessional3 of 4 licences checked on the register, 20 Oct 2026

Why #3MT4, MT5, cTrader and TradingView, but no UK company; outside the EEA and Australia most clients are onboarded by its Seychelles or Bahamas entity.

Visit brokerUnpaid link

73.46% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (IC Markets (EU) Ltd).

Read review
Show ranks #4–#20
4

Vantage

Main entity: Vantage Global Prime LLP · 6 entities in total

Which entity serves my country?

Protections depend on the entity

Minimum deposit
$50
EUR/USD spread from
0.0 pips (RAW ECN (inferred: unlabeled block), 17 Feb 2026)
Platforms
MT4, MT5, TradingView, proprietary
Max retail leverage
Depends on entity: up to 30:1 (major currency pairs, retail); lower for other instruments (FCA)up to up to 30:1 (retail clients) (ASIC)up to 100:1 to 500:1 (global help center, all account types; certain products fixed) (VFSC)
Funding methods
Debit card, Credit card, Bank transfer, Skrill, Neteller, E-wallets, Alternative payment methods

StandardRawECNIslamicCopyCentSpread bettingProfessional2 of 6 licences checked on the register, 20 Oct 2026

Why #4FCA and ASIC companies, and its UK site states insurance above the FSCS limit. Third-party warnings about its Vanuatu entity are not yet verified.

Visit brokerUnpaid link

72.65% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (Vantage Global Prime LLP).

Read review
5

IG

Main entity: IG Markets Ltd · 13 entities in total

Which entity serves my country?

Protections depend on the entity

Minimum deposit
£1
EUR/USD spread from
0.6 pips (UK spread bet/CFD, 19 Oct 2026)
Platforms
MT4, MT5, TradingView, proprietary, API, ProRealTime, L2 Dealer
Max retail leverage
Depends on entity: up to 1:30 (major FX, retail; margin 3.33% on EUR/USD, GBP/USD) (FCA)up to 1:30 (major FX spread bets, retail; margin 3.33%) (FCA)
Funding methods
Debit card, Credit card, Bank transfer

StandardSpread bettingProfessional7 of 13 licences checked on the register, 20 Oct 2026

Why #5the oldest firm in our data, with three FCA companies for CFDs and spread betting and seven platforms; no raw-spread account.

Visit brokerUnpaid link

70% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (IG Markets Ltd / IG Index Ltd (UK)).

Read review
6

FP Markets

Main entity: First Prudential Markets Pty Ltd · 4 entities in total

Protections depend on the entity

Minimum deposit
$50
EUR/USD spread from
0.0 pips (Raw (MT4, EU), 19 Oct 2026)
Platforms
MT4, MT5, cTrader, TradingView, proprietary, Iress
Max retail leverage
Depends on entity: up to up to 1:30 (Standard/Raw, retail) (CySEC)
Funding methods
Bank transfer, Debit/credit card (via Nuvei), Neteller, Skrill, PayPal

StandardRawProfessional3 of 4 licences checked on the register, 20 Oct 2026

Why #6the widest platform list in our data, Iress included; ASIC and CySEC companies, no UK one.

7.9/10

Visit brokerUnpaid link

74.51% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (First Prudential Markets Ltd).

7

CMC Markets

Main entity: CMC Markets UK plc · 8 entities in total

Protections depend on the entity

Minimum deposit
£0
EUR/USD spread from
0.0 pips (FX Active, 19 Oct 2026)
Platforms
MT4, TradingView, proprietary
Max retail leverage
Depends on entity: up to 1:30 (major FX; margin from 3.34%) (FCA)
Funding methods
Debit card, Credit card, Open banking (TrueLayer), Bank transfer

StandardRawSpread bettingProfessional7 of 8 licences checked on the register, 20 Oct 2026

7.8/10

Visit brokerUnpaid link

69% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (CMC Markets UK plc).

8

Tickmill

Main entity: Tickmill UK Ltd · 5 entities in total

Protections depend on the entity

Minimum deposit
$100
EUR/USD spread from
0.0 pips (Raw, 19 Oct 2026)
Platforms
MT4, MT5, TradingView, proprietary, CQG, Trading Technologies
Max retail leverage
Depends on entity: up to 1:30 (Raw and Classic, retail) (FCA)up to 1:30 (retail, maximum and default); professional 1:500 (CySEC)
Funding methods
Bank transfer, Debit/credit card (Visa, Mastercard), Skrill, Neteller, Przelewy24, PayPal, Trustly

StandardRawIslamicProfessional4 of 5 licences checked on the register, 20 Oct 2026

Why #8FCA, CySEC and DFSA companies and a raw account with commission; other countries are served from the Seychelles.

7.7/10

Visit brokerUnpaid link

68% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (Tickmill UK Ltd).

9

Admirals (Admiral Markets)

Main entity: Admirals Europe Ltd (previously Admiral Markets Cyprus Ltd) · 5 entities in total

Protections depend on the entity

Minimum deposit
€100
EUR/USD spread from
0.0 pips (Zero.MT5, 19 Oct 2026)
Platforms
MT4, MT5, proprietary
Max retail leverage
Depends on entity: up to Up to 1:30 (Trade.MT5 / Zero.MT5, retail) (CySEC)
Funding methods
Bank transfer, Visa/Mastercard, Klarna, Skrill, Brite

StandardRawIslamicProfessional3 of 5 licences checked on the register, 20 Oct 2026

Why #9the lowest published standard-account EUR/USD spread in our data; its UK company’s leverage and loss protection are not stated on the pages we used.

7.7/10

Visit brokerUnpaid link

74% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (Admirals Europe Ltd).

10

ThinkMarkets

Main entity: TF Global Markets (UK) Limited · 10 entities in total

Protections depend on the entity

Minimum deposit
$10
EUR/USD spread from
Not measured
Platforms
MT4, MT5, TradingView, proprietary
Max retail leverage
Depends on entity: up to 30:1 (Standard, ThinkTrader, ThinkZero accounts, retail) (FCA, ASIC)up to 30:1 (ThinkZero account, retail) (CySEC)up to 500:1 (Standard, ThinkZero); 2500:1 (ThinkTrader account) (FSA Seychelles)
Funding methods
Bank wire, Visa, Mastercard, Skrill, Neteller, Apple Pay, Google Pay, Crypto (global site only)

StandardRawIslamicDemoSpread bettingProfessional6 of 9 licences checked on the register, 20 Oct 2026

7.6/10

Visit brokerUnpaid link

75% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (TF Global Markets (UK) Limited).

11

FxPro

Main entity: FxPro UK Limited · 4 entities in total

Protections depend on the entity

Minimum deposit
Not published
EUR/USD spread from
0.0 pips (Raw+ / Elite (MT4/MT5), 19 Oct 2026)
Platforms
MT4, MT5, cTrader, TradingView, proprietary
Max retail leverage
Depends on entity: up to 1:30 (retail, FCA/CySEC) (FCA)up to 1:30 (retail) (CySEC)up to up to 1:200 (SCB) (SCB)
Funding methods
Bank wire, Visa, Skrill, Neteller, PayPal, Crypto (not available to FxPro UK retail clients)

StandardRawProfessional2 of 4 licences checked on the register, 20 Oct 2026

7.5/10

Visit brokerUnpaid link

75% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (FxPro Financial Services Ltd).

12

Saxo

Main entity: Saxo Bank A/S · 5 entities in total

Which entity serves my country?

Protections depend on the entity

Minimum deposit
£0
EUR/USD spread from
0.7 pips (not stated, 19 Oct 2026)
Platforms
TradingView, proprietary, API
Max retail leverage
Depends on entity: up to 30:1 (FX majors, retail, ESMA; 3.33% initial margin) (Danish FSA)up to 30:1 (FX majors, retail; EUR/USD initial margin 3.33% stated, leverage ratio derived) (FCA)up to 1:66 (FX majors; EUR/USD initial margin 1.5% for Swiss residents) (FINMA)
Funding methods
Bank transfer, Debit card

StandardDemoProfessional2 of 5 licences checked on the register, 20 Oct 2026

Visit brokerUnpaid link

61% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (Saxo Capital Markets UK Ltd).

Read review
13

AvaTrade

Main entity: AVA Trade EU Ltd · 8 entities in total

Protections depend on the entity

Minimum deposit
$100
EUR/USD spread from
0.9 pips (Retail (fixed/variable not stated), 19 Oct 2026)
Platforms
MT4, MT5, TradingView, proprietary
Max retail leverage
Depends on entity:
Funding methods
Credit/debit card, Wire transfer, Skrill (not EU/AU), Neteller (not EU/AU), PayPal (some countries)

StandardIslamicCopyProfessional3 of 8 licences checked on the register, 20 Oct 2026

7.3/10

Visit brokerUnpaid link

CFDs are complex instruments and come with a high risk of losing money rapidly due to leverage. Most retail investor accounts lose money. Consider whether you understand how CFDs work and whether you can afford the high risk of losing your money.

14

XM

Main entity: Trading Point of Financial Instruments Ltd · 9 entities in total

Protections depend on the entity

Minimum deposit
$5
EUR/USD spread from
0.0 pips (Zero (EU), 19 Oct 2026)
Platforms
MT4, MT5, TradingView
Max retail leverage
Depends on entity: up to 30:1 (shown on Ultra Low and Zero account cards, EU site) (CySEC)
Funding methods
Bank wire transfer, Skrill, Neteller, Przelewy24

RawIslamicDemoCent3 of 9 licences checked on the register, 20 Oct 2026

7.2/10

Visit brokerUnpaid link

76.15% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (Trading Point of Financial Instruments Ltd).

15

XTB

Main entity: XTB S.A. · 9 entities in total

Which entity serves my country?

Protections depend on the entity

Minimum deposit
$0
EUR/USD spread from
0.8 pips (Standard, 19 Oct 2026)
Platforms
proprietary
Max retail leverage
Depends on entity: up to 1:30 (retail); 1:100 'Klient Doświadczony'; 1:200 professional (KNF)up to 1:30 (FCA, CySEC)up to 1:500 (FSC Belize)
Funding methods
Debit/credit card, Bank transfer, PayPal, Skrill, Neteller, PayU

StandardIslamicProfessional4 of 9 licences checked on the register, 20 Oct 2026

Visit brokerUnpaid link

74% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (XTB Limited (UK)).

Read review
16

FXCM

Main entity: Stratos Markets Limited · 7 entities in total

Protections depend on the entity

Minimum deposit
$50
EUR/USD spread from
Not measured
Platforms
MT4, TradingView, proprietary, API
Max retail leverage
Depends on entity: up to 30:1 (depending on instrument, retail) (FCA)up to 30:1 (major currency pairs, retail) (CySEC, ASIC)up to 30:1 default for major currency pairs (as stated on fxcm.com/za open-account page) (FSCA)up to 1000:1 (accounts with equity < $10,000; 400:1 for $10k-50k; 100:1 above $50k; MT4 < $10k max 400:1) (Unregulated)
Funding methods
Debit/credit card (Visa, Mastercard; Discover in UK), Bank wire, PayPal (UK, AU), Google Pay, Apple Pay (UK, AU), Open Banking (UK), Skrill, NETELLER, Rapid Transfer (UK), China Online Payment (markets), Crypto (markets)

StandardRawSpread bettingProfessional4 of 6 licences checked on the register, 20 Oct 2026

6.3/10

Visit brokerUnpaid link

67% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (Stratos Markets Limited).

17

Plus500

Main entity: Plus500UK Ltd · 14 entities in total

Protections depend on the entity

Minimum deposit
A$100
EUR/USD spread from
Not measured
Platforms
proprietary
Max retail leverage
Depends on entity: up to 1:30 (forex, retail; EUR/USD initial margin 3.33%) (FCA)up to 1:30 (forex, retail — per Plus500 forex page en-fr) (CySEC)
Funding methods
Debit/credit card (Visa, Mastercard only), PayPal, Skrill, Bank transfer

StandardProfessional7 of 14 licences checked on the register, 20 Oct 2026

6.2/10

Visit brokerUnpaid link

76% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (Plus500UK Ltd).

18

Interactive Brokers

Main entity: Interactive Brokers LLC · 9 entities in total

Which entity serves my country?

Protections depend on the entity

Minimum deposit
$0
EUR/USD spread from
Not measured
Platforms
proprietary
Max retail leverage
Depends on entity: up to 1:30 (major FX CFDs, retail: ESMA-style minimum initial margin 3.33%; 5% other pairs) (FCA)up to Leverage limits per CBI CFD rules (Aug 2019) for retail; ESMA minimum margin 3.33% major FX (1:30) per CFD margin page (Central Bank of Ireland)
Funding methods
Bank wire, ACH (US), Direct ACH (US), Check (US), Online Bill Pay (US), Wise balance transfer, USDC stablecoin (USD)

Standard6 of 9 licences checked on the register, 20 Oct 2026

Visit brokerUnpaid link

58.9% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (Interactive Brokers (U.K.) Limited).

Read review
19

eToro

Main entity: eToro (UK) Ltd · 8 entities in total

Which entity serves my country?

Protections depend on the entity

Minimum deposit
Not published
EUR/USD spread from
Not measured
Platforms
proprietary
Max retail leverage
Depends on entity: up to 1:30 (major FX, retail) — eToro Responsible Trading Policy, entity not specified on page (FCA, CySEC)
Funding methods
eToro Money, Debit/credit card, Bank transfer, PayPal, Neteller, Skrill, iDEAL, Trustly, Przelewy24

StandardProfessional5 of 8 licences checked on the register, 20 Oct 2026

Visit brokerUnpaid link

55% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (entity not named).

Read review
20

Exness

Main entity: Exness (SC) Ltd · 10 entities in total

Protections depend on the entity

Minimum deposit
Not published
EUR/USD spread from
Not measured
Platforms
MT4, MT5, proprietary
Max retail leverage
Depends on entity: up to 1:400 (CMA Kenya)up to 1:Unlimited if eligible (equity < 5,000 USD); 1:2000 by default; 1:1000 / 1:500 at higher equity (FSA Seychelles, CBCS, BVI FSC)
Funding methods
Bank card (Visa, Mastercard, 3D Secure), Prepaid cards (not US-issued), Local and global payment methods (region-dependent, listed only in Personal Area)

StandardRawIslamicDemoCent3 of 10 licences checked on the register, 20 Oct 2026

5.0/10

Visit brokerUnpaid link

81.4% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (Exness (KE) Limited).

Best brokers by country

Each country page has its own ranking: only brokers with a company that accepts residents, ordered by a rule chosen for that country’s regulator, leverage caps and protections.

All countries

Country rules (compensation, complaints body, leverage caps) come from our country reference, which is not yet re-verified against each regulator; the regulator’s own text prevails.

At a glance · all countries

Forex broker comparison table

What the table shows

Published minimum deposit, the lowest published EUR/USD spread with its account and check date, platforms, account types and retail leverage by company, from each broker’s own pages.

How to use this table

Sort by score, spread or minimum deposit. Deposits stay in the broker’s own currency, so compare them only within one currency.

Sort:
Forex broker comparison table
RankBrokerScoreMin. depositEUR/USD spread fromPlatformsAccount typesMax. leverage, retailActions
1PepperstoneFCA · CySEC · BaFin · ASIC · DFSA · CMA (UAE) · CMA Kenya · SCBLicences and register check8.5/10£100.0 pipsRazor · 19 Oct 2026MT4, MT5, cTrader, TradingView, proprietaryStandard, Raw, Spread betting, Professional1:30 (retail, per Pepperstone support FAQ) (FCA)
Open accountUnpaid link
Review

73.6% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (Pepperstone Limited (UK)).

2OANDACFTC / NFA · FCA · KNF · ASIC · CIRO · MAS · JFSA · BVI FSCLicences and register check8.0/10$00.0 pipsRaw spreads + commission (OANDA Australia) · 19 Oct 2026MT4, MT5, TradingView, proprietaryStandard, Raw, Professional50:1 implied (margin from 2% on EUR/USD, retail) (CFTC / NFA) · 30:1 (major forex pairs, retail; margin 3.33%) (FCA) · 1:30 (retail, per account comparison table on EU site) (KNF) · up to 20:1 (retail) (MAS) · 25x implied (individual FX margin at least 4% of transaction amount) (JFSA)
Open accountUnpaid link
Review

76.6% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (OANDA Europe Limited).

3IC MarketsASIC · CySEC · FSA Seychelles · SCBLicences and register check8.0/10$00.1 pipsRaw Spread (Global) · 19 Oct 2026MT4, MT5, cTrader, TradingView, proprietaryStandard, Raw, Islamic, Professional1:30 (ASIC) · 1:30 (retail, all account types) (CySEC) · 1:5000 (MetaTrader accounts), 1:1000 (cTrader); described as dynamic (FSA Seychelles) · 1:200 (SCB)
Open accountUnpaid link
Review

73.46% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (IC Markets (EU) Ltd).

4VantageFCA · ASIC · FSCA · CIMA · VFSC · FSC MauritiusLicences and register check7.9/10$500.0 pipsRAW ECN (inferred: unlabeled block) · 17 Feb 2026MT4, MT5, TradingView, proprietaryStandard, Raw, ECN, Islamic, Copy, Cent, Spread betting, Professional30:1 (major currency pairs, retail); lower for other instruments (FCA) · up to 30:1 (retail clients) (ASIC) · 100:1 to 500:1 (global help center, all account types; certain products fixed) (VFSC)
Open accountUnpaid link
Review

72.65% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (Vantage Global Prime LLP).

5IGFCA · FCA · FCA · BaFin · ASIC · FMA · FINMA · MAS · DFSA · JFSA · FSCA · BMA · CFTC/NFALicences and register check7.9/10£10.6 pipsUK spread bet/CFD · 19 Oct 2026MT4, MT5, TradingView, proprietary, API, ProRealTime, L2 DealerStandard, Spread betting, Professional1:30 (major FX, retail; margin 3.33% on EUR/USD, GBP/USD) (FCA) · 1:30 (major FX spread bets, retail; margin 3.33%) (FCA)
Open accountUnpaid link
Review

70% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (IG Markets Ltd / IG Index Ltd (UK)).

6FP MarketsASIC · CySEC · FSCA · FSA Seychelles7.9/10$500.0 pipsRaw (MT4, EU) · 19 Oct 2026MT4, MT5, cTrader, TradingView, proprietary, IressStandard, Raw, Professionalup to 1:30 (Standard/Raw, retail) (CySEC)
Open accountUnpaid link

74.51% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (First Prudential Markets Ltd).

7CMC MarketsFCA · FCA · BaFin · ASIC · FMA · MAS · CIRO · DFSA7.8/10£00.0 pipsFX Active · 19 Oct 2026MT4, TradingView, proprietaryStandard, Raw, Spread betting, Professional1:30 (major FX; margin from 3.34%) (FCA)
Open accountUnpaid link

69% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (CMC Markets UK plc).

8TickmillFCA · DFSA · CySEC · FSCA · FSA Seychelles7.7/10$1000.0 pipsRaw · 19 Oct 2026MT4, MT5, TradingView, proprietary, CQG, Trading TechnologiesStandard, Raw, Islamic, Professional1:30 (Raw and Classic, retail) (FCA) · 1:30 (retail, maximum and default); professional 1:500 (CySEC)
Open accountUnpaid link

68% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (Tickmill UK Ltd).

9Admirals (Admiral Markets)CySEC · FCA · FSA Seychelles · ASIC · FSCA7.7/10€1000.0 pipsZero.MT5 · 19 Oct 2026MT4, MT5, proprietaryStandard, Raw, Islamic, ProfessionalUp to 1:30 (Trade.MT5 / Zero.MT5, retail) (CySEC)
Open accountUnpaid link

74% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (Admirals Europe Ltd).

10ThinkMarketsFCA · CySEC · ASIC · ASIC · DFSA · FSCA · FSA Seychelles · CIMA · FMA · Unregulated7.6/10$10Not measuredMT4, MT5, TradingView, proprietaryStandard, Raw, Islamic, Demo, Spread betting, Professional30:1 (Standard, ThinkTrader, ThinkZero accounts, retail) (FCA, ASIC) · 30:1 (ThinkZero account, retail) (CySEC) · 500:1 (Standard, ThinkZero); 2500:1 (ThinkTrader account) (FSA Seychelles)
Open accountUnpaid link

75% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (TF Global Markets (UK) Limited).

All rankings

Spreads as each broker publishes them, latest check 19 Oct 2026. Minimum deposits are shown in the broker’s own currency and are not converted.

Highest score in our data

First on the overall score in October 2026

Pepperstone publishes Tier 1 licence numbers from 5 regulators and quotes EUR/USD from 0.0 pips on its Razor account (checked 19 Oct 2026). The trade-off: that price is on the Razor account, which charges a commission per lot on top; the Standard account has no commission and a wider spread.

The leader for your country can differ: rankings by country

Highest score · October 2026

Pepperstone

8.5/10

FCA · CySEC · BaFin · ASIC · DFSA · CMA (UAE) · CMA Kenya · SCB · est. 2010

73.6% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (Pepperstone Limited (UK)).

Each broker in one line

Who each broker suits and its main drawback, in ranking order.

  1. 1PepperstoneMT4, MT5, cTrader and TradingView under one brand; the lowest price needs the commission-based Razor account8.5/10
  2. 2OANDAa Tier 1 company in the US, UK, EU, Australia, Canada, Singapore or Japan; no cTrader8.0/10
  3. 3IC Marketsraw-spread trading in Australia or the EEA; no UK company, offshore onboarding elsewhere8.0/10
  4. 4VantageUK and Australian clients who want MT4, MT5 and TradingView; unverified warnings concern its Vanuatu company7.9/10
  5. 5IGUK spread betting and CFDs on seven platforms; no raw-spread account7.9/10
  6. 6FP Marketsthe widest platform choice, Iress included; no UK company7.9/10
  7. 7CMC MarketsUK and German clients who want no minimum deposit; MetaTrader 4 but no MT57.8/10
  8. 8Tickmillraw-account trading with FCA or CySEC protection; Seychelles company for everyone else7.7/10
  9. 9Admirals (Admiral Markets)standard-account EUR/USD pricing in the EU; residents of Belgium are not accepted7.7/10
  10. 10ThinkMarketsthe widest account range in our data; no EUR/USD spread published in pips7.6/10
  11. 11FxProfour third-party platforms with FCA and CySEC companies; minimum deposit not published7.5/10
  12. 12SaxoSaxo Bank accounts in Denmark, the UK, Switzerland, Singapore or Japan; no MetaTrader, and no longer in Australia7.4/10
  13. 13AvaTradeclients in Ireland, Australia or Japan; no UK company in our data7.3/10
  14. 14XMEEA residents via its CySEC company; elsewhere the XM brand runs on an offshore Belize company7.2/10
  15. 15XTBone in-house platform and no minimum deposit; no MetaTrader7.1/10
  16. 16FXCMEU and South African clients; its UK client book is being sold to Trade Nation6.3/10
  17. 17Plus500one proprietary app with licences in many countries; no published EUR/USD spread in pips6.2/10
  18. 18Interactive Brokersclients in the US, UK, EU, Canada, Singapore or Japan who want one in-house platform; no EUR/USD spread in pips6.1/10
  19. 19eToroits own app with FCA, CySEC, ASIC and MAS companies; its published loss rate names no company5.9/10
  20. 20Exnessnobody in the UK, the EEA, the US or Canada: retail accounts there are refused5.0/10

Scores by criterion

Each criterion scored 0–10. Darker means a higher score; an empty cell means not measured.

Scores by criterion
BrokerCostsPlatformsRegulationAccountsResearchSupport
Pepperstone8.29.59.07.0Not measuredNot measured
OANDA7.68.09.07.0Not measuredNot measured
IC Markets6.89.58.08.5Not measuredNot measured
Vantage7.68.08.08.0Not measuredNot measured
IG7.68.59.06.0Not measuredNot measured
FP Markets7.69.58.06.5Not measuredNot measured
CMC Markets8.06.59.07.0Not measuredNot measured
Tickmill7.68.07.58.0Not measuredNot measured
Admirals (Admiral Markets)8.06.58.08.0Not measuredNot measured
ThinkMarketsNot measured8.09.09.0Not measuredNot measured
FxPro7.29.58.05.0Not measuredNot measured
Saxo7.26.09.06.5Not measuredNot measured
AvaTrade6.48.08.07.0Not measuredNot measured
XM6.86.08.08.0Not measuredNot measured
XTB6.84.09.07.5Not measuredNot measured
FXCMNot measured7.07.06.5Not measuredNot measured
Plus500Not measured4.09.05.5Not measuredNot measured
Interactive BrokersNot measured4.09.05.0Not measuredNot measured
eToroNot measured4.09.04.0Not measuredNot measured
ExnessNot measured6.53.56.0Not measuredNot measured

Preliminary scores from published broker data. Research and support are not scored until live-account tests, and a broker with no published EUR/USD spread in pips has no costs score.

Places 6 and below

Lower on the same score. 6 brokers in our data publish no EUR/USD spread in pips, so their cost criterion counts as neutral in the total rather than as measured.

  • 6FP MarketsASIC · CySEC · FSCA · FSA Seychelles7.9/10
  • 7CMC MarketsFCA · FCA · BaFin · ASIC · FMA · MAS · CIRO · DFSA7.8/10
  • 8TickmillFCA · DFSA · CySEC · FSCA · FSA Seychelles7.7/10
  • 9Admirals (Admiral Markets)CySEC · FCA · FSA Seychelles · ASIC · FSCA7.7/10
  • 10ThinkMarketsFCA · CySEC · ASIC · ASIC · DFSA · FSCA · FSA Seychelles · CIMA · FMA · Unregulated7.6/10
  • 11FxProFCA · CySEC · FSCA · SCB7.5/10
  • 12SaxoDanish FSA · FCA · MAS · FINMA · JFSA7.4/10
  • 13AvaTradeCentral Bank of Ireland · ASIC · JFSA · ADGM FSRA · CySEC · FSCA · CMA Kenya · BVI FSC7.3/10
  • 14XMCySEC · DFSA · FSCA · FSC Belize · FSA Seychelles · FSC Mauritius · BVI FSC · CMA Kenya · SCA/CMA7.2/10
  • 15XTBKNF · FCA · CySEC · FSC Belize · DFSA · SCA · FSA Seychelles · CMF Chile · Bappebti7.1/10
  • 16FXCMFCA · CySEC · ASIC · FSCA · Unregulated · ISA · CIRO6.3/10
  • 17Plus500FCA · CySEC · Finantsinspektsioon · ASIC · FMA · FSCA · MAS · DFSA · SCA · JFSA · CIRO · FSA Seychelles · SCB · Israel (regulator not named)6.2/10
  • 18Interactive BrokersSEC / CFTC · FCA · DFSA · Central Bank of Ireland · ASIC · CIRO · MAS · JFSA · SFC Hong Kong6.1/10
  • 19eToroFCA · CySEC · ASIC · FSA Seychelles · FSRA · MAS · SEC / FINRA · FinCEN5.9/10
  • 20ExnessFSA Seychelles · CBCS · BVI FSC · FSC Belize · FSC Mauritius · FSCA · CMA Kenya · JSC · CySEC · FCA5.0/10
  • 20brokers in our dataSource: brokers’ own pages and regulator registers; scores are preliminary
  • 154group companies with their regulatorSource: brokers’ own pages and regulator registers; scores are preliminary
  • 6criteria in the rubric, 4 scored so farSource: brokers’ own pages and regulator registers; scores are preliminary
  • 19 Oct 2026latest data checkSource: brokers’ own pages and regulator registers; scores are preliminary

What this ranking is, and what it is not

A desk ranking from published data, with its gaps shown.

Who writes it

The Low Spread Brokers team writes and checks every page; brokers do not see pages before publication and do not edit them. All lists read from one broker file, so a spread or licence number is the same on every page.

How we earn

We have no affiliate or advertising agreements with brokers, and no click to a broker is paid. If that changes, the site will say so first; partner status is not an input to any score, whose formulas use spreads, platforms, licences and account terms only.

What we don’t do

No bonuses or sign-up offers. No offshore leverage presented as a feature. No claim that we tested an account we have not opened. No personal investment advice.

How regulation differs by country

A broker brand is not one company. It runs several licensed companies, and the country you live in decides which one opens your account, and with it your leverage, your protections and where you can complain. We show each company with the licence number the broker publishes, and we never present offshore leverage as a feature.

  1. Tier 1e.g. FCA, ASIC, CySEC, BaFin, MAS: retail leverage caps, negative balance protection, client money rules
  2. Tier 2e.g. FSCA, FMA, CMA Kenya: licensing and conduct rules, protections vary
  3. Offshoree.g. FSA Seychelles, SCB Bahamas: light supervision, usually no compensation scheme
  • One brand, several companies

    Pepperstone, for example, lists companies supervised by the FCA, CySEC, BaFin, ASIC and the DFSA, plus one in the Bahamas. Your country of residence, not the website you land on, decides which one you sign with.

  • A licence number you can check

    Every company has a number on its regulator’s public register: FCA FRN, ASIC AFSL, CySEC licence, FSCA FSP. We list the number the broker publishes; checking it on the register takes two minutes.

    Open the FCA Register
  • Retail protections depend on the company

    Leverage caps, negative balance protection and compensation schemes come from the regulator of your company, not from the brand.

  • Offshore companies are labelled

    IC Markets’ Seychelles company lists leverage up to 1:5000 on MetaTrader. We name such companies and their regulator, and their leverage never adds to a score.

Regulators by tier

Tier = our classification of how much a regulator protects retail clients. Country pages hold the local detail.

Regulators by tier
TierRegulatorWhat it protectsMax. retail leverage, major FXRegister
Tier 1FCA · United KingdomNegative balance protection, client money segregation, FSCS compensation, Financial Ombudsman Service1:30FCA Register
Tier 1ASIC · AustraliaNegative balance protection, client money rules, AFCA complaints1:30ASIC registers
Tier 1CySEC · European Union (ESMA rules)Negative balance protection, Investor Compensation Fund1:30CySEC register
Tier 1MAS · SingaporeCapital and conduct rules, retail leverage limits1:20MAS directory
Tier 2FSCA · South AfricaLicensing and conduct rules; protections vary by firmNot capped by ruleFSCA FSP search
OffshoreOffshore regulators · VariousRegistration with light supervision; usually no compensation schemeHigh: a risk, not a selling pointHow we check licences

What a Tier 1 regulator gives a retail trader

  • Leverage caps

    Up to 1:30 on major FX pairs, lower on riskier assets.

  • Negative balance protection

    You cannot lose more than the money in your account.

  • 50% margin close-out

    Under FCA, ESMA and ASIC rules, positions are closed once equity falls to half the margin they need.

  • Segregated client money

    Your money is held apart from the firm’s own.

  • A compensation scheme

    FSCS up to £85,000 in the UK; ICF up to €20,000 in Cyprus.

  • An ombudsman or complaints body

    Independent review after the firm’s own process.

Opting up to professional status removes these protections.

Leverage is capped when you open a position

Maximum retail leverage by Tier 1 regulator
UnderlyingFCA (UK)CySEC / ESMA (EU)ASIC (AU)
Major FX pairs1:301:301:30
Non-major FX pairs, gold, major equity indices1:201:201:20
Commodities other than gold, non-major equity indices1:101:101:10
Individual shares1:51:51:5
Cryptoasset CFDsBanned for retail1:21:2

Sources: FCA policy statement PS19/18; crypto derivatives ban PS20/10. ESMA product intervention measures, applied as national rules (CySEC). ASIC product intervention order.

No bonuses on this site

In the UK, every promotion to retail CFD clients must carry the standard risk warning with the provider’s own share of losing accounts (FCA PS19/18).

We show no bonuses anywhere, under any company.

Published loss rates at Tier 1 regulated brokers

Listed alphabetically · scale 0–100%

  • CMC Markets69%
  • FP Markets74.51%
  • FXCM67%
  • FxPro75%
  • IC Markets73.46%
  • IG74%

Source: each broker’s risk warning, latest check 19 Oct 2026.

What the disclosure rule actually shows

Every broker discloses that most retail accounts lose money. A lower figure is not a recommendation and a higher one is not a verdict on quality.

Compensation and complaints depend on the company

If a firm fails, a compensation scheme may cover you: the FSCS in the UK or the Investor Compensation Fund in Cyprus. Complaints go first to the broker, then to the body named for that company, such as the Financial Ombudsman Service (UK) or AFCA (Australia).

Something went wrong?

  1. 1Complain to the broker company that holds your account
  2. 2Escalate to the ombudsman or complaints body for that company
  3. 3Report concerns to the regulator

Spot a clone

Clone firms copy real broker names and licence numbers. Check the licence number on the regulator’s own register, the website address and the regulator’s warning list before you deposit.

Country rules from our reference file, not yet re-verified against each regulator; the regulator’s own text prevails.

Sources:FCA PS19/18FCA PS20/10FCA RegisterFSCS investments

UK leverage caps and FSCS cover

How to choose a forex broker in five questions

Start with the question that rules out the most brokers.

  1. 1

    Which regulator, and which company will hold your account?

    Find the company that accepts residents of your country and check its licence number on the regulator’s register. For a UK trader this step alone removes Exness, whose FCA company serves business clients only, and IC Markets, which has no UK company.

  2. 2

    What do you want to trade?

    Product range is set per company: crypto CFDs are banned for UK retail clients and capped at 1:2 in the EU and Australia.

  3. 3

    Which platform do you already know?

    MetaTrader 4 is the most common platform in our data, while cTrader is offered by only a few brokers; if you rely on one, filter by it first.

  4. 4

    How often will you trade?

    A standard account puts the whole cost in the spread. A raw account quotes from 0.0 pips plus a commission per lot: at $3.50 per side, that is 0.7 pips per round-turn lot on EUR/USD, so compare both totals on the pair you trade.

  5. 5

    Which rules apply where you live?

    Leverage caps, compensation and even product types depend on your country; the country pages list them with the regulator as the source.

Not sure which broker fits you?

Pick what matters most and go straight to the ranking built for it.

  • One question, no e-mail needed
  • Each list shows its rule and the date of its data
  • We ask for no contact details
What matters most to you?

We don’t ask for contact details.

Open this ranking

Beginner ranking: Tier 1 brokers by accounts and regulation

Open this ranking

Low-spread ranking: published EUR/USD spreads on raw accounts

Open this ranking

MT4 ranking: every broker that offers MT4

Open this ranking

Low-deposit ranking: USD 100 or less

Open this ranking

Copy-trading ranking, with its risks

Every ranking shows the company behind each broker and the loss rate that company publishes.

Methodology v1 · preliminary scores

How we score brokers

Scores come from published data, not from sponsorship and not yet from live-account tests.

  1. 1Collect companiesEach company in the group, its regulator, licence number and the countries it serves, from the broker’s pages and registers where they opened.
  2. 2Record costsEUR/USD spreads and commissions as the broker publishes them, with the date of each check.
  3. 3Score four criteriaCosts, platforms, regulation and accounts, each from a fixed formula on the methodology page.
  4. 4Leave the rest unscoredResearch and support wait for live-account tests; a missing cost figure counts as neutral in the total.
  5. 5Rank per pageEach list filters by one fact and sorts by one criterion, written under its heading.

Rubric weights (research and support not yet scored)

  • Costs · 25%
  • Regulation & safety · 25%
  • Platforms · 15%
  • Accounts & funding · 15%
  • Research & education · 10%
  • Support · 10%
  • 20brokers scored
  • 6criteria in the rubric
  • 19 Oct 2026latest data check

What does not affect a score

Partner status and advertising. We have no affiliate or advertising agreements with brokers.

Published spreads behind the scores

CheckedQuoteSpread
19 Oct 2026EUR/USD, Razor account, Pepperstone0.1 pips
19 Oct 2026EUR/USD, Spread-only (OANDA Europe Limited, UK) account, OANDA0.6 pips
19 Oct 2026EUR/USD, Raw Spread (Global) account, IC Markets0.1 pips

Methodology v1 · scores stay marked preliminary until live-account tests

Editorial policyRead the full methodology

Who is behind the scores

Who is behind the ratings

The ratings are written and checked by the Low Spread Brokers team, not by named individuals. Every figure in our broker data carries its source page and check date.

About us
  • Low Spread Brokers team

    Broker data, regulation, platforms and accounts

    Records each figure with the page it came from and the date of the check, and maps which company serves which country.

    About us

Broker data checked 19 Oct 2026Editorial policyHow we make money

Key pages on this site

Risk warning:

CFDs are complex instruments and come with a high risk of losing money rapidly due to leverage. Most retail investor accounts lose money. Consider whether you understand how CFDs work and whether you can afford the high risk of losing your money.

Low Spread Brokers does not give personal investment advice.

FAQ

Questions about the best forex brokers

Short answers from the same broker data and country rules as the rankings.

Ask a question

We cannot give personal investment advice.

1Who is the best forex broker?

There is no single answer for every country. On our preliminary score, first place goes to the broker with the highest weighted total across costs, platforms, regulation and accounts. A UK resident should use the UK ranking instead, because several brokers on this list have no FCA company that takes retail clients.

Broker data checked 19 Oct 2026

2How do you rate forex brokers?

Four criteria from published data: costs (lowest EUR/USD spread plus any commission, in pips), platforms, regulation (Tier 1 companies that take retail clients, negative balance protection, compensation schemes) and accounts (account types and minimum deposit). A sale of the client book or a regulator’s stop order takes a point off regulation.

Broker data checked 19 Oct 2026

3Why is the order different on the country pages?

A country page keeps only brokers whose company accepts residents of that country and sorts them by that page’s rule. FXCM, for example, is on this overall list but not on the UK one, because its UK client book is being sold to Trade Nation (announced 6 Oct 2026).

Broker data checked 19 Oct 2026

4Are the top brokers the ones that pay you most?

No broker pays us anything. We have no affiliate or advertising agreements, and the buttons lead to the brokers’ official websites. The order comes from the score formula and this page’s rule; partner status is not an input to either.

Broker data checked 19 Oct 2026

5Are all brokers on this list licensed?

Each has at least one licensed company, but not always one that takes retail clients from your country. Exness does not accept UK or EEA retail clients: its FCA and CySEC companies serve business clients only, and retail accounts are opened offshore or with its South African, Kenyan or Jordanian company.

Broker data checked 19 Oct 2026

6How current is the data?

The broker data was last checked on 19 Oct 2026. Spreads and loss rates change, so each figure shows its own check date; licence numbers are as the brokers publish them and are not yet matched on every register.

Broker data checked 19 Oct 2026

Who wrote and checked this page

  • Written and checked by

    Low Spread Brokers team

    Collects broker costs, account terms, entities and licence numbers from the brokers’ own pages and the regulators’ registers, records the date and source of every figure and compares each one with its source before a page is published.

    About us

Broker data checked 19 Oct 2026Editorial policyHow we rank

Narrow the ranking to your country

A country page keeps only the companies that accept your residents, with your regulator’s leverage caps and complaints route.

Rankings by country

CFDs are complex and carry a high risk of losing money rapidly.