Advertiser disclosure: we have no affiliate or advertising agreements with brokers, and no click to a broker is paid. If that changes, this notice changes first. How we make money

Rankings differ by countryPick your country

Ranked by a preliminary rating built from published data, checked 19 Oct 2026How we score

Menu

Ranking · MT5 brokers

Best MetaTrader 5 (MT5) brokers

13 of the 20 brokers in our data offer MetaTrader 5, and 12 of them run a Tier 1 entity that accepts retail clients. Only those 12 are ranked, by overall preliminary score: MT5 is the same MetaQuotes software at every broker, so the company holding your account and what it charges decide more than the terminal.

  • 12brokers on this list
  • 28regulators behind their entities
  • 19 Oct 2026broker data collected
  • 84licensed entities listed

Low Spread Brokers does not give personal investment advice.

For traders opening an MT5 account, whether new to MetaTrader or moving from MT4. Exness offers MT5 but is not ranked: its FCA and CySEC companies serve business clients only, so retail accounts go to offshore or regional entities. Read first: how we rankhow we make moneyeditorial policy

Quick answer

Which broker is best for MetaTrader 5?

The broker in first place has the highest overall preliminary score among MT5 brokers with a Tier 1 entity open to retail clients. The score combines costs, platforms, regulation and accounts from published terms. We have not tested MT5 execution on live accounts, so read each card’s entity and costs before the number.

  1. Check that the entity for your country offers MT5, not only the brand’s global site.
  2. Admirals publishes leverage up to 1:30 for retail clients on its Trade.MT5 and Zero.MT5 accounts (CySEC entity).
  3. IC Markets charges $3.50 per lot per side on Raw Spread MetaTrader accounts (published terms, 19 Oct 2026).

Looking for a different list?

Every ranking on this site uses its own filter. Pick the need that comes first for you.

  • One question, no e-mail needed
  • Each ranking prints its filter and sort rule
  • No contact details collected
What matters most to you?

We don’t ask for contact details.

Open this ranking

MT4 ranking: brokers that offer MT4, by platform range

Open this ranking

MT5 ranking: Tier 1 entities only, by overall score

Open this ranking

Trading apps: brokers with their own app

Open this ranking

Copy trading: brokers with a copy account

Open this ranking

Demo accounts: Tier 1 brokers with a published demo

Open this ranking

Low-spread ranking: published EUR/USD spreads

Each ranking shows the entity that would hold your account and the broker’s published risk warning.

MetaTrader 5 brokers with a Tier 1 entity, ranked

Ranked by this page’s rule, not by commission. Advertiser disclosure

Why this order: only brokers that offer MetaTrader 5 and have at least one Tier 1 entity open to retail clients, sorted by overall preliminary score from published data. Ranked from our data on 12 brokers, updated 19 Oct 2026. How we rank

Ranked by this page’s rule · 19 Oct 2026

Your country decides which entity opens your account, and with it your leverage and protections.

Rankings by country
Regulator tiers:Tier 1: FCA, ASIC, CySEC/ESMA, FINMA, MASTier 2: e.g. FSCA, DFSAOffshore: labelled, never counted as a benefit

First on this rule

1

Pepperstone

Main entity: Pepperstone Limited · 8 entities in total

Which entity serves my country?

Protections depend on the entity

Minimum deposit
£10
EUR/USD spread from
0.0 pips (Razor, 19 Oct 2026)
Platforms
MT4, MT5, cTrader, TradingView, proprietary
Max retail leverage
Depends on entity: up to 1:30 (retail, per Pepperstone support FAQ) (FCA)
Funding methods
Debit card, Credit card, Apple Pay, Google Pay, Bank transfer

StandardRawSpread bettingProfessional5 of 8 licences checked on the register, 20 Oct 2026

Why #1overall preliminary score 8.5; Tier 1 regulators for retail clients: FCA, CySEC, BaFin, ASIC, DFSA; its UAE CMA licence covers introduction only; for those clients the product issuer is the offshore Bahamas entity.

Visit brokerUnpaid link

73.6% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (Pepperstone Limited (UK)).

Read review
2

OANDA

Main entity: OANDA Corporation · 8 entities in total

Which entity serves my country?

Protections depend on the entity

Minimum deposit
$0
EUR/USD spread from
0.0 pips (Raw spreads + commission (OANDA Australia), 19 Oct 2026)
Platforms
MT4, MT5, TradingView, proprietary
Max retail leverage
Depends on entity: up to 50:1 implied (margin from 2% on EUR/USD, retail) (CFTC / NFA)up to 30:1 (major forex pairs, retail; margin 3.33%) (FCA)up to 1:30 (retail, per account comparison table on EU site) (KNF)up to up to 20:1 (retail) (MAS)up to 25x implied (individual FX margin at least 4% of transaction amount) (JFSA)
Funding methods
Debit card, Credit card, Bank transfer (Faster Payments, BACS, CHAPS, SWIFT, SEPA)

StandardRawProfessional4 of 8 licences checked on the register, 20 Oct 2026

Why #2overall preliminary score 8.0; Tier 1 regulators for retail clients: CFTC / NFA, FCA, KNF, ASIC, CIRO, MAS, JFSA; OANDA Asia Pacific states no negative balance protection, and the Canadian entity does not accept Alberta residents.

Visit brokerUnpaid link

76.6% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (OANDA Europe Limited).

Read review
3

IC Markets

Main entity: International Capital Markets Pty Ltd · 4 entities in total

Which entity serves my country?

Protections depend on the entity

Minimum deposit
$0
EUR/USD spread from
0.1 pips (Raw Spread (Global), 19 Oct 2026)
Platforms
MT4, MT5, cTrader, TradingView, proprietary
Max retail leverage
Depends on entity: up to 1:30 (ASIC)up to 1:30 (retail, all account types) (CySEC)up to 1:5000 (MetaTrader accounts), 1:1000 (cTrader); described as dynamic (FSA Seychelles)up to 1:200 (SCB)
Funding methods
Credit/debit card, Bank transfer, PayPal, Skrill, Neteller, UnionPay, BPAY, FasaPay, POLi

StandardRawIslamicProfessional3 of 4 licences checked on the register, 20 Oct 2026

Why #3overall preliminary score 8.0; Tier 1 regulators for retail clients: ASIC, CySEC; no UK entity; outside the EEA and Australia most clients are onboarded offshore.

Visit brokerUnpaid link

73.46% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (IC Markets (EU) Ltd).

Read review
Show ranks #4–#12
4

FP Markets

Main entity: First Prudential Markets Pty Ltd · 4 entities in total

Protections depend on the entity

Minimum deposit
$50
EUR/USD spread from
0.0 pips (Raw (MT4, EU), 19 Oct 2026)
Platforms
MT4, MT5, cTrader, TradingView, proprietary, Iress
Max retail leverage
Depends on entity: up to up to 1:30 (Standard/Raw, retail) (CySEC)
Funding methods
Bank transfer, Debit/credit card (via Nuvei), Neteller, Skrill, PayPal

StandardRawProfessional3 of 4 licences checked on the register, 20 Oct 2026

Why #4overall preliminary score 7.9; Tier 1 regulators for retail clients: ASIC, CySEC; no FCA entity in our data.

7.9/10

Visit brokerUnpaid link

74.51% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (First Prudential Markets Ltd).

5

IG

Main entity: IG Markets Ltd · 13 entities in total

Which entity serves my country?

Protections depend on the entity

Minimum deposit
£1
EUR/USD spread from
0.6 pips (UK spread bet/CFD, 19 Oct 2026)
Platforms
MT4, MT5, TradingView, proprietary, API, ProRealTime, L2 Dealer
Max retail leverage
Depends on entity: up to 1:30 (major FX, retail; margin 3.33% on EUR/USD, GBP/USD) (FCA)up to 1:30 (major FX spread bets, retail; margin 3.33%) (FCA)
Funding methods
Debit card, Credit card, Bank transfer

StandardSpread bettingProfessional7 of 13 licences checked on the register, 20 Oct 2026

Why #5overall preliminary score 7.9; Tier 1 regulators for retail clients: FCA, BaFin, ASIC, FINMA, MAS, DFSA, JFSA, CFTC/NFA; licence numbers not published for several non-UK entities, including FINMA, MAS and DFSA.

Visit brokerUnpaid link

70% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (IG Markets Ltd / IG Index Ltd (UK)).

Read review
6

Vantage

Main entity: Vantage Global Prime LLP · 6 entities in total

Which entity serves my country?

Protections depend on the entity

Minimum deposit
$50
EUR/USD spread from
0.0 pips (RAW ECN (inferred: unlabeled block), 17 Feb 2026)
Platforms
MT4, MT5, TradingView, proprietary
Max retail leverage
Depends on entity: up to 30:1 (major currency pairs, retail); lower for other instruments (FCA)up to up to 30:1 (retail clients) (ASIC)up to 100:1 to 500:1 (global help center, all account types; certain products fixed) (VFSC)
Funding methods
Debit card, Credit card, Bank transfer, Skrill, Neteller, E-wallets, Alternative payment methods

StandardRawECNIslamicCopyCentSpread bettingProfessional2 of 6 licences checked on the register, 20 Oct 2026

Why #6overall preliminary score 7.9; Tier 1 regulators for retail clients: FCA, ASIC; third-party reports about its offshore VFSC entity are not yet verified with the regulator.

Visit brokerUnpaid link

72.65% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (Vantage Global Prime LLP).

Read review
7

Admirals (Admiral Markets)

Main entity: Admirals Europe Ltd (previously Admiral Markets Cyprus Ltd) · 5 entities in total

Protections depend on the entity

Minimum deposit
€100
EUR/USD spread from
0.0 pips (Zero.MT5, 19 Oct 2026)
Platforms
MT4, MT5, proprietary
Max retail leverage
Depends on entity: up to Up to 1:30 (Trade.MT5 / Zero.MT5, retail) (CySEC)
Funding methods
Bank transfer, Visa/Mastercard, Klarna, Skrill, Brite

StandardRawIslamicProfessional3 of 5 licences checked on the register, 20 Oct 2026

Why #7overall preliminary score 7.7; Tier 1 regulators for retail clients: CySEC, FCA; leverage up to 1:30 for retail clients on Trade.MT5 and Zero.MT5 at the CySEC entity.

7.7/10

Visit brokerUnpaid link

74% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (Admirals Europe Ltd).

8

Tickmill

Main entity: Tickmill UK Ltd · 5 entities in total

Protections depend on the entity

Minimum deposit
$100
EUR/USD spread from
0.0 pips (Raw, 19 Oct 2026)
Platforms
MT4, MT5, TradingView, proprietary, CQG, Trading Technologies
Max retail leverage
Depends on entity: up to 1:30 (Raw and Classic, retail) (FCA)up to 1:30 (retail, maximum and default); professional 1:500 (CySEC)
Funding methods
Bank transfer, Debit/credit card (Visa, Mastercard), Skrill, Neteller, Przelewy24, PayPal, Trustly

StandardRawIslamicProfessional4 of 5 licences checked on the register, 20 Oct 2026

Why #8overall preliminary score 7.7; Tier 1 regulators for retail clients: FCA, CySEC; retail loss rates of 68% at Tickmill UK and 74% at Tickmill Europe.

7.7/10

Visit brokerUnpaid link

68% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (Tickmill UK Ltd).

9

ThinkMarkets

Main entity: TF Global Markets (UK) Limited · 10 entities in total

Protections depend on the entity

Minimum deposit
$10
EUR/USD spread from
Not measured
Platforms
MT4, MT5, TradingView, proprietary
Max retail leverage
Depends on entity: up to 30:1 (Standard, ThinkTrader, ThinkZero accounts, retail) (FCA, ASIC)up to 30:1 (ThinkZero account, retail) (CySEC)up to 500:1 (Standard, ThinkZero); 2500:1 (ThinkTrader account) (FSA Seychelles)
Funding methods
Bank wire, Visa, Mastercard, Skrill, Neteller, Apple Pay, Google Pay, Crypto (global site only)

StandardRawIslamicDemoSpread bettingProfessional6 of 9 licences checked on the register, 20 Oct 2026

Why #9overall preliminary score 7.6; Tier 1 regulators for retail clients: FCA, CySEC, ASIC, DFSA; the EU site is not directed at residents of France and Belgium.

7.6/10

Visit brokerUnpaid link

75% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (TF Global Markets (UK) Limited).

10

FxPro

Main entity: FxPro UK Limited · 4 entities in total

Protections depend on the entity

Minimum deposit
Not published
EUR/USD spread from
0.0 pips (Raw+ / Elite (MT4/MT5), 19 Oct 2026)
Platforms
MT4, MT5, cTrader, TradingView, proprietary
Max retail leverage
Depends on entity: up to 1:30 (retail, FCA/CySEC) (FCA)up to 1:30 (retail) (CySEC)up to up to 1:200 (SCB) (SCB)
Funding methods
Bank wire, Visa, Skrill, Neteller, PayPal, Crypto (not available to FxPro UK retail clients)

StandardRawProfessional2 of 4 licences checked on the register, 20 Oct 2026

Why #10overall preliminary score 7.5; Tier 1 regulators for retail clients: FCA, CySEC; minimum deposit not published as a single amount.

7.5/10

Visit brokerUnpaid link

75% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (FxPro Financial Services Ltd).

11

AvaTrade

Main entity: AVA Trade EU Ltd · 8 entities in total

Protections depend on the entity

Minimum deposit
$100
EUR/USD spread from
0.9 pips (Retail (fixed/variable not stated), 19 Oct 2026)
Platforms
MT4, MT5, TradingView, proprietary
Max retail leverage
Depends on entity:
Funding methods
Credit/debit card, Wire transfer, Skrill (not EU/AU), Neteller (not EU/AU), PayPal (some countries)

StandardIslamicCopyProfessional3 of 8 licences checked on the register, 20 Oct 2026

Why #11overall preliminary score 7.3; Tier 1 regulators for retail clients: Central Bank of Ireland, ASIC, JFSA, CySEC; retail loss rate not shown: its pages give conflicting figures.

7.3/10

Visit brokerUnpaid link

CFDs are complex instruments and come with a high risk of losing money rapidly due to leverage. Most retail investor accounts lose money. Consider whether you understand how CFDs work and whether you can afford the high risk of losing your money.

12

XM

Main entity: Trading Point of Financial Instruments Ltd · 9 entities in total

Protections depend on the entity

Minimum deposit
$5
EUR/USD spread from
0.0 pips (Zero (EU), 19 Oct 2026)
Platforms
MT4, MT5, TradingView
Max retail leverage
Depends on entity: up to 30:1 (shown on Ultra Low and Zero account cards, EU site) (CySEC)
Funding methods
Bank wire transfer, Skrill, Neteller, Przelewy24

RawIslamicDemoCent3 of 9 licences checked on the register, 20 Oct 2026

Why #12overall preliminary score 7.2; Tier 1 regulators for retail clients: CySEC, DFSA; its Tier 1 entities are CySEC for the EEA and DFSA in Dubai; most other clients land at the Belize entity.

7.2/10

Visit brokerUnpaid link

76.15% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (Trading Point of Financial Instruments Ltd).

The list in one line each

Who each broker suits on an MT5 account, in the order of the list.

  1. 1PepperstoneMT5 with five Tier 1 regulators across the UK, EU, Germany, Australia and Dubai8.5/10
  2. 2OANDAMT5 for residents of the US, UK, EU, Australia, Canada, Singapore or Japan8.0/10
  3. 3IC MarketsMT5 on raw pricing for EEA and Australian clients8.0/10
  4. 4FP MarketsMT5 with a published average EUR/USD spread on Raw (EU entity)7.9/10
  5. 5IGUK traders who want MT5 and spread betting with one group7.9/10
  6. 6VantageUK and Australian residents who want MT5 with copy trading available7.9/10
  7. 7Admirals (Admiral Markets)EU clients who want MT5-specific accounts (Trade.MT5, Zero.MT5)7.7/10
  8. 8TickmillMT5 Raw accounts from a $100 minimum7.7/10
  9. 9ThinkMarketsMT5 users who want swap-free and spread betting accounts at one broker7.6/10
  10. 10FxProMT5 and cTrader under an FCA or CySEC entity7.5/10
  11. 11AvaTradeEU clients of the Central Bank of Ireland entity7.3/10
  12. 12XMEEA residents who want MT5 from a $5 minimum7.2/10

Scores by criterion

Each criterion is scored 0–10 from the brokers’ published terms. Research and support are empty for every broker: we have not scored them, so they count in no rating.

Scores by criterion
BrokerCostsPlatformsRegulationAccountsResearchSupport
Pepperstone8.29.59.07.0Not measuredNot measured
OANDA7.68.09.07.0Not measuredNot measured
IC Markets6.89.58.08.5Not measuredNot measured
FP Markets7.69.58.06.5Not measuredNot measured
IG7.68.59.06.0Not measuredNot measured
Vantage7.68.08.08.0Not measuredNot measured
Admirals (Admiral Markets)8.06.58.08.0Not measuredNot measured
Tickmill7.68.07.58.0Not measuredNot measured
ThinkMarketsNot measured8.09.09.0Not measuredNot measured
FxPro7.29.58.05.0Not measuredNot measured
AvaTrade6.48.08.07.0Not measuredNot measured
XM6.86.08.08.0Not measuredNot measured

Preliminary scores from broker data collected 19 Oct 2026. No live accounts were opened.

At a glance · MT5

MT5 broker comparison table

What the table shows

Licence numbers as each broker publishes them, which entity serves which country, and spreads with their date and source page.

How to use this table

Sort by score, spread or minimum deposit. Deposits stay in each broker’s own currency and are not converted.

Sort:
MT5 broker comparison table
RankBrokerScoreMin. depositEUR/USD spread fromPlatformsAccount typesMax. leverage, retailActions
1PepperstoneFCA · CySEC · BaFin · ASIC · DFSA · CMA (UAE) · CMA Kenya · SCBLicences and register check8.5/10£100.0 pipsRazor · 19 Oct 2026MT4, MT5, cTrader, TradingView, proprietaryStandard, Raw, Spread betting, Professional1:30 (retail, per Pepperstone support FAQ) (FCA)
Open accountUnpaid link
Review

73.6% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (Pepperstone Limited (UK)).

2OANDACFTC / NFA · FCA · KNF · ASIC · CIRO · MAS · JFSA · BVI FSCLicences and register check8.0/10$00.0 pipsRaw spreads + commission (OANDA Australia) · 19 Oct 2026MT4, MT5, TradingView, proprietaryStandard, Raw, Professional50:1 implied (margin from 2% on EUR/USD, retail) (CFTC / NFA) · 30:1 (major forex pairs, retail; margin 3.33%) (FCA) · 1:30 (retail, per account comparison table on EU site) (KNF) · up to 20:1 (retail) (MAS) · 25x implied (individual FX margin at least 4% of transaction amount) (JFSA)
Open accountUnpaid link
Review

76.6% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (OANDA Europe Limited).

3IC MarketsASIC · CySEC · FSA Seychelles · SCBLicences and register check8.0/10$00.1 pipsRaw Spread (Global) · 19 Oct 2026MT4, MT5, cTrader, TradingView, proprietaryStandard, Raw, Islamic, Professional1:30 (ASIC) · 1:30 (retail, all account types) (CySEC) · 1:5000 (MetaTrader accounts), 1:1000 (cTrader); described as dynamic (FSA Seychelles) · 1:200 (SCB)
Open accountUnpaid link
Review

73.46% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (IC Markets (EU) Ltd).

4FP MarketsASIC · CySEC · FSCA · FSA Seychelles7.9/10$500.0 pipsRaw (MT4, EU) · 19 Oct 2026MT4, MT5, cTrader, TradingView, proprietary, IressStandard, Raw, Professionalup to 1:30 (Standard/Raw, retail) (CySEC)
Open accountUnpaid link

74.51% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (First Prudential Markets Ltd).

5IGFCA · FCA · FCA · BaFin · ASIC · FMA · FINMA · MAS · DFSA · JFSA · FSCA · BMA · CFTC/NFALicences and register check7.9/10£10.6 pipsUK spread bet/CFD · 19 Oct 2026MT4, MT5, TradingView, proprietary, API, ProRealTime, L2 DealerStandard, Spread betting, Professional1:30 (major FX, retail; margin 3.33% on EUR/USD, GBP/USD) (FCA) · 1:30 (major FX spread bets, retail; margin 3.33%) (FCA)
Open accountUnpaid link
Review

70% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (IG Markets Ltd / IG Index Ltd (UK)).

6VantageFCA · ASIC · FSCA · CIMA · VFSC · FSC MauritiusLicences and register check7.9/10$500.0 pipsRAW ECN (inferred: unlabeled block) · 17 Feb 2026MT4, MT5, TradingView, proprietaryStandard, Raw, ECN, Islamic, Copy, Cent, Spread betting, Professional30:1 (major currency pairs, retail); lower for other instruments (FCA) · up to 30:1 (retail clients) (ASIC) · 100:1 to 500:1 (global help center, all account types; certain products fixed) (VFSC)
Open accountUnpaid link
Review

72.65% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (Vantage Global Prime LLP).

7Admirals (Admiral Markets)CySEC · FCA · FSA Seychelles · ASIC · FSCA7.7/10€1000.0 pipsZero.MT5 · 19 Oct 2026MT4, MT5, proprietaryStandard, Raw, Islamic, ProfessionalUp to 1:30 (Trade.MT5 / Zero.MT5, retail) (CySEC)
Open accountUnpaid link

74% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (Admirals Europe Ltd).

8TickmillFCA · DFSA · CySEC · FSCA · FSA Seychelles7.7/10$1000.0 pipsRaw · 19 Oct 2026MT4, MT5, TradingView, proprietary, CQG, Trading TechnologiesStandard, Raw, Islamic, Professional1:30 (Raw and Classic, retail) (FCA) · 1:30 (retail, maximum and default); professional 1:500 (CySEC)
Open accountUnpaid link

68% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (Tickmill UK Ltd).

9ThinkMarketsFCA · CySEC · ASIC · ASIC · DFSA · FSCA · FSA Seychelles · CIMA · FMA · Unregulated7.6/10$10Not measuredMT4, MT5, TradingView, proprietaryStandard, Raw, Islamic, Demo, Spread betting, Professional30:1 (Standard, ThinkTrader, ThinkZero accounts, retail) (FCA, ASIC) · 30:1 (ThinkZero account, retail) (CySEC) · 500:1 (Standard, ThinkZero); 2500:1 (ThinkTrader account) (FSA Seychelles)
Open accountUnpaid link

75% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (TF Global Markets (UK) Limited).

10FxProFCA · CySEC · FSCA · SCB7.5/10Not published0.0 pipsRaw+ / Elite (MT4/MT5) · 19 Oct 2026MT4, MT5, cTrader, TradingView, proprietaryStandard, Raw, Professional1:30 (retail, FCA/CySEC) (FCA) · 1:30 (retail) (CySEC) · up to 1:200 (SCB) (SCB)
Open accountUnpaid link

75% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (FxPro Financial Services Ltd).

11AvaTradeCentral Bank of Ireland · ASIC · JFSA · ADGM FSRA · CySEC · FSCA · CMA Kenya · BVI FSC7.3/10$1000.9 pipsRetail (fixed/variable not stated) · 19 Oct 2026MT4, MT5, TradingView, proprietaryStandard, Islamic, Copy, Professional
Open accountUnpaid link

CFDs are complex instruments and come with a high risk of losing money rapidly due to leverage. Most retail investor accounts lose money. Consider whether you understand how CFDs work and whether you can afford the high risk of losing your money.

12XMCySEC · DFSA · FSCA · FSC Belize · FSA Seychelles · FSC Mauritius · BVI FSC · CMA Kenya · SCA/CMA7.2/10$50.0 pipsZero (EU) · 19 Oct 2026MT4, MT5, TradingViewRaw, Islamic, Demo, Cent30:1 (shown on Ultra Low and Zero account cards, EU site) (CySEC)
Open accountUnpaid link

76.15% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (Trading Point of Financial Instruments Ltd).

All rankings

Spreads as published by each broker, latest check 19 Oct 2026. Minimum deposits are shown in each broker’s own currency and are not converted.

Closer look

One broker from this list, October 2026

OANDA has entities licensed by 7 Tier 1 regulators and offers MT5 next to MT4 and TradingView. The trade-off: OANDA Asia Pacific’s customer agreement states there is no negative balance protection, and the Canadian entity does not accept Alberta residents.

Which of its entities you get depends on where you live: rankings by country

Closer look · October 2026

OANDA

8.0/10

CFTC / NFA · FCA · KNF · ASIC · CIRO · MAS · JFSA · BVI FSC · est. 1996

Visit OANDAUnpaid link

76.6% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (OANDA Europe Limited).

Lower on this rule, and not on this list

Ranks 6 onwards offer MT5 through a Tier 1 entity but score lower overall.

  • 6VantageFCA · ASIC · FSCA · CIMA · VFSC · FSC Mauritius7.9/10
  • 7Admirals (Admiral Markets)CySEC · FCA · FSA Seychelles · ASIC · FSCA7.7/10
  • 8TickmillFCA · DFSA · CySEC · FSCA · FSA Seychelles7.7/10
  • 9ThinkMarketsFCA · CySEC · ASIC · ASIC · DFSA · FSCA · FSA Seychelles · CIMA · FMA · Unregulated7.6/10
  • 10FxProFCA · CySEC · FSCA · SCB7.5/10
  • 11AvaTradeCentral Bank of Ireland · ASIC · JFSA · ADGM FSRA · CySEC · FSCA · CMA Kenya · BVI FSC7.3/10
  • 12XMCySEC · DFSA · FSCA · FSC Belize · FSA Seychelles · FSC Mauritius · BVI FSC · CMA Kenya · SCA/CMA7.2/10

Choosing an MT5 broker: four checks

An MT5 login looks the same at every broker; these checks show what differs.

  1. 1

    Does your MT5 account come from a Tier 1 entity?

    Not always, even on this list. XM has a CySEC entity for the EEA, but most other clients land at XM Global in Belize, with leverage up to 1:1000; the group’s FCA and ASIC licences belong to its sister brand Trading.com.

  2. 2

    MT5 or cTrader?

    Both run automated strategies: MT5 from MetaQuotes, cTrader from Spotware. 4 brokers here offer both (FP Markets, FxPro, IC Markets and Pepperstone), so you can test each on one account before committing.

  3. 3

    What will an MT5 trade cost?

    Compare spread and commission together. FP Markets publishes an average EUR/USD spread of 1.29 pips on Standard and 0.19 pips on Raw, plus $3 per lot per side in commission on Raw (EU entity, MT4 table dated October 2026).

  4. 4

    Which MT5 brokers serve the UK?

    Admirals (Admiral Markets), FxPro, IG, OANDA, Pepperstone, ThinkMarkets, Tickmill and Vantage have an FCA entity for UK residents in our data; AvaTrade, FP Markets, IC Markets and XM do not.

Methodology v1 · preliminary

How we rate brokers

Every rating here comes from documents the brokers publish, collected on 19 Oct 2026. We have not opened live accounts, so each score is marked preliminary.

  1. 1Collect published termsSpreads, commissions, minimum deposits, platforms and account types, each saved with its source page and date.
  2. 2List every entityEach licensed company of a brand, with the licence number the broker publishes. Matching those numbers on the regulators’ registers is still to do.
  3. 3Score four criteriaCosts, platforms, regulation and accounts, 0–10 each. Research and support stay unscored until we test them.
  4. 4Apply this page’s ruleA filter by published fact, then a sort by one criterion. The rule is printed above the ranking.
  5. 5Show what changes a recommendationClient-book sales, regulator orders and offshore-only onboarding are written on the broker’s card.

Criteria weights

  • Costs · 25%
  • Regulation & safety · 25%
  • Platforms · 15%
  • Accounts & funding · 15%
  • Research & education · 10%
  • Support · 10%
  • 12brokers on this page
  • 28regulators behind their entities
  • 19 Oct 2026latest data check

What does not affect a score

Partner status and advertising. We have no affiliate or advertising agreements with brokers.

Latest data entries

DateEntryResult
19 Oct 2026EUR/USD spread, Razor account, Pepperstone0.1 pips
19 Oct 2026EUR/USD spread, Spread-only (OANDA Europe Limited, UK) account, OANDA0.6 pips
19 Oct 2026EUR/USD spread, Raw Spread (Global) account, IC Markets0.1 pips

Data collected 19 Oct 2026 · 83 of 152 licences checked on regulators’ registers

Editorial policyRead the full methodology

What this ranking is, and what it is not

A desk comparison of published terms; no broker pays us.

Who writes it

Each ranking is written and checked by the Low Spread Brokers team; the date the broker data was collected (19 Oct 2026) is printed at the foot of the page.

How we earn

At the moment we earn nothing from brokers: there are no affiliate or advertising agreements, and the buttons lead to the brokers’ official websites. Partner status is not an input to any score.

What we don’t do

No bonuses or sign-up offers, no offshore leverage presented as a benefit, no personal investment advice, and no claims of live-account tests we have not run.

Risk warning:

CFDs are complex instruments and come with a high risk of losing money rapidly due to leverage. Most retail investor accounts lose money. Consider whether you understand how CFDs work and whether you can afford the high risk of losing your money.

Low Spread Brokers does not give personal investment advice.

Other rankings on this site

FAQ

MT5 broker questions

Questions traders search for about MetaTrader 5 brokers, answered from our broker data (collected 19 Oct 2026).

Ask us a question

Low Spread Brokers does not give personal investment advice.

1What is the difference between MT4 and MT5?

Both come from MetaQuotes, but they run different programming languages: MQL4 on MT4 and MQL5 on MT5, so expert advisors do not move between them without rewriting. MT5 also supports netting as well as hedging accounts. For a new account with no MT4 tools to keep, MT5 is the simpler choice.

Answers checked against broker data collected 19 Oct 2026

2Is MetaTrader 5 a broker?

No. MetaTrader 5 is software. Your money and open positions sit with the broker’s licensed entity, which is why this list filters by entity and not by platform.

Answers checked against broker data collected 19 Oct 2026

3Which MT5 brokers accept UK clients?

Admirals (Admiral Markets), FxPro, IG, OANDA, Pepperstone, ThinkMarkets, Tickmill and Vantage offer MT5 and have an FCA entity for UK residents in our data. Check the firm name and licence number on the FCA register before you deposit.

Answers checked against broker data collected 19 Oct 2026

4Can I open an MT5 demo account?

On this list, the pages we collected mention a demo account for ThinkMarkets and XM. Other brokers here may also offer one; their source pages did not say so, and we do not list what we have not seen.

Answers checked against broker data collected 19 Oct 2026

5Why is Exness not on this list?

Exness offers MT5, but its FCA and CySEC companies serve business clients only. Retail accounts are opened with offshore or regional entities, and residents of the UK, the EEA, the US and Canada are not accepted, so it fails the Tier 1 filter.

Answers checked against broker data collected 19 Oct 2026

6Does every MT5 broker offer the same markets?

No, and the list depends on the entity as well as the brand. CMC Markets, for example, offers no MT5 at all and limits its MT4 account to FX, indices and commodities. Check the contract specifications of the entity that would hold your account.

Answers checked against broker data collected 19 Oct 2026

Who wrote and checked this page

  • Written and checked by

    Low Spread Brokers team

    Collected the broker terms used on this page from the brokers’ own websites and checks each entity, figure and date against the source pages recorded in our broker data.

    About us

Broker data collected 19 Oct 2026Editorial policyHow we rank

Check the entity before you open an account

Broker data collected 19 Oct 2026. Licence numbers are shown as each broker publishes them; confirm them on the regulator’s register.

Back to the ranking

CFDs are complex and carry a high risk of losing money rapidly.