Directory · FCA
FCA regulated forex brokers: the UK list and the rules
14 of the brokers in our data have an FCA-authorised company that takes retail clients, 17 companies in all. Each row shows the firm reference number (FRN) and the date we found it on the FCA Register. 19 of all 19 FCA companies in our data, retail and non-retail, were matched there on 20 Oct 2026.
- 19 Oct 2026latest broker data check
Low Spread Brokers does not give personal investment advice.
Quick answer
Is forex trading legal in the UK?
Yes. Trading forex, CFDs and spread bets is legal for UK residents; the law controls who may offer it. Section 19 of the Financial Services and Markets Act 2000 says no person may carry on a regulated activity in the UK unless authorised or exempt. A firm that deals with you should therefore appear on the FCA Register. Since 1 August 2019 FCA rules have capped retail leverage at 30:1 to 2:1, required firms to close positions at half the margin needed and limited your losses to the money in the account.
- 17 FCA companies of 14 brands in our data take retail clients; first alphabetically: Admirals (Admiral Markets), CMC Markets and eToro.
- FSCS covers up to £85,000 per eligible person per firm if an investment firm fails after 1 April 2019; it does not cover trading losses.
- Complaints go to the firm first; the Financial Ombudsman Service takes them within 6 months of the firm’s final response.
Brands with an FCA company for retail clients, A–Z
14 brands, alphabetically. The chips show every regulator the brand works under; the FCA company and its number are in the table further down.
Alphabetical order, not a ranking. We have no affiliate or advertising agreements with brokers, so no place in this table is paid.
| Broker | All regulators of the brand | Min. deposit | Platforms | Score | Review |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Admirals (Admiral Markets) | CySECFCAFSA SeychellesASICFSCA | €100 | MT4, MT5, proprietary | 7.8 | Not published |
| CMC Markets | FCAFCABaFinASICFMAMASCIRODFSA | £0 | MT4, TradingView, proprietary | 7.9 | Not published |
| eToro | FCACySECASICFSA SeychellesFSRAMASSEC / FINRAFinCEN | Not published | proprietary | 6.0 | Read review |
| FxPro | FCACySECFSCASCB | Not published | MT4, MT5, cTrader, TradingView, proprietary | 7.6 | Not published |
| IG | FCAFCAFCABaFinASICFMAFINMAMASDFSAJFSAFSCABMACFTC/NFA | £1 | MT4, MT5, TradingView, proprietary, API, ProRealTime, L2 Dealer | 8.0 | Read review |
| Interactive Brokers | SEC / CFTCFCADFSACentral Bank of IrelandASICCIROMASJFSASFC Hong Kong | $0 | proprietary | 6.2 | Read review |
| OANDA | CFTC / NFAFCAKNFASICCIROMASJFSABVI FSC | $0 | MT4, MT5, TradingView, proprietary | 8.1 | Read review |
| Pepperstone | FCACySECBaFinASICDFSACMA (UAE)CMA KenyaSCB | £10 | MT4, MT5, cTrader, TradingView, proprietary | 8.6 | Read review |
| Plus500 | FCACySECFinantsinspektsioonASICFMAFSCAMASDFSASCAJFSACIROFSA SeychellesSCBIsrael (regulator not named) | A$100 | proprietary | 6.3 | Not published |
| Saxo | Danish FSAFCAMASFINMAJFSA | £0 | TradingView, proprietary, API | 7.4 | Read review |
| ThinkMarkets | FCACySECASICASICDFSAFSCAFSA SeychellesCIMAFMAUnregulated | $10 | MT4, MT5, TradingView, proprietary | 7.6 | Not published |
| Tickmill | FCADFSACySECFSCAFSA Seychelles | $100 | MT4, MT5, TradingView, proprietary, CQG, Trading Technologies | 7.8 | Not published |
| Vantage | FCAASICFSCACIMAVFSCFSC Mauritius | $50 | MT4, MT5, TradingView, proprietary | 8.0 | Read review |
| XTB | KNFFCACySECFSC BelizeDFSASCAFSA SeychellesCMF ChileBappebti | $0 | proprietary | 7.2 | Read review |
What the score is
A preliminary desk score from published terms: costs, platforms, regulation and accounts. No live account has been tested yet.
Where the licences come from
Each company and number as the broker publishes it, matched on the regulator’s register where a date is shown. Broker data up to 19 Oct 2026.
No bonuses listed
FCA, CySEC and ASIC rules bar incentives to trade CFDs for retail clients, and we list no bonus for any company.
Is forex trading legal or illegal in the UK?
Legal. No UK law stops a resident from trading currencies, CFDs or spread bets. What is illegal is offering them without permission: under section 19 of the Financial Services and Markets Act 2000, a person may not carry on a regulated activity in the UK, or claim to, unless authorised or exempt.
Spread betting is regulated by the same rules as CFDs. The FCA’s 2019 restrictions say references to CFDs include financial spread bets and rolling spot forex, so a spread betting account at an FCA firm carries the same leverage caps, close-out and negative balance protection.
General information about the rules, not legal or tax advice.
FCA regulated forex brokers list: 17 companies, 14 brands
Generated from our broker data (up to 19 Oct 2026). Some brands run more than one FCA company, for example one for CFDs and one for spread betting or share dealing. The FRN is the number to search on the FCA Register; where the last column shows a date, we found that company and number there on that day.
| Brand | Company | FRN (firm reference number) | Max. retail leverage, major FX, as published | Compensation, as the broker describes it | Register check |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Admirals (Admiral Markets) | Admiral Markets UK Ltd | 595450 | Not found on the broker’s pages | Not found on the broker’s pages | Found on the FCA Register, 20 Oct 2026 |
| CMC Markets | CMC Markets Investments Limited (CMC Invest) | 948126 | Not found on the broker’s pages | FSCS up to £85,000 | Found on the FCA Register, 20 Oct 2026 |
| CMC Markets | CMC Markets UK plc | 173730 | 1:30 (major FX; margin from 3.34%) | FSCS up to £85,000 (investment protection, shortfall on insolvency) | Found on the FCA Register, 20 Oct 2026 |
| eToro | eToro (UK) Ltd | 583263 | 1:30 (major FX, retail) — eToro Responsible Trading Policy, entity not specified on page | FSCS up to £85,000 | Found on the FCA Register, 20 Oct 2026 |
| FxPro | FxPro UK Limited | 509956 | 1:30 (retail, FCA/CySEC) | FSCS member (eligibility depends on status and nature of claim; limit not stated on page) | Found on the FCA Register, 20 Oct 2026 |
| IG | IG Index Ltd | 114059 | 1:30 (major FX spread bets, retail; margin 3.33%) | FSCS up to £85,000 (firm insolvency) | Found on the FCA Register, 20 Oct 2026 |
| IG | IG Markets Ltd | 195355 | 1:30 (major FX, retail; margin 3.33% on EUR/USD, GBP/USD) | FSCS up to £85,000 (firm insolvency) | Found on the FCA Register, 20 Oct 2026 |
| IG | IG Trading and Investments Ltd | 944492 | Not found on the broker’s pages | FSCS up to £85,000 (firm insolvency) | Found on the FCA Register, 20 Oct 2026 |
| Interactive Brokers | Interactive Brokers (U.K.) Limited | 208159 | 1:30 (major FX CFDs, retail: ESMA-style minimum initial margin 3.33%; 5% other pairs) | Accounts cleared and carried by Interactive Brokers LLC (SIPC); products covered by UK FSCS only in limited circumstances | Found on the FCA Register, 20 Oct 2026 |
| OANDA | OANDA Europe Limited | 542574 (FRN); Companies House 7110087 | 30:1 (major forex pairs, retail; margin 3.33%) | FSCS up to £50,000 if the firm fails (investment claims); up to £85,000 per person per institution if a bank holding client money fails | Found on the FCA Register, 20 Oct 2026 |
| Pepperstone | Pepperstone Limited | 684312 | 1:30 (retail, per Pepperstone support FAQ) | FSCS up to £85,000 (eligible clients) | Found on the FCA Register, 20 Oct 2026 |
| Plus500 | Plus500UK Ltd | 509909 | 1:30 (forex, retail; EUR/USD initial margin 3.33%) | FSCS: 100% of eligible investments up to £85,000 (per User Agreement); other Plus500 pages cite £120,000 — conflicting | Found on the FCA Register, 20 Oct 2026 |
| Saxo | Saxo Capital Markets UK Ltd | 551422 | 30:1 (FX majors, retail; EUR/USD initial margin 3.33% stated, leverage ratio derived) | FSCS: cash deposits up to £120,000 per person per firm; protected investment business up to £85,000 per person per firm (limits do not overlap) | Found on the FCA Register, 20 Oct 2026 |
| ThinkMarkets | TF Global Markets (UK) Limited | 629628 | 30:1 (Standard, ThinkTrader, ThinkZero accounts, retail) | FSCS — FCA Register says clients may be able to claim from FSCS; limit not stated on the broker site | Found on the FCA Register, 20 Oct 2026 |
| Tickmill | Tickmill UK Ltd | 717270 | 1:30 (Raw and Classic, retail) | FSCS — page states 'covers up to £120,000 per client' | Found on the FCA Register, 20 Oct 2026 |
| Vantage | Vantage Global Prime LLP | 590299 | 30:1 (major currency pairs, retail); lower for other instruments | FSCS up to £85,000 per person, per firm (eligible clients); plus excess-of-FSCS insurance via Lloyd's of London up to £1 million in aggregate | Found on the FCA Register, 20 Oct 2026 |
| XTB | XTB Limited (UK) | FRN 522157 | 1:30 | FSCS — XTB states eligible clients may claim up to £120,000 | Found on the FCA Register, 20 Oct 2026 |
Leverage and compensation columns repeat the broker’s own wording, including its caveats. The FSCS decides every claim; a figure on a broker’s page is not a promise of cover. Vantage: A third-party report, not verified with the regulator, mentions a Securities Commission Malaysia investor alert (2021). A 2022 VFSC notice of intention to revoke the licence of Vantage Global Limited is not reflected in the current VFSC list: on 20 Oct 2026 the licence was shown as active, dated 22 Aug 2023.
FCA licences that do not take retail clients
An FCA licence on a brand’s website does not mean its UK company will open an account for you. These companies are in our data but are left off the list above:
- Exness: Exness (UK) Ltd (730729). B2B/institutional only — no retail permissions (FCA Firm Checker, 19 Oct 2026).
- FXCM: Stratos Markets Limited (217689). Client book being sold to Trade Nation (announced 6 Oct 2026, completion expected late Nov 2026); fxcm.com/uk says new accounts are provided through Trade Nation. FCA register (20 Oct 2026): "Authorised - applied to cancel".
- IC Markets has no UK (FCA) entity, so UK residents cannot get FCA protection with it.
- The XM brand runs on an offshore entity (FSC Belize, leverage up to 1:1000) and a CySEC entity for the EEA; the group’s FCA, ASIC and US licences belong to the sister brand Trading.com, not to XM.
What an FCA regulated broker must give a retail client
FCA rules for CFDs, rolling spot forex and spread bets (in force since 1 August 2019) require a firm to: limit leverage by asset, close out positions when the account’s funds fall to 50% of the margin needed to keep them open, make sure a client cannot lose more than the funds in the CFD account, show a standard risk warning with the share of its retail accounts that lose money, and stop offering cash or other incentives to trade.
Crypto derivatives are off the table altogether: since 6 January 2021 firms may not sell CFDs, options or futures on cryptoassets such as Bitcoin to retail consumers.
| Underlying | Minimum margin | Maximum leverage |
|---|---|---|
| Major currency pairs | 3.33% | 30:1 |
| Minor currency pairs, gold, major stock indices | 5% | 20:1 |
| Other commodities, minor stock indices | 10% | 10:1 |
| Individual shares and other underlyings | 20% | 5:1 |
| Cryptoassets | Not available | Banned for retail since 6 Jan 2021 |
Opting up to professional client status removes these limits; that is how some FCA firms advertise higher leverage.
FSCS compensation and the Financial Ombudsman Service
The Financial Services Compensation Scheme may pay out if an investment firm goes out of business: up to £85,000 per eligible person, per firm, for firms that failed after 1 April 2019. It does not pay for poor investment performance, so a losing trade is never an FSCS claim.
If you have a dispute with a live firm, complain to the firm first. It has up to 8 weeks for most complaints. After its final response you have 6 months to take the complaint to the Financial Ombudsman Service; if the firm misses its deadline, you can go to the Ombudsman without waiting.
How to check a forex broker on the FCA Register
Clone firms copy a real firm’s name, address or FRN and a near-identical website. The FCA says scammers may claim the Register is out of date; it updates the Register and Firm Checker on average every 24 hours.
- Find the company name and FRN in the footer of the broker’s UK website.
- Search the FRN on the FCA Register and check the status is authorised and the permissions cover the product.
- Compare the phone, email and web address on the Register with the ones you were given; if they differ, contact the firm only through the Register details.
- Search the name on the FCA Warning List of unauthorised firms; if you cannot find the firm, the FCA’s consumer line is 0800 111 6768.
Who this list is not for
Traders outside the UK: the FCA companies here serve UK residents, and your country of residence decides which company of a brand opens your account. Traders looking for leverage above 30:1 on majors: retail clients get it only from offshore companies, and we do not rank by leverage.
Methodology v1 · preliminary scores
What the score column means
This directory does not rank brokers: the order is alphabetical. The score next to each brand is the same preliminary desk score used on every ranking on this site, built from published terms; no live account has been opened.
- 1List the companiesEvery licensed company of a brand, with the licence number the broker publishes, matched on the regulator’s register where the table shows a date.
- 2Copy published termsSpreads, commission, deposits, platforms and account types from each broker’s own pages, each with its date (latest 19 Oct 2026).
- 3Score four criteriaCosts, platforms, regulation and accounts, 0–10 each, by a fixed formula. Research and support stay unscored until we test them.
- 4Sort A–ZBrands are listed by name. A higher score does not move a brand up this page.
Weights in the preliminary score
- Costs · 31%
- Regulation & safety · 31%
- Platforms · 19%
- Accounts & funding · 19%
- 14brokers scored
- 19 Oct 2026latest data check
What does not affect the order
The score, partner status and advertising. We have no affiliate or advertising agreements with brokers.
Published spreads behind the scores
| Checked | Quote | Spread |
|---|---|---|
| 19 Oct 2026 | EUR/USD, Trade.MT5 account, Admirals (Admiral Markets) | 0.5 pips |
| 19 Oct 2026 | EUR/USD, FX Active account, CMC Markets | 0.0 pips |
| 19 Oct 2026 | EUR/USD, Raw+ / Elite (MT4/MT5) account, FxPro | 0.0 pips |
Check an FCA firm in four steps
Two minutes on the FCA’s own site. Our register dates are a starting point: the Register shows the status today. Links opened 21 Oct 2026.
- 1Copy the FRN and company name from the broker’s UK website
- 2Search the FRN on the FCA Register, not through a link the broker sent
- 3Check the status, permissions and contact details
- 4Search the FCA Warning List for clones
FCA tools
Spot a clone
A clone uses a real firm’s name and FRN with a different phone number or website. If the details differ from the Register, deal with the firm only through the Register’s contact details.
Risk warning:
CFDs are complex instruments and come with a high risk of losing money rapidly due to leverage. Most retail investor accounts lose money. Consider whether you understand how CFDs work and whether you can afford the high risk of losing your money.
Low Spread Brokers does not give personal investment advice.
FAQ
FCA regulated forex brokers: questions
Short answers from the regulators’ own pages (opened 21 Oct 2026) and from broker data collected up to 19 Oct 2026. Rules and licences change: check the register before you open an account.
Ask a questionWe cannot give personal investment advice.
1Is forex trading legal in the UK?
Yes. UK residents may trade forex, CFDs and spread bets. Section 19 of the Financial Services and Markets Act 2000 prohibits carrying on a regulated activity in the UK without authorisation or an exemption, so the firm you trade with should be on the FCA Register.
Rules checked 21 Oct 2026 · broker data up to 19 Oct 2026
2Is forex trading illegal in the UK in any case?
Trading is not illegal; offering it without authorisation is. If a firm is missing from the FCA Register, or its Register contact details differ from the ones you were given, the FCA advises checking with it on 0800 111 6768 before you deal.
Rules checked 21 Oct 2026 · broker data up to 19 Oct 2026
3How do I know if a forex broker is FCA regulated?
Search its FRN on the FCA Register, check that the status is authorised and that the contact details match the website you are on. The table on this page shows each FRN and the date we found it on the Register.
Rules checked 21 Oct 2026 · broker data up to 19 Oct 2026
4Which forex brokers are regulated by the FCA?
In our data, 14 brands have an FCA company that takes retail clients: Admirals (Admiral Markets), CMC Markets, eToro, FxPro, IG, Interactive Brokers, OANDA, Pepperstone, Plus500, Saxo, ThinkMarkets, Tickmill, Vantage and XTB. Exness and FXCM also hold FCA licences, but their UK companies are closed to new retail clients.
Rules checked 21 Oct 2026 · broker data up to 19 Oct 2026
5How is spread betting regulated in the UK?
Spread bets are covered by the FCA’s CFD rules: retail leverage caps from 30:1 to 2:1, close-out at 50% of required margin, negative balance protection and a risk warning with the firm’s share of losing accounts.
Rules checked 21 Oct 2026 · broker data up to 19 Oct 2026
6Can an FCA regulated broker offer 1:500 leverage?
Not to a retail client: the cap is 30:1 on major pairs. Higher leverage is offered to professional clients, who give up the retail protections, or by the same brand’s offshore companies, which the FCA does not supervise.
Rules checked 21 Oct 2026 · broker data up to 19 Oct 2026
7What happens to my money if an FCA broker goes bust?
The FSCS may pay up to £85,000 per eligible person per firm for investment firms that failed after 1 April 2019. It does not cover trading losses.
Rules checked 21 Oct 2026 · broker data up to 19 Oct 2026
8Where do I complain about an FCA regulated broker?
To the broker first; most complaints must be answered within 8 weeks. Then to the Financial Ombudsman Service, within 6 months of the broker’s final response.
Rules checked 21 Oct 2026 · broker data up to 19 Oct 2026
Sources
Primary sources for the rules on this page, with the date we opened each link. Licence data per company links to the register entry in the table above.
- Financial Services and Markets Act 2000, section 19: the general prohibitionChecked on 21 Oct 2026
- FCA: permanent restrictions on the sale of CFDs and CFD-like options to retail consumers (1 July 2019)Checked on 21 Oct 2026
- FCA PS19/18: restricting CFD products sold to retail clients (COBS 22.5)Checked on 21 Oct 2026
- FCA bans the sale of crypto-derivatives to retail consumersChecked on 21 Oct 2026
- FSCS: investments, what we coverChecked on 21 Oct 2026
- Financial Ombudsman Service: how to complainChecked on 21 Oct 2026
- FCA: clone firms and individualsChecked on 21 Oct 2026
- FCA Financial Services RegisterChecked on 21 Oct 2026