Broker review
Saxo review: Saxo UK, Saxo Bank and other companies
Saxo lists 5 companies in our data: Saxo Bank A/S in Denmark, Saxo Capital Markets UK Ltd and companies in Switzerland, Singapore and Japan. UK Classic accounts have no minimum deposit; EUR/USD from 0.7 pips on the UK site. Saxo no longer serves Australia under its own name.
Low Spread Brokers does not give personal investment advice.
Verdict at a glance
Saxo
7.4/10
Entities 5
- Tier 1Danish FSA1149
- Tier 1FCA551422
- Tier 1MASNot published
- Tier 1FINMANot published
- Tier 1JFSA関東財務局長(金商)第239号
- Minimum deposit
- £0
- EUR/USD spread from
- 0.7 pips (not stated, 19 Oct 2026)
- Max retail leverage
- 30:1 (FX majors, retail, ESMA; 3.33% initial margin) (Danish FSA) · 30:1 (FX majors, retail; EUR/USD initial margin 3.33% stated, leverage ratio derived) (FCA) · 1:66 (FX majors; EUR/USD initial margin 1.5% for Swiss residents) (FINMA)
- Platforms
- TradingView, proprietary, API
- Founded
- 1992
61% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (Saxo Capital Markets UK Ltd).
Saxo’s preliminary rating is 7.4/10: regulation 9.0/10, costs 7.2/10, accounts 6.5/10 and platforms 6.0/10. Platforms score lower because Saxo offers its own platform, TradingView and an API, but no MetaTrader. Figures come from Saxo’s pages, checked 19 Oct 2026; we have not opened a live account. Read first: how we rankhow we make moneyeditorial policy
Quick answer
Is Saxo a good broker for UK traders?
UK clients sign up with Saxo Capital Markets UK Ltd, FCA licence 551422 as Saxo publishes it, with a 30:1 cap on major pairs and negative balance protection. 61% of its retail accounts lose money, one of the lower rates published by the brokers we review. The trade-offs: no MetaTrader, and a wide gap between the UK and Swiss EUR/USD minimums (0.7 pips against 2.3 pips).
- Saxo states FSCS cover of £120,000 for cash deposits and £85,000 for protected investment business, and says the two limits do not overlap.
- Saxo Bank A/S is a Danish bank; its EU, Czech and UAE clients are served through its branches.
- Saxo no longer serves Australia under its own brand: Saxo Capital Markets (Australia) is now Totality Wealth Limited (AFSL 280372) and home.saxo/en-au redirects to totality.com.au.
- Saxo has decided to discontinue its operations in Hong Kong.
Saxo pros and cons
Pros
- Published loss rates of 61% (UK), 66% (Denmark) and 67% (Switzerland)
- Bank companies in Denmark and Switzerland; FCA, MAS and JFSA companies elsewhere
- No minimum deposit on UK Classic accounts (£0)
- TradingView and an API besides Saxo’s own platform
Cons
- No MT4, MT5 or cTrader
- Swiss EUR/USD minimum of 2.3 pips against 0.7 pips on the UK site
- Two funding methods in our data: bank transfer and debit card
- No longer serves Australia under the Saxo name and is discontinuing Hong Kong
Entities and regulation
Saxo lists 5 companies in our data. The one that opens your account sets your leverage cap, negative balance protection and compensation scheme. Licence numbers are as the broker publishes them; check each on its regulator’s register.
| Entity | Regulator | Licence | Max. retail leverage | Negative balance protection | Compensation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Saxo Bank A/S | Tier 1 Danish FSA | 1149As published by the broker | 30:1 (FX majors, retail, ESMA; 3.33% initial margin) | Yes | Danish Guarantee Fund (Garantiformuen): cash deposits up to EUR 100,000; securities up to EUR 20,000 per investor if not returnable |
| Saxo Capital Markets UK Ltd | Tier 1 FCA | 551422Checked on the register, 20 Oct 2026 | 30:1 (FX majors, retail; EUR/USD initial margin 3.33% stated, leverage ratio derived) | Yes | FSCS: cash deposits up to £120,000 per person per firm; protected investment business up to £85,000 per person per firm (limits do not overlap) |
| Saxo Capital Markets Pte Ltd | Tier 1 MAS | Not publishedCompany checked on the register, 20 Oct 2026; the register does not list the number | Not published | Not published | Not published |
| Saxo Bank (Schweiz) AG | Tier 1 FINMA | Not publishedAs published by the broker | 1:66 (FX majors; EUR/USD initial margin 1.5% for Swiss residents) | Not published | Not published |
| Saxo Bank Securities Ltd. (サクソバンク証券株式会社) | Tier 1 JFSA | 関東財務局長(金商)第239号As published by the broker | Not published | No | Member of Japan Investor Protection Fund (日本投資者保護基金); amount not stated |
Which entity will I get?
Pick your region to see which company our data says would hold your account.
Saxo Capital Markets UK Ltd · FCA · 551422 · Max retail leverage 30:1 (FX majors, retail; EUR/USD initial margin 3.33% stated, leverage ratio derived)
Saxo Bank A/S · Danish FSA · 1149 · Max retail leverage 30:1 (FX majors, retail, ESMA; 3.33% initial margin)
Saxo Bank (Schweiz) AG · FINMA · Not published · Max retail leverage 1:66 (FX majors; EUR/USD initial margin 1.5% for Swiss residents)
Saxo Capital Markets Pte Ltd · MAS · Not published · Max retail leverage Not published
Saxo Bank Securities Ltd. (サクソバンク証券株式会社) · JFSA · 関東財務局長(金商)第239号 · Max retail leverage Not published
Saxo Bank A/S · Danish FSA · 1149 · Max retail leverage 30:1 (FX majors, retail, ESMA; 3.33% initial margin)
No Saxo company in our data serves this region. In Australia, Saxo’s former company now trades as Totality Wealth Limited.
Warnings and clones
Search each Saxo licence number on the regulator’s own register and compare the website address listed there with the one you are on. Clone firms copy real names and licence numbers.
Client money
Saxo Bank A/S lists the Danish Guarantee Fund: cash deposits up to EUR 100,000, and securities up to EUR 20,000 per investor if they cannot be returned. Saxo Bank (Schweiz) AG is a Swiss bank. Tier 1 regulators require client money to be held apart from the firm’s own money. An offshore company may not offer the same protection, and its compensation, if any, is the broker’s own arrangement.
Costs and fees
Saxo publishes an indicative minimum EUR/USD spread without naming the account tier, so the account column reads “not stated”. The UK page shows 0.7 pips, the Swiss page 2.3 pips. Tier prices for Classic, Platinum and VIP did not load on Saxo’s pricing pages.
Spreads by pair and account
| Pair | Account | Published spread | Checked | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| EUR/USD | not stated | 0.7 pips from | 19 Oct 2026 | https://www.home.saxo/en-gb/products/forex |
| EUR/USD | not stated | 2.3 pips from | 19 Oct 2026 | https://www.home.saxo/en-ch/products/forex |
Commission
No commission figure in our data for Saxo (checked 19 Oct 2026); costs are built into the spread.
Swaps
Swap rates for Saxo are not in our data; check the overnight rate of the company that holds your account before keeping a position open overnight.
Non-trading fees
- Deposit fee
- Not in our data
- Withdrawal fee
- Not in our data
- Inactivity fee
- Not in our data
Account types
Account types listed for Saxo in our data. In the UK, Classic has no minimum deposit; Platinum starts at GBP 200,000 and VIP at GBP 1,000,000, or by trading volume. Minimum deposit: £0
- StandardCosts built into the spread, no separate commission.
- DemoVirtual money with live prices.
- ProfessionalFor clients who opt up: higher leverage, fewer retail protections.
Professional status
Opting up to professional status with Saxo removes retail protections such as leverage caps and negative balance protection.
Demo account
Saxo lists a demo account in its account types (checked 19 Oct 2026); use it with live prices before you fund a live one.
Trading platforms
Platforms Saxo offers, from our data (checked 19 Oct 2026).
- TradingViewPlace trades from TradingView charts.
- proprietaryThe broker’s own web and mobile platform.
- APIProgrammatic access for automated trading.
Markets
- Forex
- CFDs
- Other markets
- Not recorded in our data; check the product list of the company that holds your account
Deposits and withdrawals
Funding methods listed on Saxo’s pages. Availability depends on your country and the company that holds your account.
- Bank transfer
- Debit card
List copied from the broker’s pages, checked 19 Oct 2026.
Before your first withdrawal
- Methods in our data
- 2
- Withdrawal fees and times
- Not in our data yet
- Where to check
- The deposits and withdrawals page of your company’s website
Score breakdown
Four criteria scored 0–10 from published data. Research and support show “not measured” until we open live accounts; the marker on each bar is the average of this page’s comparison set.
7.4/10
- CostsWeight 25%7.2Set average 7.6
- PlatformsWeight 15%6.0Set average 8.0
- RegulationWeight 25%9.0Set average 8.6
- AccountsWeight 15%6.5Set average 7.4
- ResearchWeight 10%Not measuredNot measuredSet average 0.0
- SupportWeight 10%Not measuredNot measuredSet average 0.0
Published data log
Every dated entry behind the figures on this review, copied from Saxo’s own pages. Licence rows show the leverage the broker publishes for that company.
| Checked | Entry | Published value |
|---|---|---|
| 19 Oct 2026 | EUR/USD spread, not stated | 0.7 pips from |
| 19 Oct 2026 | EUR/USD spread, not stated | 2.3 pips from |
| 19 Oct 2026 | Retail loss rate, Saxo Capital Markets UK Ltd | 61% |
| 19 Oct 2026 | Retail loss rate, Saxo Bank A/S | 66% |
| 19 Oct 2026 | Retail loss rate, Saxo Bank (Schweiz) AG | 67% |
| Not published | Licence 1149, Danish FSA: max. retail leverage | 30:1 (FX majors, retail, ESMA; 3.33% initial margin) |
| Not published | Licence 551422, FCA: max. retail leverage | 30:1 (FX majors, retail; EUR/USD initial margin 3.33% stated, leverage ratio derived) |
| Not published | Licence Not published, MAS: max. retail leverage | Not published |
| Not published | Licence Not published, FINMA: max. retail leverage | 1:66 (FX majors; EUR/USD initial margin 1.5% for Swiss residents) |
| Not published | Licence 関東財務局長(金商)第239号, JFSA: max. retail leverage | Not published |
Our verdict on Saxo
7.4/10
Saxo suits traders in Denmark, the UK, Switzerland, Singapore or Japan who want a group whose main company is a Danish bank and do not need MetaTrader. Its regulation score is 9.0/10; its platforms score of 6.0/10 and the missing commission and tier pricing data keep the overall rating at 7.4/10.
Choose it if
- you want an FCA company or a Danish or Swiss bank
- you trade from TradingView or through an API
Look elsewhere if
- you live in Australia
- you use MetaTrader or cTrader
- you fund by e-wallet
61% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (Saxo Capital Markets UK Ltd).
What changed
- 19 Oct 2026 Companies, EUR/USD minimums, UK minimum deposit and loss rates for three companies collected from Saxo’s pages.
- 19 Oct 2026 Australian company recorded as rebranded to Totality Wealth Limited; Hong Kong company excluded after Saxo announced it is leaving.
Alternatives to Saxo
Pepperstone, OANDA, Vantage and IG: other brokers with TradingView and an FCA company for UK residents, in the order of this page’s rule.
- 1
Pepperstone
8.6/10- Minimum deposit
- £10
- EUR/USD spread from
- 0.0 pips
- Regulated by
- FCA, CySEC, BaFin, ASIC, DFSA, CMA (UAE), CMA Kenya, SCB
Read reviewVisit brokerUnpaid link73.6% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (Pepperstone Limited (UK)).
- 2
OANDA
8.1/10- Minimum deposit
- $0
- EUR/USD spread from
- 0.0 pips
- Regulated by
- CFTC / NFA, FCA, KNF, ASIC, CIRO, MAS, JFSA, BVI FSC
Read reviewVisit brokerUnpaid link76.6% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (OANDA Europe Limited).
- 3
Vantage
8.0/10- Minimum deposit
- $50
- EUR/USD spread from
- 0.0 pips
- Regulated by
- FCA, ASIC, FSCA, CIMA, VFSC, FSC Mauritius
Read reviewVisit brokerUnpaid link72.65% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (Vantage Global Prime LLP).
- 4
IG
8.0/10- Minimum deposit
- £1
- EUR/USD spread from
- 0.6 pips
- Regulated by
- FCA, FCA, FCA, BaFin, ASIC, FMA, FINMA, MAS, DFSA, JFSA, FSCA, BMA, CFTC/NFA
Read reviewVisit brokerUnpaid link70% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (IG Markets Ltd / IG Index Ltd (UK)).
Risk warning:
CFDs are complex instruments and come with a high risk of losing money rapidly due to leverage. Most retail investor accounts lose money. Consider whether you understand how CFDs work and whether you can afford the high risk of losing your money.
Low Spread Brokers does not give personal investment advice.
FAQ
Saxo review: questions
Answers use Saxo’s published terms collected on 19 Oct 2026. Terms change: check the broker’s own page before you trade.
Ask a questionWe cannot give personal investment advice.
1Is Saxo regulated in the UK?
Yes: Saxo Capital Markets UK Ltd holds FCA licence 551422, as Saxo publishes it. Search the number on the FCA Register before you fund.
Broker data checked 19 Oct 2026
2Is Saxo Bank safe?
Saxo Bank A/S is supervised by the Danish FSA (licence 1149) and its clients have the Danish Guarantee Fund; UK clients have the FSCS limits Saxo states. Protection covers a firm failure, not trading losses: 61% of UK retail accounts lose money.
Broker data checked 19 Oct 2026
3What is the minimum deposit at Saxo UK?
£0 for the Classic account, according to Saxo’s UK accounts page (checked 19 Oct 2026). Platinum and VIP have higher thresholds or volume requirements.
Broker data checked 19 Oct 2026
4Does Saxo offer MetaTrader?
No. Our data lists Saxo’s own platform, TradingView and an API.
Broker data checked 19 Oct 2026
5Can I open a Saxo account in Australia?
Not under the Saxo name. Saxo Capital Markets (Australia) is now Totality Wealth Limited (AFSL 280372), and home.saxo/en-au redirects to totality.com.au.
Broker data checked 19 Oct 2026
6Why are Saxo’s spreads different by country?
Each Saxo company publishes its own prices: EUR/USD from 0.7 pips on the UK site and 2.3 pips on the Swiss site, checked 19 Oct 2026. Check the pricing page of the company that holds your account.
Broker data checked 19 Oct 2026
Sources
Pages of Saxo behind the figures on this review. Their text prevails over ours.
- Saxo: spreads page (not stated)Checked on 19 Oct 2026
- Saxo: spreads page (not stated)Checked on 19 Oct 2026
- Saxo: minimum depositChecked on 19 Oct 2026
- Saxo: retail loss rate, Saxo Capital Markets UK LtdChecked on 19 Oct 2026
- Saxo: retail loss rate, Saxo Bank A/SChecked on 19 Oct 2026
- Saxo: retail loss rate, Saxo Bank (Schweiz) AGChecked on 19 Oct 2026
Check the company before you open a Saxo account
If you are in the UK, search FCA licence 551422 on the FCA Register, then compare Saxo with the alternatives above.
CFDs are complex and carry a high risk of losing money rapidly.