Advertiser disclosure: we have no affiliate or advertising agreements with brokers, and no click to a broker is paid. If that changes, this notice changes first. How we make money

Rankings differ by countryPick your country

Ranked by a preliminary rating built from published data, checked 19 Oct 2026How we score

Menu

Review · Leverage

eToro leverage: maximum retail leverage by company and country

eToro’s published policy caps retail leverage at 1:30 on major currency pairs. Our data has that figure for 2 of its 8 companies; for the rest the ceiling is whatever their regulator allows, and eToro does not state it on the pages we collected (checked 19 Oct 2026).

  • 19 Oct 2026latest data check

Low Spread Brokers does not give personal investment advice.

At a glance

eToro

6.0/10

Entities 8

Minimum deposit
Not published
EUR/USD spread from
Not measured
Max retail leverage
1:30 (major FX, retail) — eToro Responsible Trading Policy, entity not specified on page (FCA, CySEC)
Platforms
proprietary
Founded
2007
5 of 8 licences checked on the register, 20 Oct 2026
Visit brokerUnpaid link

55% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (entity not named).

Full eToro review

Quick answer

What is the maximum leverage on eToro?

1:30 on major FX pairs for a retail client, from eToro’s Responsible Trading Policy. The policy does not say which company it covers; our data applies it to eToro (UK) Ltd and eToro (Europe) Ltd. At 1:30, a $10,000 position needs $333.33 of margin.

  1. UK retail caps (FCA): FX majors 1:30; FX non-majors, gold, major indices 1:20; Commodities (ex gold), non-major indices 1:10; Individual equities 1:5; Cryptoassets banned (crypto derivatives may not be sold to retail clients).
  2. EU retail caps (ESMA measures, applied by CySEC): FX majors 1:30; FX non-majors, gold, major indices 1:20; Commodities (ex gold), non-major indices 1:10; Individual equities 1:5; Cryptoassets 1:2.
  3. No eToro figure for eToro AUS Capital Limited, eToro (Seychelles) Ltd, eToro (ME) Ltd, eToro Singapore Pte. Ltd., eToro USA Securities Inc. and eToro USA LLC. Australia caps FX majors at 1:30 and Singapore at 1:20, per our country reference (not yet checked against the regulators’ texts).

Leverage by eToro company

Maximum retail leverage as eToro publishes it, company by company. “Not published” means the pages we collected give no figure for that company, not that leverage is unlimited.

Leverage by eToro company
EntityRegulatorLicenceMax. retail leverageNegative balance protectionCompensation
eToro (UK) LtdTier 1 FCA583263Checked on the register, 20 Oct 20261:30 (major FX, retail) — eToro Responsible Trading Policy, entity not specified on pageYesFSCS up to £85,000
eToro (Europe) LtdTier 1 CySEC109/10Checked on the register, 20 Oct 20261:30 (major FX, retail) — eToro Responsible Trading Policy, entity not specified on pageYesCyprus ICF up to €20,000
eToro AUS Capital LimitedTier 1 ASICAFSL 491139Checked on the register, 20 Oct 2026Not publishedYesNot published
eToro (Seychelles) LtdOffshore FSA SeychellesSD076Company checked on the register, 20 Oct 2026; the register does not list the numberNot publishedNot publishedNot published
eToro (ME) LtdTier 2 FSRAFSP 220073As published by the brokerNot publishedNot publishedNot published
eToro Singapore Pte. Ltd.Tier 1 MASCMS101824Company checked on the register, 20 Oct 2026; the register does not list the numberNot publishedNot publishedNot published
eToro USA Securities Inc.Tier 2 SEC / FINRAFINRA CRD 298361; SEC 8-70212As published by the brokerNot publishedNot publishedNot published
eToro USA LLCTier 2 FinCENNMLS ID 1769299As published by the brokerNot publishedNot publishedNot published

Which entity will I get?

Pick your region to see the entity that would open your account.

eToro (UK) Ltd · FCA · 583263 · Max retail leverage 1:30 (major FX, retail) — eToro Responsible Trading Policy, entity not specified on page

Our data (collected 19 Oct 2026) names no eToro company for this region; check eToro’s own site before you apply.

eToro AUS Capital Limited · ASIC · AFSL 491139 · Max retail leverage Not published

eToro (ME) Ltd · FSRA · FSP 220073 · Max retail leverage Not published

Our data (collected 19 Oct 2026) names no eToro company for this region; check eToro’s own site before you apply.

Check the register yourself

Open the regulator’s register, search the licence number and compare the firm name and website address with etoro.com. Clone firms copy real names and numbers.

Client money

Tier 1 regulators require client money to be held apart from the firm’s own money; an offshore company may not have that rule.

Alternatives under Tier 1 leverage rules

Brokers with an ASIC-regulated company for Australian residents and a published minimum of USD 100 or less, in the order of our regulation score.

  1. 1

    OANDA

    8.1/10
    Minimum deposit
    $0
    EUR/USD spread from
    0.0 pips
    Regulated by
    CFTC / NFA, FCA, KNF, ASIC, CIRO, MAS, JFSA, BVI FSC
    Visit brokerUnpaid link

    76.6% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (OANDA Europe Limited).

    Read review
  2. 2

    CMC Markets

    7.9/10
    Minimum deposit
    £0
    EUR/USD spread from
    0.0 pips
    Regulated by
    FCA, FCA, BaFin, ASIC, FMA, MAS, CIRO, DFSA
    Visit brokerUnpaid link

    69% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (CMC Markets UK plc).

  3. 3

    ThinkMarkets

    7.6/10
    Minimum deposit
    $10
    EUR/USD spread from
    Not measured
    Regulated by
    FCA, CySEC, ASIC, ASIC, DFSA, FSCA, FSA Seychelles, CIMA, FMA, Unregulated
    Visit brokerUnpaid link

    75% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (TF Global Markets (UK) Limited).

eToro leverage: our verdict

6.0/10

For UK and EU clients eToro’s leverage sits at the regulatory ceiling, 1:30 on majors, and comes with negative balance protection. Outside those two companies our data has no leverage figure at all, so an Australian, Singapore or UAE client should read the limits in the platform before opening a position.

Choose it if

  • you want leverage held to retail caps (1:30 on major pairs in the UK and EU)
  • you trade small positions and want margin you can work out in advance ($333.33 per $10,000 at 1:30)

Look elsewhere if

  • you need a published leverage figure for every company: only 2 of 8 have one in our data
  • you want more than 1:30 on major pairs as a UK or EU retail client: the FCA and ESMA caps do not allow it
Visit brokerUnpaid link

55% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider (entity not named).

What changed

  • 19 Oct 2026 Entities, costs and loss rates re-collected from eToro’s own pages.

Risk warning:

CFDs are complex instruments and come with a high risk of losing money rapidly due to leverage. Most retail investor accounts lose money. Consider whether you understand how CFDs work and whether you can afford the high risk of losing your money.

Low Spread Brokers does not give personal investment advice.

FAQ

eToro leverage: questions

Short answers from eToro’s published terms, collected up to 19 Oct 2026. Terms change: check eToro’s own page before you trade.

Ask a question

We cannot give personal investment advice.

1What is the maximum leverage on eToro?

For retail clients, 1:30 on major currency pairs under eToro’s Responsible Trading Policy (checked 19 Oct 2026). Lower caps apply to other assets: in the UK, FX majors 1:30; FX non-majors, gold, major indices 1:20; Commodities (ex gold), non-major indices 1:10; Individual equities 1:5; Cryptoassets banned (crypto derivatives may not be sold to retail clients).

Broker data checked 19 Oct 2026

2What leverage does eToro offer in the UK?

UK clients trade with eToro (UK) Ltd, so FCA rules set the ceiling: 1:30 on major FX pairs, 1:20 on other pairs, gold and major indices, and 1:5 on individual shares. Crypto derivatives are banned for UK retail clients.

Broker data checked 19 Oct 2026

3What is eToro’s leverage in Australia?

Our data has no leverage figure for eToro AUS Capital Limited. Under ASIC’s product intervention order, retail CFD leverage in Australia is capped at 1:30 on major FX pairs (our country reference, not yet verified against ASIC’s text). Check the limit in the platform before trading.

Broker data checked 19 Oct 2026

4How much margin do I need at eToro?

Margin is the position size divided by the leverage. At 1:30, a $10,000 EUR/USD position needs $333.33; at 1:20, the UK and EU cap on minor pairs, it needs $500.00. The margin calculator does the same sum for any size.

Broker data checked 19 Oct 2026

5Can I get higher leverage on eToro?

Only by becoming a professional client, which eToro lists as a separate account type; professional clients lose retail protections such as leverage caps and negative balance protection. eToro also names an offshore company in the Seychelles, but our data records no leverage figure or protections for it.

Broker data checked 19 Oct 2026

6Does eToro offer leverage on crypto?

In the UK, crypto derivatives may not be sold to retail clients at all. In the EU the ESMA cap on cryptoassets is 1:2. Our data does not record eToro’s own crypto leverage settings.

Broker data checked 19 Oct 2026

Sources

eToro’s own pages for its leverage policy; regulators’ documents for the country caps.

  1. eToro: responsible trading policyChecked on 19 Oct 2026
  2. eToro: regulation and licencesChecked on 19 Oct 2026
  3. FCA PS19/18: CFD rules for retail clientsChecked on 19 Oct 2026
  4. FCA PS20/10: crypto derivatives banChecked on 19 Oct 2026
  5. ESMA: CFD restrictions for retail investorsChecked on 19 Oct 2026

Who wrote and checked this page

  • Written and checked by

    Low Spread Brokers team

    Copies eToro’s costs, entities and licence numbers from its own pages and records the date and source of each figure. Matching each licence on the regulator’s register is still in progress.

    About us

Broker data checked 19 Oct 2026Editorial policyHow we rank