Directory · FSCA
FSCA regulated forex brokers in South Africa
12 brokers in our data list a company authorised by South Africa’s Financial Sector Conduct Authority, one company each. 3 of the 12 were found in FSCA’s list of approved OTC derivative providers on 20 Oct 2026; the other FSP numbers are as published by the broker, because the FSCA’s FSP search did not respond when we tried it on 20 and 21 Oct 2026.
- 19 Oct 2026latest broker data check
Low Spread Brokers does not give personal investment advice.
Quick answer
What does FSCA regulated mean for a forex broker?
Two permissions can sit behind the phrase. An FSP licence under section 7 of the FAIS Act lets a company give advice or act as an intermediary. Issuing CFDs as principal, the job of an OTC derivative provider (ODP), needs a separate FSCA authorisation under regulation 2 of the Financial Markets Act Regulations of February 2018. A broker can hold the first in South Africa and pass your trades to an issuer elsewhere.
- 12 FSCA companies of 12 brands in our data; first alphabetically: Admirals (Admiral Markets), AvaTrade and Exness.
- AvaTrade, Exness and XM say their South African company is only an intermediary: your CFDs are issued by Ava Trade Markets Ltd (BVI FSC), Exness (SC) Ltd (FSA Seychelles) and XM Global Limited (FSC Belize).
- Complaints go to the broker in writing first; if unresolved after six weeks, to the FAIS Ombud, whose limit is R3,500,000 per claim.
Brands with an FSCA company for retail clients, A–Z
12 brands, alphabetically. The chips show every regulator the brand works under; the FSCA company, its FSP number and its role are in the table further down.
Alphabetical order, not a ranking. We have no affiliate or advertising agreements with brokers, so no place in this table is paid.
| Broker | All regulators of the brand | Min. deposit | Platforms | Score | Review |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Admirals (Admiral Markets) | CySECFCAFSA SeychellesASICFSCA | €100 | MT4, MT5, proprietary | 7.8 | Not published |
| AvaTrade | Central Bank of IrelandASICJFSAADGM FSRACySECFSCACMA KenyaBVI FSC | $100 | MT4, MT5, TradingView, proprietary | 7.4 | Not published |
| Exness | FSA SeychellesCBCSBVI FSCFSC BelizeFSC MauritiusFSCACMA KenyaJSCCySECFCA | Not published | MT4, MT5, proprietary | 5.0 | Read review |
| FP Markets | ASICCySECFSCAFSA Seychelles | $50 | MT4, MT5, cTrader, TradingView, proprietary, Iress | 8.0 | Not published |
| FXCM | FCACySECASICFSCAUnregulatedISACIRO | $50 | MT4, TradingView, proprietary, API | 6.4 | Not published |
| FxPro | FCACySECFSCASCB | Not published | MT4, MT5, cTrader, TradingView, proprietary | 7.6 | Not published |
| IG | FCAFCAFCABaFinASICFMAFINMAMASDFSAJFSAFSCABMACFTC/NFA | £1 | MT4, MT5, TradingView, proprietary, API, ProRealTime, L2 Dealer | 8.0 | Read review |
| Plus500 | FCACySECFinantsinspektsioonASICFMAFSCAMASDFSASCAJFSACIROFSA SeychellesSCBIsrael (regulator not named) | A$100 | proprietary | 5.9 | Read review |
| ThinkMarkets | FCACySECASICASICDFSAFSCAFSA SeychellesCIMAFMAUnregulated | $10 | MT4, MT5, TradingView, proprietary | 7.6 | Not published |
| Tickmill | FCADFSACySECFSCAFSA Seychelles | $100 | MT4, MT5, TradingView, proprietary, CQG, Trading Technologies | 7.8 | Not published |
| Vantage | FCAASICFSCACIMAVFSCFSC Mauritius | $50 | MT4, MT5, TradingView, proprietary | 8.0 | Read review |
| XM | CySECDFSAFSCAFSC BelizeFSA SeychellesFSC MauritiusBVI FSCCMA KenyaSCA/CMA | $5 | MT4, MT5, TradingView | 7.2 | Not published |
What the score is
A preliminary desk score from published terms: costs, platforms, regulation and accounts. No live account has been tested yet.
Where the licences come from
Each company and FSP number as the broker publishes it, matched on FSCA’s list of derivative providers where a date is shown. Broker data up to 19 Oct 2026.
Not the South Africa ranking
This page lists who holds an FSCA licence, A–Z. The ranked list for South African residents, sorted by costs score, is on our South Africa page.
FSP licence and ODP authorisation: two permissions
Section 7(1) of the FAIS Act: a person may not act or offer to act as a financial services provider unless it has been issued with a licence under section 8. A financial services provider is one that, as a regular feature of its business, gives advice, renders an intermediary service, or both.
Regulation 2 of the Financial Markets Act Regulations (Government Gazette 41433, 9 February 2018): a person may not act, advertise or hold itself out as an OTC derivative provider unless authorised by the FSCA under section 6(8) of the Act. An OTC derivative provider is a person who, as a regular feature of its business and transacting as principal, originates, issues or sells OTC derivatives or makes a market in them. A retail forex CFD is an OTC derivative.
The FAIS Ombud’s note on online trading complaints adds a third point: most trading platforms it sees are registered as FSPs but limited to intermediary services, not advice, and say so in their terms.
FSCA regulated forex brokers list: 12 companies, 12 brands
Generated from our broker data (up to 19 Oct 2026). The FSP number is the one to search on the FSCA register. The ODP column shows what FSCA’s list of approved OTC derivative providers said on 21 Oct 2026, searched by company name; that list prints no FSP numbers.
| Brand | Company | FSP number | Role in South Africa, per the broker | FSCA ODP list, 21 Oct 2026 | Register check in our data |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Admirals (Admiral Markets) | Admirals SA (Pty) Ltd | FSP 51311 | FSP; issuer of your CFDs not stated in our data | “ADMIRALS SA (PTY) LTD”, withdrawn | As published by the broker; check it on the FSCA register |
| AvaTrade | Ava Capital Markets (Pty) Ltd | FSP 45984 | Intermediary only; CFDs issued by Ava Trade Markets Ltd (BVI FSC) | Not on the list | As published by the broker; check it on the FSCA register |
| Exness | Exness ZA (Pty) Ltd | FSP 51024 | Intermediary only; CFDs issued by Exness (SC) Ltd (FSA Seychelles) | “EXNESS SC (LTD)”, approved (foreign); “EXNESS MARKETS ZA (PTY) LTD”, applied | As published by the broker; check it on the FSCA register |
| FP Markets | FP Markets (Pty) Ltd | FSP 50926 | FSP; issuer of your CFDs not stated in our data | Not on the list | As published by the broker; check it on the FSCA register |
| FXCM | Stratos South Africa (Pty) Ltd | FSP 46534 | FSP; issuer of your CFDs not stated in our data | “FXCM”, application Withdrawn | As published by the broker; check it on the FSCA register |
| FxPro | FxPro Financial Services Ltd (FSCA authorisation) | FSP 45052 (from a secondary source, not the broker’s own pages) | FSP; issuer of your CFDs not stated in our data | Not on the list | As published by the broker; check it on the FSCA register |
| IG | IG Markets South Africa Ltd | Not published on the broker’s pages we used | FSP; issuer of your CFDs not stated in our data | “IG MARKETS SOUTH AFRICA LIMITED (SOUTH AFRICAN BRANCH”, approved; “IG MARKETS LIMITED”, application Withdrawn | Found in FSCA’s list of approved OTC derivative providers, 20 Oct 2026 |
| Plus500 | Plus500AU Pty Ltd (South Africa) | FSP 47546 | FSP; issuer of your CFDs not stated in our data | “PLUS500AU (PTY) LTD”, approved (foreign) | Found in FSCA’s list of approved OTC derivative providers, 20 Oct 2026 |
| ThinkMarkets | TF Global Markets (South Africa) (Pty) Ltd | FSP 49835 | FSP and OTC derivative provider, as the broker states | “TF GLOBAL MARKETS SOUTH AFRICA (PTY) LTD”, approved | Found in FSCA’s list of approved OTC derivative providers, 20 Oct 2026 |
| Tickmill | Tickmill South Africa (Pty) Ltd | FSP 49464 | FSP; issuer of your CFDs not stated in our data | “TICKMILL LTD”, withdrawn | As published by the broker; check it on the FSCA register |
| Vantage | Vantage Markets (Pty) Ltd | FSP 51268 | FSP; issuer of your CFDs not stated in our data | Not on the list | As published by the broker; check it on the FSCA register |
| XM | XM ZA (Pty) Ltd | FSP 49976 | Intermediary only; CFDs issued by XM Global Limited (FSC Belize) | Not on the list | As published by the broker; check it on the FSCA register |
The last column is our data check of 20 Oct 2026: 3 companies found by name on the ODP list, FSP numbers not matched. For the other 9, the number is as published by the broker; check it on the FSCA register.
Intermediary or issuer: which company you trade with
For AvaTrade, Exness and XM, the FSCA company introduces you and the CFDs come from another company in the group. The issuer is the counterparty to every CFD you open. On 21 Oct 2026 FSCA’s ODP list showed “EXNESS SC (LTD)”, approved (foreign); “EXNESS MARKETS ZA (PTY) LTD”, applied, and it had no entry for Ava Trade Markets Ltd or XM Global Limited.
- Exness: Exness ZA (Pty) Ltd (FSP 51024) acts as intermediary; derivatives are issued by Exness (SC) Ltd, regulated by the FSA Seychelles. Exness does not accept retail clients from the UK, the EEA, the US or Canada. Its FCA and CySEC companies serve business clients only; retail accounts are opened with offshore entities (Seychelles, Curaçao, BVI) or regional ones (South Africa, Kenya, Jordan).
- AvaTrade: Ava Capital Markets (Pty) Ltd (FSP 45984) is only an intermediary; the issuer for South African clients is Ava Trade Markets Ltd, regulated by the BVI FSC.
- XM: XM ZA (Pty) Ltd (FSP 49976) says it is neither the market maker nor the product issuer; derivatives are offered by XM Global Limited, regulated by the FSC Belize. The XM brand runs on an offshore entity (FSC Belize, leverage up to 1:1000) and a CySEC entity for the EEA; the group’s FCA, ASIC and US licences belong to the sister brand Trading.com, not to XM.
Being an intermediary is legal under an FSP licence. What changes is which company stands on the other side of your trades, so find the issuer’s name in the client agreement before you deposit.
What else FSCA’s derivative provider list showed on 21 Oct 2026
4 brands had an approved entry: Exness, IG, Plus500 and ThinkMarkets. The other brands, one by one:
- Admirals: entry “ADMIRALS SA (PTY) LTD”, withdrawn. The broker’s legal documents name Admirals SA (Pty) Ltd, but its current FAQ lists only its UK, European and Seychelles companies, so we have not confirmed the South African company is active.
- FXCM: entry “FXCM”, application Withdrawn. FXCM serves South Africa through Stratos South Africa (Pty) Ltd. Its UK and Australian companies are closed to new retail clients in our data: ASIC issued an interim stop order on 5 Dec 2025 that stopped FXCM Australia (Stratos Trading Pty Ltd) from opening new retail CFD accounts; we have not confirmed whether it was lifted.
- Tickmill: entry “TICKMILL LTD”, withdrawn. Our data lists Tickmill South Africa (Pty) Ltd with an FSP number only.
- Pepperstone has no FSCA company in our data; its entry on the list is “PEPPERSTONE GROUP LIMITED”, application withdrawn.
- Vantage: no entry on the ODP list. A third-party report, not verified with the regulator, mentions a Securities Commission Malaysia investor alert (2021). A 2022 VFSC notice of intention to revoke the licence of Vantage Global Limited is not reflected in the current VFSC list: on 20 Oct 2026 the licence was shown as active, dated 22 Aug 2023.
Leverage and negative balance: no South African figure we can quote
Neither the FAIS Act nor the 2018 Financial Markets Act Regulations sets a retail leverage limit; FSCA conduct standards for derivative providers may add rules, and we have not checked them. So, unlike the FCA, ASIC or CySEC pages, this page prints no cap.
Only one FSCA company in our data publishes a South African leverage figure: FXCM (Stratos South Africa (Pty) Ltd): 30:1 default for major currency pairs (as stated on fxcm.com/za open-account page). For the rest, ask for the maximum leverage on your account in writing.
How to complain: the broker, then the FAIS Ombud
Write to the broker first and keep proof. If it has not resolved the complaint within six weeks, take it to the FAIS Ombud. Since the Ombud Council Rules of 1 July 2024 the Ombud can hear claims up to R3,500,000 (it was R800,000); above that, you give up the excess or the firm agrees to the Ombud hearing it. You have three years from when you became aware of the problem, and the Ombud will not investigate once you go to court on the same matter.
Two limits matter to traders. The Ombud no longer takes complaints against unregistered providers and refers them to the FSCA instead. And in online trading cases where the client placed the trades personally and the terms excluded advice, it has often been unable to hold the platform liable for the losses.
Brands in our data without an FSCA company
CMC Markets, eToro, IC Markets, Interactive Brokers, OANDA, Pepperstone, Saxo and XTB. They may still accept South African residents through another company; the South Africa ranking shows which ones do and under which regulator.
Methodology v1 · preliminary scores
What the score column means
This directory does not rank brokers: the order is alphabetical. The score next to each brand is the same preliminary desk score used on every ranking on this site, built from published terms; no live account has been opened.
- 1List the companiesEvery licensed company of a brand, with the licence number the broker publishes, matched on the regulator’s register where the table shows a date.
- 2Copy published termsSpreads, commission, deposits, platforms and account types from each broker’s own pages, each with its date (latest 19 Oct 2026).
- 3Score four criteriaCosts, platforms, regulation and accounts, 0–10 each, by a fixed formula. Research and support stay unscored until we test them.
- 4Sort A–ZBrands are listed by name. A higher score does not move a brand up this page.
Weights in the preliminary score
- Costs · 31%
- Regulation & safety · 31%
- Platforms · 19%
- Accounts & funding · 19%
- 12brokers scored
- 19 Oct 2026latest data check
What does not affect the order
The score, partner status and advertising. We have no affiliate or advertising agreements with brokers.
Published spreads behind the scores
| Checked | Quote | Spread |
|---|---|---|
| 19 Oct 2026 | EUR/USD, Trade.MT5 account, Admirals (Admiral Markets) | 0.5 pips |
| 19 Oct 2026 | EUR/USD, Retail (fixed/variable not stated) account, AvaTrade | 0.9 pips |
| 19 Oct 2026 | EUR/USD, Standard (MT4, EU) account, FP Markets | 1.3 pips |
Check an FSCA licence in four steps
On FSCA’s own search pages, not through a link from the broker. Links opened 21 Oct 2026; on that day the FSP search did not respond, the derivative provider list did.
- 1Copy the FSP number and company name from the broker’s South African website
- 2Search the number in FSCA’s financial services provider search and match the company name
- 3Ask which company issues your CFDs and look for it on FSCA’s list of OTC derivative providers
- 4Check that the issuer named in your client agreement is the same company
FSCA search pages
A real FSP number on a fake channel
Impersonators reuse genuine FSP numbers. The FSCA warned in June 2026 about people on WhatsApp posing as XM ZA, a registered FSP. Contact a firm only through the details on its FSCA record.
Risk warning:
CFDs are complex instruments and come with a high risk of losing money rapidly due to leverage. Most retail investor accounts lose money. Consider whether you understand how CFDs work and whether you can afford the high risk of losing your money.
Low Spread Brokers does not give personal investment advice.
FAQ
FSCA regulated brokers: questions
Short answers from the regulators’ own pages (opened 21 Oct 2026) and from broker data collected up to 19 Oct 2026. Rules and licences change: check the register before you open an account.
Ask a questionWe cannot give personal investment advice.
1Which forex brokers are FSCA regulated?
In our data, 12 brands list an FSCA-authorised company: Admirals (Admiral Markets), AvaTrade, Exness, FP Markets, FXCM, FxPro, IG, Plus500, ThinkMarkets, Tickmill, Vantage and XM. 3 of those companies were found on FSCA’s list of derivative providers; the rest are as published by the broker.
Rules checked 21 Oct 2026 · broker data up to 19 Oct 2026
2What is the difference between an FSP and an ODP?
An FSP (financial services provider) holds a FAIS Act licence to give advice or act as an intermediary. An ODP (OTC derivative provider) is authorised under the Financial Markets Act Regulations to issue or make a market in OTC derivatives, such as CFDs, as principal.
Rules checked 21 Oct 2026 · broker data up to 19 Oct 2026
3Is Exness FSCA regulated?
Exness ZA (Pty) Ltd holds FSP 51024 as an intermediary, as published by Exness. The CFDs are issued by Exness (SC) Ltd, which was approved (foreign) on FSCA’s list of derivative providers on 21 Oct 2026.
Rules checked 21 Oct 2026 · broker data up to 19 Oct 2026
4Is AvaTrade FSCA regulated?
Ava Capital Markets (Pty) Ltd (FSP 45984) is an intermediary, as published by AvaTrade. The issuer for South African clients is Ava Trade Markets Ltd (BVI FSC), which had no entry on FSCA’s derivative provider list on 21 Oct 2026.
Rules checked 21 Oct 2026 · broker data up to 19 Oct 2026
5Is XM FSCA regulated?
XM ZA (Pty) Ltd (FSP 49976) is an FSP acting as intermediary; derivatives are offered by XM Global Limited (FSC Belize). Neither had an entry on FSCA’s derivative provider list on 21 Oct 2026.
Rules checked 21 Oct 2026 · broker data up to 19 Oct 2026
6How do I check an FSP number?
Search it in the FSCA’s financial services provider search and match the company name with your application. Then find the company that issues your CFDs on FSCA’s list of OTC derivative providers.
Rules checked 21 Oct 2026 · broker data up to 19 Oct 2026
7Where do I complain about an FSCA regulated broker?
To the broker in writing first. If it is not resolved within six weeks, to the FAIS Ombud, for claims up to R3,500,000 and within three years of becoming aware of the problem.
Rules checked 21 Oct 2026 · broker data up to 19 Oct 2026
Sources
Primary sources for the rules on this page, with the date we opened each link. Licence data per company links to the register entry in the table above.
- Financial Advisory and Intermediary Services Act 37 of 2002 (FAIS Act), section 7Checked on 21 Oct 2026
- Financial Markets Act, 2012: Regulations (Government Gazette 41433, 9 February 2018), regulation 2Checked on 21 Oct 2026
- FSCA: Over The Counter Derivative Providers search (96 records)Checked on 21 Oct 2026
- FSCA: entity and persons search (financial services providers)Checked on 21 Oct 2026
- FAIS Ombud: before you lodge a complaintChecked on 21 Oct 2026
- FAIS Ombud: Ombud Council Rules 2024, compensation limit raised to R3.5 millionChecked on 21 Oct 2026
- FAIS Ombud: online trading complaintsChecked on 21 Oct 2026