Advertiser disclosure: we have no affiliate or advertising agreements with brokers, and no click to a broker is paid. If that changes, this notice changes first. How we make money

Rankings differ by countryPick your country

Ranked by a preliminary rating built from published data, checked 19 Oct 2026How we score

Menu

Directory · CySEC

CySEC regulated forex brokers

13 brokers in our data have a Cypriot investment firm (CIF) licensed by the Cyprus Securities and Exchange Commission that takes retail clients. Many brands use such a firm to serve the European Economic Area. 14 of all 14 CySEC companies in our data, retail and non-retail, were found in CySEC’s list of investment firms on 20 Oct 2026.

  • 19 Oct 2026latest broker data check

Low Spread Brokers does not give personal investment advice.

Quick answer

What does CySEC regulated mean for a forex trader?

Your account is held by a Cypriot investment firm licensed by CySEC. Since CySEC’s national measures of 27 September 2019, such a firm must cap retail leverage at 30:1 on major currency pairs down to 2:1 on cryptocurrencies, close positions when your funds fall to 50% of the margin needed, keep your losses within the funds in the account and offer no inducements to trade. If the firm fails to repay client funds, the Investor Compensation Fund pays the lower of 90% of your covered claims and €20,000.

  1. 13 CySEC companies of 13 brands in our data take retail clients; first alphabetically: Admirals (Admiral Markets), AvaTrade and eToro.
  2. For residents of another EU state whose regulator set its own CFD rules, a CySEC firm applies that regulator’s rules.
  3. Consumer complaints against investment firms can go to the Financial Ombudsman of the Republic of Cyprus.

Brands with an CySEC company for retail clients, A–Z

13 brands, alphabetically. The chips show every regulator the brand works under; the CySEC firm and its licence number are in the table further down.

Show brands:

Alphabetical order, not a ranking. We have no affiliate or advertising agreements with brokers, so no place in this table is paid.

Brands with an CySEC company for retail clients, A–Z
BrokerAll regulators of the brandMin. depositPlatformsScoreReview
Admirals (Admiral Markets)CySECFCAFSA SeychellesASICFSCA€100MT4, MT5, proprietary7.8Not published
AvaTradeCentral Bank of IrelandASICJFSAADGM FSRACySECFSCACMA KenyaBVI FSC$100MT4, MT5, TradingView, proprietary7.4Not published
eToroFCACySECASICFSA SeychellesFSRAMASSEC / FINRAFinCENNot publishedproprietary6.0Read review
FP MarketsASICCySECFSCAFSA Seychelles$50MT4, MT5, cTrader, TradingView, proprietary, Iress8.0Not published
FXCMFCACySECASICFSCAUnregulatedISACIRO$50MT4, TradingView, proprietary, API6.4Not published
FxProFCACySECFSCASCBNot publishedMT4, MT5, cTrader, TradingView, proprietary7.6Not published
IC MarketsASICCySECFSA SeychellesSCB$0MT4, MT5, cTrader, TradingView, proprietary8.1Read review
PepperstoneFCACySECBaFinASICDFSACMA (UAE)CMA KenyaSCB£10MT4, MT5, cTrader, TradingView, proprietary8.6Read review
Plus500FCACySECFinantsinspektsioonASICFMAFSCAMASDFSASCAJFSACIROFSA SeychellesSCBIsrael (regulator not named)A$100proprietary6.3Not published
ThinkMarketsFCACySECASICASICDFSAFSCAFSA SeychellesCIMAFMAUnregulated$10MT4, MT5, TradingView, proprietary7.6Not published
TickmillFCADFSACySECFSCAFSA Seychelles$100MT4, MT5, TradingView, proprietary, CQG, Trading Technologies7.8Not published
XMCySECDFSAFSCAFSC BelizeFSA SeychellesFSC MauritiusBVI FSCCMA KenyaSCA/CMA$5MT4, MT5, TradingView7.2Not published
XTBKNFFCACySECFSC BelizeDFSASCAFSA SeychellesCMF ChileBappebti$0proprietary7.2Read review
  • What the score is

    A preliminary desk score from published terms: costs, platforms, regulation and accounts. No live account has been tested yet.

  • Where the licences come from

    Each company and number as the broker publishes it, matched on the regulator’s register where a date is shown. Broker data up to 19 Oct 2026.

  • No bonuses listed

    FCA, CySEC and ASIC rules bar incentives to trade CFDs for retail clients, and we list no bonus for any company.

CySEC regulated forex brokers list: 13 companies, 13 brands

Generated from our broker data (up to 19 Oct 2026). The licence number is the one CySEC prints next to the firm in its list of Cypriot investment firms; where the last column shows a date, we found the firm and number there that day.

CySEC companies that take retail clients, by brand (data up to 19 Oct 2026)
BrandCompanyCIF licence numberMax. retail leverage, major FX, as publishedCompensation, as the broker describes itRegister check
Admirals (Admiral Markets)Admirals Europe Ltd (previously Admiral Markets Cyprus Ltd)201/13Up to 1:30 (Trade.MT5 / Zero.MT5, retail)ICF up to €20,000; additional client funds insurance up to €100,000 (since 1 March 2021)Found in CySEC’s list of investment firms, 20 Oct 2026
AvaTradeDT Direct Investment Hub Ltd347/17Not found on the broker’s pagesNot found on the broker’s pagesFound in CySEC’s list of investment firms, 20 Oct 2026
eToroeToro (Europe) Ltd109/101:30 (major FX, retail) — eToro Responsible Trading Policy, entity not specified on pageCyprus ICF up to €20,000Found in CySEC’s list of investment firms, 20 Oct 2026
FP MarketsFirst Prudential Markets Ltd371/18up to 1:30 (Standard/Raw, retail)ICF member (eligible retail clients; limit not stated on page)Found in CySEC’s list of investment firms, 20 Oct 2026
FXCMStratos Europe Ltd (ex FXCM EU Ltd), trading as FXCM / FXCM EU / Tradu392/2030:1 (major currency pairs, retail)Not found on the broker’s pagesFound in CySEC’s list of investment firms, 20 Oct 2026
FxProFxPro Financial Services Ltd078/071:30 (retail)Not found on the broker’s pagesFound in CySEC’s list of investment firms, 20 Oct 2026
IC MarketsIC Markets (EU) Ltd362/181:30 (retail, all account types)Investor Compensation Fund (CySEC) up to €20,000 or 90% of covered claims, whichever lowerFound in CySEC’s list of investment firms, 20 Oct 2026
PepperstonePepperstone EU Limited388/20Not found on the broker’s pagesNot found on the broker’s pagesFound in CySEC’s list of investment firms, 20 Oct 2026
Plus500Plus500CY Ltd250/141:30 (forex, retail — per Plus500 forex page en-fr)Not found on the broker’s pagesFound in CySEC’s list of investment firms, 20 Oct 2026
ThinkMarketsTF Global Markets (Europe) Ltd215/1330:1 (ThinkZero account, retail)Investor Compensation Fund (Cyprus) — document listed on EU legal-documents page; amount not checkedFound in CySEC’s list of investment firms, 20 Oct 2026
TickmillTickmill Europe Ltd278/151:30 (retail, maximum and default); professional 1:500ICF — 90% of eligible claim up to €20,000Found in CySEC’s list of investment firms, 20 Oct 2026
XMTrading Point of Financial Instruments Ltd120/1030:1 (shown on Ultra Low and Zero account cards, EU site)Investor Compensation Fund (Cyprus ICF) up to EUR 20,000 or 90% of covered claim, whichever is lowerFound in CySEC’s list of investment firms, 20 Oct 2026
XTBXTB Limited (Cyprus)CIF 169/121:30Investor Compensation Fund (ICF) up to €20,000 per retail clientFound in CySEC’s list of investment firms, 20 Oct 2026

Leverage and compensation columns repeat the broker’s own wording. Where a broker states no ICF limit, the limit set by the Fund is below.

CySEC firms that do not take retail clients, and other notes

A CySEC licence on a brand’s website does not tell you which company will hold your account:

  • Exness: Exness (Cy) Ltd (178/12). B2B/institutional only — does not offer services to retail clients (exness.eu, 19 Oct 2026).
  • The XM brand runs on an offshore entity (FSC Belize, leverage up to 1:1000) and a CySEC entity for the EEA; the group’s FCA, ASIC and US licences belong to the sister brand Trading.com, not to XM.
  • IC Markets: Outside the EEA and Australia most clients are onboarded by the Seychelles entity (leverage up to 1:5000 on MetaTrader) or the Bahamas entity; these carry no UK/EU-style retail protections.
  • FXCM: the CySEC firm is open to retail clients in our data; the UK company is selling its client book and the Australian company is under an ASIC stop order (see the FCA and ASIC pages).

What CySEC rules give a retail client

ESMA agreed temporary CFD measures in March 2018. When they lapsed in August 2019, CySEC wrote them into national law with a policy statement of 27 September 2019, the Cyprus National Product Intervention Measures. They apply to CFDs marketed, distributed or sold to retail clients and include:

  • leverage limits on opening a position, from 30:1 to 2:1 by underlying (table below);
  • a margin close-out when the client’s funds fall to 50% of the margin needed to keep the open positions;
  • negative balance protection per account, so a retail client cannot lose more than the funds in the trading account;
  • no cash or other inducements to encourage retail clients to trade;
  • a standardised risk warning with the share of the firm’s retail accounts that lose money.
Maximum leverage for retail clients of CySEC firms (CySEC, 27 September 2019)
UnderlyingMaximum leverageMinimum margin
Major currency pairs30:13.33%
Non-major currency pairs, gold, major indices20:15%
Commodities other than gold, non-major equity indices10:110%
Individual equities and other reference values5:120%
Cryptocurrencies2:150%

Minimum margin is the leverage limit expressed as a percentage (1 ÷ leverage). Professional clients are outside these limits.

Which rules apply where you live

CySEC applies its measures by the client’s country of residence. For a resident of Cyprus, of an EU state whose regulator has no national CFD measures, or of a non-EU country, the CySEC firm applies the ESMA content. For a resident of an EU state whose regulator adopted its own measures, the firm applies that regulator’s measures. CySEC noted in 2019 that only a few states diverged materially from the ESMA measures.

Investor Compensation Fund: €20,000 limit

The Fund covers non-professional clients of its member firms when a firm fails to repay the funds it owes them or cannot return their financial instruments. It pays the lower of 90% of the client’s cumulative covered claims and €20,000. Payments start only after CySEC finds that the firm appears unable to meet investor claims for financial reasons, or a Cypriot court suspends those claims.

Worked example: a covered claim of €10,000 is paid at €9,000 (90%); a claim of €50,000 is paid at €20,000.

Complaints: the Financial Ombudsman of the Republic of Cyprus

The Financial Ombudsman of the Republic of Cyprus handles consumer complaints against financial companies, investment firms among them. You file a complaint form against the firm and pay an application fee through the Ombudsman’s site; its English pages do not state the amount, so ask the office before filing.

How to check a CySEC licence

CySEC’s list of Cypriot investment firms gives each firm’s name, licence number and date, company registration number, phone and email, and sometimes approved trade names. It does not list websites, so compare the email domain with the site you are on. CySEC also publishes warnings about unregulated entities and a list of domains that are not owned or operated by any CySEC-authorised investment firm.

  • Find the firm’s name and CIF licence number in the footer of the broker’s EU website.
  • Look the firm up in CySEC’s list of Cypriot investment firms and compare the number and contact details.
  • Search the website address in CySEC’s non-approved domains list and its warnings.
  • Check that your account application names the same CySEC firm.

Methodology v1 · preliminary scores

What the score column means

This directory does not rank brokers: the order is alphabetical. The score next to each brand is the same preliminary desk score used on every ranking on this site, built from published terms; no live account has been opened.

  1. 1List the companiesEvery licensed company of a brand, with the licence number the broker publishes, matched on the regulator’s register where the table shows a date.
  2. 2Copy published termsSpreads, commission, deposits, platforms and account types from each broker’s own pages, each with its date (latest 19 Oct 2026).
  3. 3Score four criteriaCosts, platforms, regulation and accounts, 0–10 each, by a fixed formula. Research and support stay unscored until we test them.
  4. 4Sort A–ZBrands are listed by name. A higher score does not move a brand up this page.

Weights in the preliminary score

  • Costs · 31%
  • Regulation & safety · 31%
  • Platforms · 19%
  • Accounts & funding · 19%
  • 13brokers scored
  • 19 Oct 2026latest data check

What does not affect the order

The score, partner status and advertising. We have no affiliate or advertising agreements with brokers.

Published spreads behind the scores

CheckedQuoteSpread
19 Oct 2026EUR/USD, Trade.MT5 account, Admirals (Admiral Markets)0.5 pips
19 Oct 2026EUR/USD, Retail (fixed/variable not stated) account, AvaTrade0.9 pips
19 Oct 2026EUR/USD, Standard (MT4, EU) account, FP Markets1.3 pips

Reviewed by the Low Spread Brokers team · 21 Oct 2026

Editorial policyRead the full methodology

Check a CySEC firm in four steps

On CySEC’s own site, not through a link from the broker. Links opened 21 Oct 2026.

  1. 1Copy the firm name and CIF licence number
  2. 2Find it in CySEC’s list of Cypriot investment firms
  3. 3Compare the email domain and phone with the website you are on
  4. 4Search the domain in CySEC’s non-approved domains and warnings

CySEC lists

Spot a clone

A clone copies a real CIF’s name and licence number onto another domain. CySEC’s non-approved domains list names sites that no authorised Cypriot investment firm owns or operates.

Risk warning:

CFDs are complex instruments and come with a high risk of losing money rapidly due to leverage. Most retail investor accounts lose money. Consider whether you understand how CFDs work and whether you can afford the high risk of losing your money.

Low Spread Brokers does not give personal investment advice.

FAQ

CySEC regulated forex brokers: questions

Short answers from the regulators’ own pages (opened 21 Oct 2026) and from broker data collected up to 19 Oct 2026. Rules and licences change: check the register before you open an account.

Ask a question

We cannot give personal investment advice.

1Which forex brokers are CySEC regulated?

In our data, 13 brands have a CySEC-licensed firm that takes retail clients: Admirals (Admiral Markets), AvaTrade, eToro, FP Markets, FXCM, FxPro, IC Markets, Pepperstone, Plus500, ThinkMarkets, Tickmill, XM and XTB.

Rules checked 21 Oct 2026 · broker data up to 19 Oct 2026

2What leverage do CySEC regulated brokers offer?

For retail clients: 30:1 on major currency pairs, 20:1 on non-major pairs, gold and major indices, 10:1 on other commodities and non-major indices, 5:1 on individual equities and 2:1 on cryptocurrencies.

Rules checked 21 Oct 2026 · broker data up to 19 Oct 2026

3How much does the Investor Compensation Fund pay?

The lower of 90% of your covered claims and €20,000, if a member firm fails to repay client funds or return instruments. It covers non-professional clients, not trading losses.

Rules checked 21 Oct 2026 · broker data up to 19 Oct 2026

4Do CySEC rules apply to clients outside the EU?

CySEC’s 2019 statement says that for a resident of a non-EU country a CySEC firm applies the ESMA content of its measures, including the 30:1 cap on major pairs.

Rules checked 21 Oct 2026 · broker data up to 19 Oct 2026

5Is Exness CySEC regulated?

Exness has a CySEC-licensed company, Exness (Cy) Ltd, but it serves business and institutional clients only and does not open retail accounts.

Rules checked 21 Oct 2026 · broker data up to 19 Oct 2026

6How do I check a CySEC licence number?

Find the firm in CySEC’s list of Cypriot investment firms, compare the licence number and contact details, and search the website in CySEC’s non-approved domains list.

Rules checked 21 Oct 2026 · broker data up to 19 Oct 2026

Sources

Primary sources for the rules on this page, with the date we opened each link. Licence data per company links to the register entry in the table above.

  1. CySEC press release, 27 September 2019: national measures restricting CFDsChecked on 21 Oct 2026
  2. ESMA: measures to restrict CFDs for retail investors (27 March 2018)Checked on 21 Oct 2026
  3. CySEC: Investor Compensation Fund, information for investorsChecked on 21 Oct 2026
  4. Financial Ombudsman of the Republic of CyprusChecked on 21 Oct 2026
  5. CySEC: list of Cypriot investment firmsChecked on 21 Oct 2026
  6. CySEC: warningsChecked on 21 Oct 2026
  7. CySEC: list of non-approved domainsChecked on 21 Oct 2026

Who wrote and checked this page

  • Written and checked by

    Low Spread Brokers team

    Builds the directory from the brokers’ published company lists and the regulators’ registers, prints the date of every register check, and takes the rules on leverage, compensation and complaints from the regulators’ own pages.

    About us

Rules checked 21 Oct 2026 · broker data up to 19 Oct 2026Editorial policyHow we rank