Advertiser disclosure: we have no affiliate or advertising agreements with brokers, and no click to a broker is paid. If that changes, this notice changes first. How we make money

Rankings differ by countryPick your country

Ranked by a preliminary rating built from published data, checked 19 Oct 2026How we score

Menu

Ranking · United Kingdom

Best forex brokers in the UK

Only brokers whose FCA-authorised company opens accounts for UK residents, sorted by our regulation score. That rule leaves out IC Markets and AvaTrade (no UK company in our data), Exness and XM (no UK retail accounts) and FXCM, whose UK client book is being sold to Trade Nation.

  • 14brokers on this list
  • 37regulators behind their companies
  • 19 Oct 2026latest data check
  • 112group companies listed

Low Spread Brokers does not give personal investment advice.

For a UK resident the FCA company sets the rules: leverage up to 1:30 on major pairs, negative balance protection, a margin close-out at 50% and FSCS cover if the firm fails. Our regulation score then separates brokers by how many other Tier 1 regulators supervise the group, and ties go to the higher overall score. Read first: our methodologyhow we make moneyhow regulation differs by country

Quick answer

Which forex broker is best in the UK?

Start with brokers whose FCA-authorised company accepts UK residents: that company gives you 1:30 leverage on major pairs, negative balance protection and FSCS cover. 10 of the 14 brokers on this list share our top regulation score, so between them the order follows the overall score; compare their spread plus commission on the pairs you trade.

  1. Search the firm’s FRN on the FCA Register and compare the website address listed there with the one you are on.
  2. Check that your account is opened with the UK company named in the footer, not an offshore company of the same brand.
  3. Read the loss rate of the UK company, not the group: Pepperstone publishes 73.6% for its UK company and 88% for its Kenyan one.
  4. Professional status removes the 1:30 cap and negative balance protection; stay a retail client unless you meet the criteria and accept that.

Best forex brokers in the UK, FCA companies only

Ranked by this page’s rule from published data, not by commission. Advertiser disclosure

Why this order: only brokers whose FCA-authorised company accepts UK residents, sorted by our regulation score with ties broken by the overall score, because that company sets your leverage cap and FSCS cover. Ranked from our data on 14 brokers, updated 19 Oct 2026. How we rank

Ranked by regulation score · 19 Oct 2026

Every broker below has an FCA-authorised company that accepts UK residents.

How to check an FRN
Regulator tiers:Tier 1: e.g. FCA, ASIC, CySEC, BaFin, MASTier 2: e.g. FSCA, FMA, CMA KenyaOffshore: labelled; its leverage never adds to a score

Top pick

1

Pepperstone

Main entity: Pepperstone Limited · 8 entities in total

Which entity serves my country?

Protections depend on the entity

Minimum deposit
£10
EUR/USD spread from
0.0 pips (Razor, 19 Oct 2026)
Platforms
MT4, MT5, cTrader, TradingView, proprietary
Max retail leverage
Depends on entity: up to 1:30 (retail, per Pepperstone support FAQ) (FCA)
Funding methods
Debit card, Credit card, Apple Pay, Google Pay, Bank transfer

StandardRawSpread bettingProfessional5 of 8 licences checked on the register, 20 Oct 2026

Why #1FCA company Pepperstone Limited with FSCS cover for eligible clients, MT4, MT5, cTrader and TradingView, and spread betting as well as CFDs.

Visit brokerUnpaid link

73.6% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (Pepperstone Limited (UK)).

Read review
2

OANDA

Main entity: OANDA Europe Limited · 8 entities in total

Which entity serves my country?

Protections depend on the entity

Minimum deposit
$0
EUR/USD spread from
0.0 pips (Raw spreads + commission (OANDA Australia), 19 Oct 2026)
Platforms
MT4, MT5, TradingView, proprietary
Max retail leverage
Depends on entity: up to 50:1 implied (margin from 2% on EUR/USD, retail) (CFTC / NFA)up to 30:1 (major forex pairs, retail; margin 3.33%) (FCA)up to 1:30 (retail, per account comparison table on EU site) (KNF)up to up to 20:1 (retail) (MAS)up to 25x implied (individual FX margin at least 4% of transaction amount) (JFSA)
Funding methods
Debit card, Credit card, Bank transfer (Faster Payments, BACS, CHAPS, SWIFT, SEPA)

StandardRawProfessional4 of 8 licences checked on the register, 20 Oct 2026

Why #2OANDA Europe Limited is FCA-authorised with no minimum deposit on the UK standard account. Its UK site states FSCS cover of £50,000 for investment claims, below the £85,000 in our UK reference, so check it with the FSCS.

Visit brokerUnpaid link

76.6% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (OANDA Europe Limited).

Read review
3

IG

Main entity: IG Markets Ltd · 13 entities in total

Which entity serves my country?

Protections depend on the entity

Minimum deposit
£1
EUR/USD spread from
0.6 pips (UK spread bet/CFD, 19 Oct 2026)
Platforms
MT4, MT5, TradingView, proprietary, API, ProRealTime, L2 Dealer
Max retail leverage
Depends on entity: up to 1:30 (major FX, retail; margin 3.33% on EUR/USD, GBP/USD) (FCA)up to 1:30 (major FX spread bets, retail; margin 3.33%) (FCA)
Funding methods
Debit card, Credit card, Bank transfer

StandardSpread bettingProfessional7 of 13 licences checked on the register, 20 Oct 2026

Why #3three FCA companies covering CFDs and spread bets, seven platforms including ProRealTime and L2 Dealer; costs sit in the spread, with no raw account.

Visit brokerUnpaid link

70% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (IG Markets Ltd / IG Index Ltd (UK)).

Read review
Show ranks #4–#14
4

CMC Markets

Main entity: CMC Markets UK plc · 8 entities in total

Protections depend on the entity

Minimum deposit
£0
EUR/USD spread from
0.0 pips (FX Active, 19 Oct 2026)
Platforms
MT4, TradingView, proprietary
Max retail leverage
Depends on entity: up to 1:30 (major FX; margin from 3.34%) (FCA)
Funding methods
Debit card, Credit card, Open banking (TrueLayer), Bank transfer

StandardRawSpread bettingProfessional7 of 8 licences checked on the register, 20 Oct 2026

Why #4two FCA companies, spread betting, and no minimum deposit on UK accounts; a commission-based FX Active account sits next to the standard one.

7.8/10

Visit brokerUnpaid link

69% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (CMC Markets UK plc).

5

ThinkMarkets

Main entity: TF Global Markets (UK) Limited · 10 entities in total

Protections depend on the entity

Minimum deposit
$10
EUR/USD spread from
Not measured
Platforms
MT4, MT5, TradingView, proprietary
Max retail leverage
Depends on entity: up to 30:1 (Standard, ThinkTrader, ThinkZero accounts, retail) (FCA, ASIC)up to 30:1 (ThinkZero account, retail) (CySEC)up to 500:1 (Standard, ThinkZero); 2500:1 (ThinkTrader account) (FSA Seychelles)
Funding methods
Bank wire, Visa, Mastercard, Skrill, Neteller, Apple Pay, Google Pay, Crypto (global site only)

StandardRawIslamicDemoSpread bettingProfessional6 of 9 licences checked on the register, 20 Oct 2026

Why #5FCA-authorised since 2015 according to the FCA Register, with spread betting and a demo, but no EUR/USD spread published in pips, so its costs are not scored.

7.6/10

Visit brokerUnpaid link

75% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (TF Global Markets (UK) Limited).

6

Saxo

Main entity: Saxo Capital Markets UK Ltd · 5 entities in total

Which entity serves my country?

Protections depend on the entity

Minimum deposit
£0
EUR/USD spread from
0.7 pips (not stated, 19 Oct 2026)
Platforms
TradingView, proprietary, API
Max retail leverage
Depends on entity: up to 30:1 (FX majors, retail, ESMA; 3.33% initial margin) (Danish FSA)up to 30:1 (FX majors, retail; EUR/USD initial margin 3.33% stated, leverage ratio derived) (FCA)up to 1:66 (FX majors; EUR/USD initial margin 1.5% for Swiss residents) (FINMA)
Funding methods
Bank transfer, Debit card

StandardDemoProfessional2 of 5 licences checked on the register, 20 Oct 2026

Why #6Saxo Capital Markets UK publishes one of the lower UK loss rates in our data; its own platform and TradingView, no MetaTrader.

Visit brokerUnpaid link

61% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (Saxo Capital Markets UK Ltd).

Read review
7

XTB

Main entity: XTB Limited (UK) · 9 entities in total

Which entity serves my country?

Protections depend on the entity

Minimum deposit
$0
EUR/USD spread from
0.8 pips (Standard, 19 Oct 2026)
Platforms
proprietary
Max retail leverage
Depends on entity: up to 1:30 (retail); 1:100 'Klient Doświadczony'; 1:200 professional (KNF)up to 1:30 (FCA, CySEC)up to 1:500 (FSC Belize)
Funding methods
Debit/credit card, Bank transfer, PayPal, Skrill, Neteller, PayU

StandardIslamicProfessional4 of 9 licences checked on the register, 20 Oct 2026

Why #7FCA company with no minimum deposit and one in-house platform; no MetaTrader. XTB states FSCS cover up to £120,000, which differs from the £85,000 investment limit in our UK reference.

Visit brokerUnpaid link

74% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (XTB Limited (UK)).

Read review
8

Plus500

Main entity: Plus500UK Ltd · 14 entities in total

Protections depend on the entity

Minimum deposit
A$100
EUR/USD spread from
Not measured
Platforms
proprietary
Max retail leverage
Depends on entity: up to 1:30 (forex, retail; EUR/USD initial margin 3.33%) (FCA)up to 1:30 (forex, retail — per Plus500 forex page en-fr) (CySEC)
Funding methods
Debit/credit card (Visa, Mastercard only), PayPal, Skrill, Bank transfer

StandardProfessional7 of 14 licences checked on the register, 20 Oct 2026

Why #8FCA company with a 1:30 cap on major pairs, but one proprietary platform and no EUR/USD spread in pips; its own pages cite two FSCS limits, £85,000 and £120,000.

6.2/10

Visit brokerUnpaid link

76% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (Plus500UK Ltd).

9

Interactive Brokers

Main entity: Interactive Brokers (U.K.) Limited · 9 entities in total

Which entity serves my country?

Protections depend on the entity

Minimum deposit
$0
EUR/USD spread from
Not measured
Platforms
proprietary
Max retail leverage
Depends on entity: up to 1:30 (major FX CFDs, retail: ESMA-style minimum initial margin 3.33%; 5% other pairs) (FCA)up to Leverage limits per CBI CFD rules (Aug 2019) for retail; ESMA minimum margin 3.33% major FX (1:30) per CFD margin page (Central Bank of Ireland)
Funding methods
Bank wire, ACH (US), Direct ACH (US), Check (US), Online Bill Pay (US), Wise balance transfer, USDC stablecoin (USD)

Standard6 of 9 licences checked on the register, 20 Oct 2026

Why #9the UK company offers CFDs to retail clients, but accounts are cleared and carried by Interactive Brokers LLC in the US, so the FSCS applies only in limited circumstances.

Visit brokerUnpaid link

58.9% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (Interactive Brokers (U.K.) Limited).

Read review
10

eToro

Main entity: eToro (UK) Ltd · 8 entities in total

Which entity serves my country?

Protections depend on the entity

Minimum deposit
Not published
EUR/USD spread from
Not measured
Platforms
proprietary
Max retail leverage
Depends on entity: up to 1:30 (major FX, retail) — eToro Responsible Trading Policy, entity not specified on page (FCA, CySEC)
Funding methods
eToro Money, Debit/credit card, Bank transfer, PayPal, Neteller, Skrill, iDEAL, Trustly, Przelewy24

StandardProfessional5 of 8 licences checked on the register, 20 Oct 2026

Why #10FCA company with FSCS cover and its own app only; the loss rate it publishes does not name the company it belongs to.

Visit brokerUnpaid link

55% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (entity not named).

Read review
11

Vantage

Main entity: Vantage Global Prime LLP · 6 entities in total

Which entity serves my country?

Protections depend on the entity

Minimum deposit
$50
EUR/USD spread from
0.0 pips (RAW ECN (inferred: unlabeled block), 17 Feb 2026)
Platforms
MT4, MT5, TradingView, proprietary
Max retail leverage
Depends on entity: up to 30:1 (major currency pairs, retail); lower for other instruments (FCA)up to up to 30:1 (retail clients) (ASIC)up to 100:1 to 500:1 (global help center, all account types; certain products fixed) (VFSC)
Funding methods
Debit card, Credit card, Bank transfer, Skrill, Neteller, E-wallets, Alternative payment methods

StandardRawECNIslamicCopyCentSpread bettingProfessional2 of 6 licences checked on the register, 20 Oct 2026

Why #11Vantage Global Prime LLP is FCA-authorised and states insurance above the FSCS limit through Lloyd’s of London; third-party warnings concern its Vanuatu company, not the UK one.

Visit brokerUnpaid link

72.65% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (Vantage Global Prime LLP).

Read review
12

Admirals (Admiral Markets)

Main entity: Admiral Markets UK Ltd · 5 entities in total

Protections depend on the entity

Minimum deposit
€100
EUR/USD spread from
0.0 pips (Zero.MT5, 19 Oct 2026)
Platforms
MT4, MT5, proprietary
Max retail leverage
Depends on entity: up to Up to 1:30 (Trade.MT5 / Zero.MT5, retail) (CySEC)
Funding methods
Bank transfer, Visa/Mastercard, Klarna, Skrill, Brite

StandardRawIslamicProfessional3 of 5 licences checked on the register, 20 Oct 2026

Why #12Admiral Markets UK Ltd is FCA-authorised, but the pages we used state no UK leverage cap or negative balance protection detail.

7.7/10

Visit brokerUnpaid link

74% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (Admirals Europe Ltd).

13

FxPro

Main entity: FxPro UK Limited · 4 entities in total

Protections depend on the entity

Minimum deposit
Not published
EUR/USD spread from
0.0 pips (Raw+ / Elite (MT4/MT5), 19 Oct 2026)
Platforms
MT4, MT5, cTrader, TradingView, proprietary
Max retail leverage
Depends on entity: up to 1:30 (retail, FCA/CySEC) (FCA)up to 1:30 (retail) (CySEC)up to up to 1:200 (SCB) (SCB)
Funding methods
Bank wire, Visa, Skrill, Neteller, PayPal, Crypto (not available to FxPro UK retail clients)

StandardRawProfessional2 of 4 licences checked on the register, 20 Oct 2026

Why #13FCA company with MT4, MT5, cTrader and TradingView; no minimum deposit published.

7.5/10

Visit brokerUnpaid link

75% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (FxPro Financial Services Ltd).

14

Tickmill

Main entity: Tickmill UK Ltd · 5 entities in total

Protections depend on the entity

Minimum deposit
$100
EUR/USD spread from
0.0 pips (Raw, 19 Oct 2026)
Platforms
MT4, MT5, TradingView, proprietary, CQG, Trading Technologies
Max retail leverage
Depends on entity: up to 1:30 (Raw and Classic, retail) (FCA)up to 1:30 (retail, maximum and default); professional 1:500 (CySEC)
Funding methods
Bank transfer, Debit/credit card (Visa, Mastercard), Skrill, Neteller, Przelewy24, PayPal, Trustly

StandardRawIslamicProfessional4 of 5 licences checked on the register, 20 Oct 2026

Why #14Tickmill UK has a raw account with commission and TradingView; its page states FSCS cover up to £120,000 per client, above the £85,000 investment limit in our UK reference.

7.7/10

Visit brokerUnpaid link

68% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (Tickmill UK Ltd).

UK brokers in one line each

Who each broker suits and its main drawback for a UK resident, in the order of the list.

  1. 1PepperstoneMT4, MT5, cTrader or TradingView under an FCA company; the lowest price needs the Razor account with commission8.5/10
  2. 2OANDAno minimum deposit; stated FSCS cover lower than the scheme limit in our reference8.0/10
  3. 3IGspread betting and CFDs on seven platforms; no raw-spread account7.9/10
  4. 4CMC Marketsspread betting with no minimum deposit; MetaTrader 4 but no MT57.8/10
  5. 5ThinkMarketsthe widest account range, spread betting included; no published EUR/USD spread in pips7.6/10
  6. 6Saxoone of the lower published UK loss rates; no MetaTrader7.4/10
  7. 7XTBno minimum deposit and one simple platform; no MetaTrader7.1/10
  8. 8Plus500a single app for CFDs; no published EUR/USD spread in pips6.2/10
  9. 9Interactive BrokersCFDs from a UK company with one in-house platform; accounts carried by the US company6.1/10
  10. 10eToroits own app; loss rate not tied to a named company5.9/10
  11. 11Vantagespread betting plus MT4, MT5 and TradingView; offshore company outside the UK and Australia7.9/10
  12. 12Admirals (Admiral Markets)MT4 and MT5 with low standard spreads; UK protections not stated on the pages we used7.7/10
  13. 13FxProcTrader and MetaTrader under an FCA company; minimum deposit not published7.5/10
  14. 14Tickmillraw-account trading with commission; minimum deposit set in USD7.7/10

At a glance · United Kingdom

UK forex broker comparison

What the table shows

Published minimum deposit, the lowest published EUR/USD spread with its account and check date, platforms, account types and retail leverage by company, from each broker’s own pages.

How to use this table

Sort by score, spread or minimum deposit. Deposits stay in the broker’s own currency, so compare them only within one currency.

Sort:
UK forex broker comparison
RankBrokerScoreMin. depositEUR/USD spread fromPlatformsAccount typesMax. leverage, retailActions
1PepperstoneFCA · CySEC · BaFin · ASIC · DFSA · CMA (UAE) · CMA Kenya · SCBLicences and register check8.5/10£100.0 pipsRazor · 19 Oct 2026MT4, MT5, cTrader, TradingView, proprietaryStandard, Raw, Spread betting, Professional1:30 (retail, per Pepperstone support FAQ) (FCA)
Open accountUnpaid link
Review

73.6% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (Pepperstone Limited (UK)).

2OANDACFTC / NFA · FCA · KNF · ASIC · CIRO · MAS · JFSA · BVI FSCLicences and register check8.0/10$00.0 pipsRaw spreads + commission (OANDA Australia) · 19 Oct 2026MT4, MT5, TradingView, proprietaryStandard, Raw, Professional50:1 implied (margin from 2% on EUR/USD, retail) (CFTC / NFA) · 30:1 (major forex pairs, retail; margin 3.33%) (FCA) · 1:30 (retail, per account comparison table on EU site) (KNF) · up to 20:1 (retail) (MAS) · 25x implied (individual FX margin at least 4% of transaction amount) (JFSA)
Open accountUnpaid link
Review

76.6% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (OANDA Europe Limited).

3IGFCA · FCA · FCA · BaFin · ASIC · FMA · FINMA · MAS · DFSA · JFSA · FSCA · BMA · CFTC/NFALicences and register check7.9/10£10.6 pipsUK spread bet/CFD · 19 Oct 2026MT4, MT5, TradingView, proprietary, API, ProRealTime, L2 DealerStandard, Spread betting, Professional1:30 (major FX, retail; margin 3.33% on EUR/USD, GBP/USD) (FCA) · 1:30 (major FX spread bets, retail; margin 3.33%) (FCA)
Open accountUnpaid link
Review

70% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (IG Markets Ltd / IG Index Ltd (UK)).

4CMC MarketsFCA · FCA · BaFin · ASIC · FMA · MAS · CIRO · DFSA7.8/10£00.0 pipsFX Active · 19 Oct 2026MT4, TradingView, proprietaryStandard, Raw, Spread betting, Professional1:30 (major FX; margin from 3.34%) (FCA)
Open accountUnpaid link

69% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (CMC Markets UK plc).

5ThinkMarketsFCA · CySEC · ASIC · ASIC · DFSA · FSCA · FSA Seychelles · CIMA · FMA · Unregulated7.6/10$10Not measuredMT4, MT5, TradingView, proprietaryStandard, Raw, Islamic, Demo, Spread betting, Professional30:1 (Standard, ThinkTrader, ThinkZero accounts, retail) (FCA, ASIC) · 30:1 (ThinkZero account, retail) (CySEC) · 500:1 (Standard, ThinkZero); 2500:1 (ThinkTrader account) (FSA Seychelles)
Open accountUnpaid link

75% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (TF Global Markets (UK) Limited).

6SaxoDanish FSA · FCA · MAS · FINMA · JFSALicences and register check7.4/10£00.7 pipsnot stated · 19 Oct 2026TradingView, proprietary, APIStandard, Demo, Professional30:1 (FX majors, retail, ESMA; 3.33% initial margin) (Danish FSA) · 30:1 (FX majors, retail; EUR/USD initial margin 3.33% stated, leverage ratio derived) (FCA) · 1:66 (FX majors; EUR/USD initial margin 1.5% for Swiss residents) (FINMA)
Open accountUnpaid link
Review

61% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (Saxo Capital Markets UK Ltd).

7XTBKNF · FCA · CySEC · FSC Belize · DFSA · SCA · FSA Seychelles · CMF Chile · BappebtiLicences and register check7.1/10$00.8 pipsStandard · 19 Oct 2026proprietaryStandard, Islamic, Professional1:30 (retail); 1:100 'Klient Doświadczony'; 1:200 professional (KNF) · 1:30 (FCA, CySEC) · 1:500 (FSC Belize)
Open accountUnpaid link
Review

74% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (XTB Limited (UK)).

8Plus500FCA · CySEC · Finantsinspektsioon · ASIC · FMA · FSCA · MAS · DFSA · SCA · JFSA · CIRO · FSA Seychelles · SCB · Israel (regulator not named)6.2/10A$100Not measuredproprietaryStandard, Professional1:30 (forex, retail; EUR/USD initial margin 3.33%) (FCA) · 1:30 (forex, retail — per Plus500 forex page en-fr) (CySEC)
Open accountUnpaid link

76% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (Plus500UK Ltd).

9Interactive BrokersSEC / CFTC · FCA · DFSA · Central Bank of Ireland · ASIC · CIRO · MAS · JFSA · SFC Hong KongLicences and register check6.1/10$0Not measuredproprietaryStandard1:30 (major FX CFDs, retail: ESMA-style minimum initial margin 3.33%; 5% other pairs) (FCA) · Leverage limits per CBI CFD rules (Aug 2019) for retail; ESMA minimum margin 3.33% major FX (1:30) per CFD margin page (Central Bank of Ireland)
Open accountUnpaid link
Review

58.9% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (Interactive Brokers (U.K.) Limited).

10eToroFCA · CySEC · ASIC · FSA Seychelles · FSRA · MAS · SEC / FINRA · FinCENLicences and register check5.9/10Not publishedNot measuredproprietaryStandard, Professional1:30 (major FX, retail) — eToro Responsible Trading Policy, entity not specified on page (FCA, CySEC)
Open accountUnpaid link
Review

55% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (entity not named).

All rankings

Spreads as each broker publishes them, latest check 19 Oct 2026. Minimum deposits are shown in the broker’s own currency and are not converted.

Is forex trading regulated in the United Kingdom?

Who supervises brokers for residents, what protections apply and where to complain — from our country reference.

Not yet verified against primary sources

Regulator

Negative balance protection
Yes
Compensation scheme
Financial Services Compensation Scheme (FSCS) · £85,000 per person per firm (investments)

Rules to know

  • Retail CFD and spread betting rules: FCA PS19/18 (leverage caps, 50% margin close-out, negative balance protection, a standard risk warning with the provider's loss percentage).
  • Crypto derivatives are banned for retail clients under FCA PS20/10.

Sourceswww.fca.org.ukwww.fca.org.ukwww.fscs.org.ukregister.fca.org.uk

Retail leverage caps United Kingdom

The most leverage an FCA-authorised firm may give a retail client when you open a position (FCA PS19/18).

  1. FX majors1:30
  2. FX non-majors, gold, major indices1:20
  3. Commodities (ex gold), non-major indices1:10
  4. Individual equities1:5
  5. Cryptoassetsbanned (crypto derivatives may not be sold to retail clients)

Source: country reference; see the sources list on this page.

How regulation differs by country

A broker brand is not one company. It runs several licensed companies, and the country you live in decides which one opens your account, and with it your leverage, your protections and where you can complain. We show each company with the licence number the broker publishes, and we never present offshore leverage as a feature.

  1. Tier 1e.g. FCA, ASIC, CySEC, BaFin, MAS: retail leverage caps, negative balance protection, client money rules
  2. Tier 2e.g. FSCA, FMA, CMA Kenya: licensing and conduct rules, protections vary
  3. Offshoree.g. FSA Seychelles, SCB Bahamas: light supervision, usually no compensation scheme
  • One brand, several companies

    Pepperstone, for example, lists companies supervised by the FCA, CySEC, BaFin, ASIC and the DFSA, plus one in the Bahamas. Your country of residence, not the website you land on, decides which one you sign with.

  • A licence number you can check

    Every company has a number on its regulator’s public register: FCA FRN, ASIC AFSL, CySEC licence, FSCA FSP. We list the number the broker publishes; checking it on the register takes two minutes.

    Open the FCA Register
  • Retail protections depend on the company

    Leverage caps, negative balance protection and compensation schemes come from the regulator of your company, not from the brand.

  • Offshore companies are labelled

    IC Markets’ Seychelles company lists leverage up to 1:5000 on MetaTrader. We name such companies and their regulator, and their leverage never adds to a score.

Regulators by tier

Tier = our classification of how much a regulator protects retail clients. Country pages hold the local detail.

Regulators by tier
TierRegulatorWhat it protectsMax. retail leverage, major FXRegister
Tier 1FCA · United KingdomNegative balance protection, client money segregation, FSCS compensation, Financial Ombudsman Service1:30FCA Register
Tier 1ASIC · AustraliaNegative balance protection, client money rules, AFCA complaints1:30ASIC registers
Tier 1CySEC · European Union (ESMA rules)Negative balance protection, Investor Compensation Fund1:30CySEC register
Tier 1MAS · SingaporeCapital and conduct rules, retail leverage limits1:20MAS directory
Tier 2FSCA · South AfricaLicensing and conduct rules; protections vary by firmNot capped by ruleFSCA FSP search
OffshoreOffshore regulators · VariousRegistration with light supervision; usually no compensation schemeHigh: a risk, not a selling pointHow we check licences

What a Tier 1 regulator gives a retail trader

  • Leverage caps

    Up to 1:30 on major FX pairs, lower on riskier assets.

  • Negative balance protection

    You cannot lose more than the money in your account.

  • 50% margin close-out

    Under FCA, ESMA and ASIC rules, positions are closed once equity falls to half the margin they need.

  • Segregated client money

    Your money is held apart from the firm’s own.

  • A compensation scheme

    FSCS up to £85,000 in the UK; ICF up to €20,000 in Cyprus.

  • An ombudsman or complaints body

    Independent review after the firm’s own process.

Opting up to professional status removes these protections.

Leverage is capped when you open a position

Maximum retail leverage by Tier 1 regulator
UnderlyingFCA (UK)CySEC / ESMA (EU)ASIC (AU)
Major FX pairs1:301:301:30
Non-major FX pairs, gold, major equity indices1:201:201:20
Commodities other than gold, non-major equity indices1:101:101:10
Individual shares1:51:51:5
Cryptoasset CFDsBanned for retail1:21:2

Sources: FCA policy statement PS19/18; crypto derivatives ban PS20/10. ESMA product intervention measures, applied as national rules (CySEC). ASIC product intervention order.

No bonuses on this site

In the UK, every promotion to retail CFD clients must carry the standard risk warning with the provider’s own share of losing accounts (FCA PS19/18).

We show no bonuses anywhere, under any company.

Published loss rates at Tier 1 regulated brokers

Listed alphabetically · scale 0–100%

  • CMC Markets69%
  • FxPro75%
  • IG74%
  • Interactive Brokers58.9%
  • OANDA76.6%
  • Pepperstone74.1%

Source: each broker’s risk warning, latest check 19 Oct 2026.

What the disclosure rule actually shows

Every broker discloses that most retail accounts lose money. A lower figure is not a recommendation and a higher one is not a verdict on quality.

Compensation and complaints depend on the company

If a firm fails, a compensation scheme may cover you: the FSCS in the UK or the Investor Compensation Fund in Cyprus. Complaints go first to the broker, then to the body named for that company, such as the Financial Ombudsman Service (UK) or AFCA (Australia).

Something went wrong?

  1. 1Complain to the broker company that holds your account
  2. 2Escalate to the ombudsman or complaints body for that company
  3. 3Report concerns to the regulator

Spot a clone

Clone firms copy real broker names and licence numbers. Check the licence number on the regulator’s own register, the website address and the regulator’s warning list before you deposit.

Country rules from our reference file, not yet re-verified against each regulator; the regulator’s own text prevails.

Sources:FCA PS19/18FCA PS20/10FCA RegisterFSCS investments

UK leverage caps and FSCS cover

Check an FCA firm in two minutes

The FRNs on this page are as the brokers publish them; we have not yet matched each one on the register.

  1. 1Find the firm reference number (FRN) in the footer of the broker’s UK website.
  2. 2Search the FRN or firm name on the FCA Register yourself, not through a link the broker sent you.
  3. 3Match the firm name, website address and permissions on the register to the company named in your client agreement.
  4. 4Look the name up on the FCA’s ScamSmart pages for warnings about clones using it.

Where to check

Spot a clone firm

A clone uses a real firm’s name and FRN with a different website, e-mail or phone number. If the contact details differ from the FCA Register, do not deposit.

Highest overall score on this list

First among UK-authorised brokers on overall score in October 2026

Pepperstone publishes Tier 1 licence numbers from 5 regulators and quotes EUR/USD from 0.0 pips on its Razor account (checked 19 Oct 2026). The trade-off: that price is on the Razor account, which adds GBP 2.25 per lot per side on UK accounts; the Standard account has no commission and a wider spread.

Not in the UK? rankings for other countries

Highest score · October 2026

Pepperstone

8.5/10

FCA · CySEC · BaFin · ASIC · DFSA · CMA (UAE) · CMA Kenya · SCB · est. 2010

73.6% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (Pepperstone Limited (UK)).

Scores by criterion

Each criterion scored 0–10. Darker means a higher score; an empty cell means not measured.

Scores by criterion
BrokerCostsPlatformsRegulationAccountsResearchSupport
Pepperstone8.29.59.07.0Not measuredNot measured
OANDA7.68.09.07.0Not measuredNot measured
IG7.68.59.06.0Not measuredNot measured
CMC Markets8.06.59.07.0Not measuredNot measured
ThinkMarketsNot measured8.09.09.0Not measuredNot measured
Saxo7.26.09.06.5Not measuredNot measured
XTB6.84.09.07.5Not measuredNot measured
Plus500Not measured4.09.05.5Not measuredNot measured
Interactive BrokersNot measured4.09.05.0Not measuredNot measured
eToroNot measured4.09.04.0Not measuredNot measured
Vantage7.68.08.08.0Not measuredNot measured
Admirals (Admiral Markets)8.06.58.08.0Not measuredNot measured
FxPro7.29.58.05.0Not measuredNot measured
Tickmill7.68.07.58.0Not measuredNot measured

Preliminary scores from published broker data. Research and support are not scored until live-account tests, and a broker with no published EUR/USD spread in pips has no costs score.

Other UK-authorised brokers

Places 6 onwards: each has an FCA company that accepts UK residents but scored lower on regulation or, at equal regulation, on the overall score.

  • 6SaxoDanish FSA · FCA · MAS · FINMA · JFSA7.4/10
  • 7XTBKNF · FCA · CySEC · FSC Belize · DFSA · SCA · FSA Seychelles · CMF Chile · Bappebti7.1/10
  • 8Plus500FCA · CySEC · Finantsinspektsioon · ASIC · FMA · FSCA · MAS · DFSA · SCA · JFSA · CIRO · FSA Seychelles · SCB · Israel (regulator not named)6.2/10
  • 9Interactive BrokersSEC / CFTC · FCA · DFSA · Central Bank of Ireland · ASIC · CIRO · MAS · JFSA · SFC Hong Kong6.1/10
  • 10eToroFCA · CySEC · ASIC · FSA Seychelles · FSRA · MAS · SEC / FINRA · FinCEN5.9/10
  • 11VantageFCA · ASIC · FSCA · CIMA · VFSC · FSC Mauritius7.9/10
  • 12Admirals (Admiral Markets)CySEC · FCA · FSA Seychelles · ASIC · FSCA7.7/10
  • 13FxProFCA · CySEC · FSCA · SCB7.5/10
  • 14TickmillFCA · DFSA · CySEC · FSCA · FSA Seychelles7.7/10

Methodology v1 · preliminary scores

How we score brokers

Scores come from published data, not from sponsorship and not yet from live-account tests.

  1. 1Collect companiesEach company in the group, its regulator, licence number and the countries it serves, from the broker’s pages and registers where they opened.
  2. 2Record costsEUR/USD spreads and commissions as the broker publishes them, with the date of each check.
  3. 3Score four criteriaCosts, platforms, regulation and accounts, each from a fixed formula on the methodology page.
  4. 4Leave the rest unscoredResearch and support wait for live-account tests; a missing cost figure counts as neutral in the total.
  5. 5Rank per pageEach list filters by one fact and sorts by one criterion, written under its heading.

Rubric weights (research and support not yet scored)

  • Costs · 25%
  • Regulation & safety · 25%
  • Platforms · 15%
  • Accounts & funding · 15%
  • Research & education · 10%
  • Support · 10%
  • 14brokers scored
  • 6criteria in the rubric
  • 19 Oct 2026latest data check

What does not affect a score

Partner status and advertising. We have no affiliate or advertising agreements with brokers.

Published spreads behind the scores

CheckedQuoteSpread
19 Oct 2026EUR/USD, Razor account, Pepperstone0.1 pips
19 Oct 2026EUR/USD, Spread-only (OANDA Europe Limited, UK) account, OANDA0.6 pips
19 Oct 2026EUR/USD, UK spread bet/CFD account, IG0.6 pips

Methodology v1 · scores stay marked preliminary until live-account tests

Editorial policyRead the full methodology

What this ranking is, and what it is not

A desk ranking from published data, with its gaps shown.

Who writes it

The Low Spread Brokers team writes and checks every page; brokers do not see pages before publication and do not edit them. All lists read from one broker file, so a spread or licence number is the same on every page.

How we earn

We have no affiliate or advertising agreements with brokers, and no click to a broker is paid. If that changes, the site will say so first; partner status is not an input to any score, whose formulas use spreads, platforms, licences and account terms only.

What we don’t do

No bonuses or sign-up offers. No offshore leverage presented as a feature. No claim that we tested an account we have not opened. No personal investment advice.

Risk warning:

CFDs are complex instruments and come with a high risk of losing money rapidly due to leverage. Most retail investor accounts lose money. Consider whether you understand how CFDs work and whether you can afford the high risk of losing your money.

Low Spread Brokers does not give personal investment advice.

Key pages on this site

FAQ

UK forex brokers: questions

Short answers from the same broker data and country rules as the rankings.

Ask a question

We cannot give personal investment advice.

1How do I check that a broker is FCA-authorised?

Search the firm’s name or FRN on the FCA Register and compare the website and phone number listed there with the ones you were given. A page saying “FCA regulated” proves nothing on its own, because clone firms copy real FRNs.

Broker data checked 19 Oct 2026

2What does FSCS protection cover for traders?

If an FCA-authorised firm fails and cannot return your money or assets, the FSCS may pay up to £85,000 per person per firm on eligible investment claims, according to our UK reference. It never covers trading losses. Brokers state other figures, from £50,000 (OANDA) to £120,000 (Tickmill, XTB), so check your firm with the FSCS investment protection checker.

Broker data checked 19 Oct 2026

3What leverage can UK retail traders use?

Under FCA PS19/18: 1:30 on major currency pairs, 1:20 on other pairs, gold and major indices, 1:10 on other commodities and indices, and 1:5 on individual shares. Crypto derivatives may not be sold to UK retail clients at all (PS20/10).

Broker data checked 19 Oct 2026

4Is forex trading legal in the UK?

Yes, through firms the FCA authorises to offer CFDs or spread bets to UK residents. Complaints about an authorised firm go first to the firm and then to the Financial Ombudsman Service; an offshore company of the same brand gives you neither the FOS nor the FSCS.

Broker data checked 19 Oct 2026

5Can UK residents open an account with IC Markets or Exness?

Not with UK protections. IC Markets has no FCA company in our data, and Exness refuses UK retail clients because its FCA company serves business clients only.

Broker data checked 19 Oct 2026

6Which UK brokers offer spread betting?

In our data, CMC Markets, IG, Pepperstone, ThinkMarkets and Vantage list a spread betting account through an FCA company that accepts UK residents. FXCM also lists one, but its UK client book is being sold to Trade Nation.

Broker data checked 19 Oct 2026

7Is there a list of all registered forex brokers in the UK?

The FCA Register is the full list of authorised firms. This page covers the 14 brokers in our data that have an FCA company accepting UK residents, with the FRN each one publishes.

Broker data checked 19 Oct 2026

Sources

Primary sources for the UK rules on this page. Our UK reference is not yet re-verified against them; their text prevails.

  1. FCA PS19/18: restrictions on CFDs for retail clientsChecked on 20 Oct 2026
  2. FCA PS20/10: ban on crypto derivatives for retail clientsChecked on 20 Oct 2026
  3. FSCS: what we cover, investmentsChecked on 20 Oct 2026
  4. FCA RegisterChecked on 20 Oct 2026
  5. Financial Ombudsman ServiceChecked on 20 Oct 2026

Who wrote and checked this page

  • Written and checked by

    Low Spread Brokers team

    Collects broker costs, account terms, entities and licence numbers from the brokers’ own pages and the regulators’ registers, records the date and source of every figure and compares each one with its source before a page is published.

    About us

Broker data checked 19 Oct 2026Editorial policyHow we rank

Check the FRN, then compare costs

The comparison table puts minimum deposit, EUR/USD spread and platforms for each UK-authorised broker side by side.

Open the comparison table

CFDs are complex and carry a high risk of losing money rapidly.